We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of Layou River Gorge

Ranked #52 of 109 things to do in Dominica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep and rugged gorges along the Layou River provide visitors with stunning scenery and adventure activities.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I tricked my wife into this excursion. She was nervous at first but the guide was great and she had a blast. Water level was good for tubing and the weather was perfect. Thanks for the great trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthWoodsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“River Tubing”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My mother and I chose this excursion at the last minute while on a cruise. We have done several rafting trips before and highly enjoyed them. This is not rafting, but river tubing. As long as you're able to get in and out of an inner tube, you can do this trip. The staff was exceptional. This made the trip what it was. We were only on the water for about 2 hours, and easily could have gone another 2 hours. It's very relaxing and fun. In some areas the guides would literally push us through the river because the water was so low. It was a lot of fun though. If you're looking for a cool and relaxing day, this is a good trip to choose.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwinaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exhilarating, Fun, and Safe River adventure for older kids and adults,”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

this two hours of downstream tubing was offered to us as a cruise ship excursion and well worth the $59 US$ per person we paid. The bus ride to the "embarkation" spot was scenic and, with a guide providing general information about the island, enjoyable and interesting. As expected, it was a wet passage and was easily manged by people at all levels of fitness. Staff assisted anyone with the least bit of trouble maintaining a comfortable ride down the scenic river, with its Level 1-2 "rapids" and I think injury, with the exception of sunburn, would be very unlikely ! Everyone in our group would have loved a more extended ride . Rum Punch or guava juice refreshment was offered to us at a restaurant a short drive from our disembarkation point; I'm sure it is available to the general public also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Layou River Gorge Tubing”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Took the Tubing excurision Jan 2013. People of all ages were on this trip. Your tube is large with handles. Helmet & life vest are worn. There were many helpers along the river to push you back into the rapids if you strayed to close to shore. The water level was low, but I heard it can get much lower. A few bumps along the way (always try to remember to lift your bum up). Beautiful scenery, a very enjoyable ride. Everyone wanted to go back to the beginning and do it again. Nobody takes pictures then tries to sell them to you. Waterproof camera would work, although there is a good chance it could get damaged on rocks. I would definitely do this one again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Layou River Gorge also viewed

Dominica, Caribbean
Dominica, Caribbean
 
Dominica, Caribbean
Dominica, Caribbean
 

Been to Layou River Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing