We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a little adventure? Don't miss it!”
Review of Titou Gorge

Titou Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Morne Trois Pitons National Park Hiking Tour to Boiling Lake
Ranked #6 of 109 things to do in Dominica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A natural water-ride created by two hot springs, a rock pool and a river.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like a little adventure? Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

LOVED Titou Gorge! A hike of a few hundred yards on dirt & rock paths takes you to the entrance to the gorge. An easy and fun trail walk (barely a "hike") for most, but not for people who would have trouble with walking a few hundred yards on a dirt/rock fire road or trail. The water in the gorge was super clear and very cool - very refreshing after the walk in. Again great for most people who enjoy outdoorsy things with a bit of adventure, possibly a little cold for some people (consider bringing a short/thin wet suit if you get cold really easily but still want to go). The jungle is beautiful, the gorge is spectacular, very worth the drive. If you want a preview, watch Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Man's Chest (the 2nd movie) and you'll see some of Jack's crew in the gorge swimming/floating dodging arrows. Wear a sturdy pair of sneakers or water shoes that can handle dirt, rocks, and being submerged in some current (ie don't wear flip flops!). I wore my dive boots that have soles like sneakers. If you have a waterproof camera bring it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gpage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    65
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“you will need this”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

when i could not feel my legs after hiking boiling lake, this was my lifesaver. it felt amazing to swim in the cold water and the waterfall was stunning. i did not do any fancy climbing, just relaxed and enjoyed the view. do not skip this. i repeat, do not skip this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Perfect for after the boiling lake hike. Mask, snorkel and a dry bag for valuables and flotation worked great. Don't forget to look up and then climb to the 2nd fall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Came here on a HAL cruise and loved every second!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband, mother in law, father in law, and I came to the gorge on an excursion from a HAL ship. The ride was pretty smooth and the walk up to the gorge was easy ( a little uneven but do-able for those who are able to walk on their own). When we got to the top it didn't seem like much...a hole in a rock really but it is a lot more than that. You can jump down from the top or climb down the stairs to the entrance. We were required to wear flotation devices since the current can be strong. The swim inside to the falls isn't long but you are going against the current so it is tiring. There is a small alcove on the way to the back of the gorge where you can sit on a ledge and rest if you need to. The view from inside isn't to be missed and jumping into the 20 foot deep hole near the waterfall is a blast. It is a simple swim back out. I would suggest this for people who can handle short periods of moderate exercise. We loved it and I cannot wait to go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank piratequeenteuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moreno valley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of a kind adventure”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

absolutely fantastic. One of the locations for the Pirates of the Caribbean films. You swim through a narrow gorge with steep walls on both sides to a small waterfall.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmccoy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Titou Gorge also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Titou Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing