We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky stop for lunch”

Islet View Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #11 of 133 Restaurants in Dominica
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lucky stop for lunch”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just happened upon this place at lunch time after visiting the Emerald pool. Walked in and out the back was this magnificent view . The waitress came in looking kind of tired and flopped herself down beside me and we thought OH OH! It turned out being one of the best meals we had on the Island. There wasn't a lot of selection but we chose curried chicken. It was an excellent choice and came with local vegetables and pumpkin rice and shredded carrot and cukes and coleslaw . After we were finished we were rewarded with a plate of local fruit. The waitress turned out to be very prompt and friendly as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vllywngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simple pleasures”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

For a great Dominican meal served by charming people this cannot be beaten. It has a great view and a wonderful ambience. We went back for more!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sorry we only visited once”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We passed Islet View restaurant on our way to our lodging at Domcans (A whole other story, see o review) and it looked interesting so we walked back to try it out, just a 30 minute hike up a fairly steep grade. When we got there at 4:30p, it turned out they were just getting ready to close up for the day, but they still took great care of us. Unlike so many restaurants on Dominica with little charm, Islet View is nicely designed with a distinct tropical island feel. The bar inside is stocked with any number of infused rums, and the rum punch I had was among the best of the trip. The "local" food we ordered was fresh and delicious, but the real highlight was the view looking each over the azure Atlantic. Really, to that point I'd never encountered a restaurant with such a spectacular view. We were intending to go back for a breakfast or lunch but never made it. Next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psychedelic_Doughboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great views”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stopped in a few times. First time we were a bit late but called ahead and they prepared a really nice dinner. People are super friendly, and if you're up for a chat you can learn a lot about how the locals live. The drinks are addictive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank temporaryGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and rum punch!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A super friendly place with a beautiful view and endless choices of flavored rum. We went for the rum punch of the day and it was fantastic! We had the stewed chicken and fish with all the local fixins! We really enjoyed our experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fergandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islet View Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Marigot, Saint Andrew Parish
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
 

Been to Islet View Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing