We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dominica - Roseau City tour - Norwegian Sun excursion”
Review of Roseau Valley

Roseau Valley
Ranked #41 of 109 things to do in Dominica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic region of Dominca dominated by green tropical rainforest with bubbling streams, waterfalls and scenic spots such as Fresh Water Lake, Trafalgar Falls, the Volcanic Hot Springs and Boiling Lake.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dominica - Roseau City tour - Norwegian Sun excursion”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Elvira was our guide and we had 10 in our shuttle. There was an aisle so it was easy to get in and out of. We went to the Botanical Gardens and walked around. Elvira explained about all the different trees we saw which bore fruit but none were edible. She was very knowledgeable and if there was anything we needed to know that she didn't have an answer for she would find out. We saw the school children who were practising marching for the independence day parade a couple of weeks later. We stopped at a place for fruit juice tasting and we stopped overlooking Roseau on our way around. It was a shortish tour and we were dropped at the cruise terminal where there were many tourist markets. it was pleasant enough although short but the island itself was relatively small. We enjoyed the tour

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just watch out at the port”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Upon arriving at Roseau by cruise ship, the tourist has to be aware that this island is very poor in comparison to others. These people have few months to make their living off the tourists so they can be very aggressive. They are just people trying to make a living selling their goods. The cab drivers can be very pushy, so don't be surprised. Our group freaked out alittle and ended up going back to the ship. I don't actually know if we could rely on the cab drivers to get us back in time, but talked to some veteran tourists (in their 70's) that had a great time at the beach that way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Hire a Driver!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

If you are cruising and visit this rustic island, hire a driver! We were able to see four times as much for 1/3 the cost of the cruise line (HAL). The drivers are very capable and licensed by their government. We enjoyed four excursions in a little over 5 hours for $35 each. We visited Titou Gorge, the Hot Sulphur baths (not offered by our cruise line), the Botanic Gardens (which are actually easy walking distance from the dock) and the champagne reef). We were back on board with 90 minutes to spare. We found that taking the cruise tours are expensive and lacking in time spent doing what you want as an independent traveler because the tour can oly progress as fast as the slowest traveler. We used the Stanis Taxi Service. Our driver was Martin Alexander and he was outstanding!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank EssGeeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Roseau Highlights By Trolley Train”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

What a fun way to tour. The best stop was at the Botanical Gardens where our tour guide gave an excellent easy paced walking tour of the local flora and fauna. There were photo opps stops, churches and we delighted to see the many schools with with happy children. The last stop was for a rum punch (180 proof) at a waterfront bar. The tour was arranged by our cruise ship (RCL) and was a great value at on $37 per person.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nbsandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“quaint and charming town”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

this town is the capital of dominica. if you are looking for corporate jewelry shops and fancy restaurants this is not your destination!! i felt that i walked onto a set of a movie...maybe pirates of the the caribbean. i intend that comment as a good thing. the buildings looked very old and original with rehabbing and repair kept to the minimal and local resources. i was enchanted after so many commericial islands. many roads were cobble stone and the locals went about their daily routines. they were very relaxed and friendly. some cute local boutiques, funky cafes and bars.....loved the rum bar in the dilapidated corner building!!! the island itself is natural and not deforested as so many islands were exploited for their lumber [example: bonaire]. i liked the overall atmoshpere and feeling of the island being,so far, untouched by corporations.
i would return here to see more of this lovely island and also scuba dive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank likeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roseau Valley also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Dominica, Caribbean
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Dominica, Caribbean
 

Been to Roseau Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing