We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Won't Lose Your Smile @ Peppers”
Review of Suite Pepper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suite Pepper
Ranked #13 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2008

At late notice my family and I were accommodated at Suite Pepper for two weeks. The location in Jimmit, Mahaut was ideal as it presented the peace and quiet needed after participation in the World Creole Festival and Independence Day celebrations. The view from the apartment's veranda, day and night, was awesome and the open space for the children in my family to play was far removed from the heavy traffic the celebrations created.

Our friendly host "Dr." Pepper, from the commencement of our stay, was fantastic. He perfected the family's vacation by securing our comfort; with small children in the group, this was an imperative feature he captured - a home from home experience. A family man himself, he fully understood the little accidents we had and dealt with them with a "smile". He gave us insights into some of Dominica's hidden treasures and escorted us on some of them too. He participated in us having the time of our lives!

With the exception of a few members of the family, we are frequent visitors of Dominica and have stayed in many districts on the island. It was however the first time for all of us to stay in Jimmit, Mahaut and we were made so welcome by the host, Pepper, and his neighbours. One of the neighbours and hairdresser in the district styled our hair in preparation for the wedding we were in Dominica to attend, and on another day invited us to her own birthday party. By another neighbour, we were given home grown advocados so big it took two hands to hold! The apartment was fresh, cool and clean and provided us with protection from the hungry mosquitos! Our group was large and the apartment gave us two large bedrooms, and two large bathrooms which catered adequately for the bathtime rush! The whole experience was enhanced by the attentive nature of our host, Pepper. On two occasions he drove us to the airport to catch our respective early morning flights. On the first occasion, he coupled the returm journey from the airport with the much needed escort to the northern part of the island - the remainder of us visitied old contacts in Woodford Hill, Calibishe and Castle Bruce. Along the way, he pointed out and took us to many places of interest, the most interesting of all was the isolated white sand Hampstead Beach - this beach is absolutely amazing. This highlighted Pepper's knowledge of the most intricate parts of the island. A registered tour guide of Dominica he also took us to the Midland Falls - a 45 minute walk/hike to one of the tallest falls on the island, where the pool below is cool, deep and wide and where two rainbows are mostly always visible - for starters, and to Screw's Sulphur Spa for a warm relaxing treatment to the four pools of variant temparatues of warm to hot water which comes from from the hot and cold lakes of Dominica - a perfect wind down of the day - brilliant!

Suite Pepper is strongly recommended as a place to stay for families, groups of friends and the like particularly for its location and the space its provides. No request was too much for the host Pepper, all you need do is ask. If he can't help on any one occasion, "don't lose your smile" because he knows someone who can! Where my family are concerned we have individually stated that Suite Pepper is definitely the first port of call when visiting Dominica again no matter what size our group will be.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Touspriq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed 6 nights at Pepper’s Suite and our vacation in Dominica was nothing short of phenomenal. Our experience was made especially remarkable by our host and guide, Pepper. The beauty of our time spent with Pepper was his passion for Dominica, and the time and effort he spent showing us the unspoiled wonders of the country showcased this passion. His breadth of knowledge about his homeland and its inner workings added an invaluable touch to our experience. And every time we heard someone shout, “Pepper!”, whether we were driving the streets of Roseau or laying out on the most secluded beach in Dominica, his unbelievable, celebrity-like popularity made us feel as though we were walking around with the most beloved man on the island.
As far as the Suite itself goes, it far exceeded our expectations. Not only did it have privileged amenities (air conditioner and hot water), but I would go so far as to say that I cannot think of a single way to better the room. Granted, if you’re looking for a spa that is an elevator ride away and room service at your beck and call (though Pepper was just as attentive), this may not be the place for you. However, if you are interested in a private, comfortable, and romantic place to stay, we insist that you book your room with Pepper.
The island of Dominica is a place nearly everyone would enjoy. In particular, if you are an adventure-seeking, open-minded, nature-loving person...no other island could be better suited for you. And if you want as your host the next contender (based on popular vote, of course) for Mayor of Dominica, call Pepper and stay at his Suite or Cottage!

TIP: You’ll be Pepper’s best friend if you buy him some Peanut Punch Rum!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LILBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We spent some time in Suite Pepper both at the beginning and the end of our stay in Dominica. The suite was brand new and well set up. The only drawback was the location which was in a residential area and some distance from the city. You would want a car as it is very hilly and too far to walk.
Pepper has plans to finish off the roof area and install a small swimming pool. The view from the roof is astounding - out over the Caribbean to the sail boats, cruise ships, barges and tows, plus over Dominica to Rousseau, the capital.
Pepper was our guide on the island and was very knowledgeable, reasonably priced, and knew how to combine other "must see sites" when we were travelling that direction anyway..
Pepper went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. He checked in with us most days.
We did spend a couple weeks in Peppers Cottage. Out the back gate is the Caribbean Ocean. The yard was fine and the small pool we used a lot. The cabin itself is old and could use a new coat of paint. But Pepper is very obliging and things were fixed as soon as we pointed out the problems.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Suite Pepper Jimmit Mahaut Commonwealth of Dominica

Located North of Roseau in the village above the see Suite Pepper offers quiet stay in pleasant surroundings with fabulous view. The location is suitable especially for people who want to explore beauties of Dominica and do not want to limit themselves to certain part of the island. Suite Pepper offers comfortable accommodation in the middle of the island; all its sites will be easily accessible for you. Even more, if you like diving or snorkeling, one of major Dominica sides, Rodney Rock is about 20 minute walk/ 3minute drive from the apartment. You can meet many species of fishes here, small and big. Rodney Rock is really worth exploring.

We spend 14 days in Suite Pepper in January 2008. Our stay was wonderful especially thanks to the Suite owner and his everyday support and help. Wellington "Pepper" Daway knows everything about Dominica, its sites and people and shares it willingly with his guests. He helped us whenever we needed, much over usual duties of an accommodator. He is a real host.

Thank you very much Wellington, our stay in your apartment was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank liliPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

I went to Dominica solo in November, 2007 for 5 nights. Pepper was a most gracious host from the very first minute. He met me at the airport, and throughout my stay he escorted me personally around the entire island. I was one of the first to be honored to stay at Pepper's newest property, Suite Pepper's. It is located just a 10-minute drive from downtown Roseau and from Pepper's Cottage. I chose the newer accommodation because I planned to do a lot of touring with Pepper, and this location was in direct proximity to my host. You see, the property includes two fully equipped apartments downstairs, while Pepper and his family live upstairs. The apartments are immaculate with all new appliances, including stove, refrigerator and washing machine. There is a queen size bed, full wardrobe, tv, dinette set, ironing board and iron. The bathroom is huge with all new fixtures. Every home on the island has a view, including Suite Pepper's. If you go up on the roof, you can gaze over at the mountains or sit and watch the sunset over the ocean. At night, the stars fill the sky. The neighborhood is a quiet residential area and if you prefer tranquility at night, this is the place for you. While in Dominica, Pepper took me to the Fresh Water Lake, the Sulfur Springs, Emerald Pool, Fort Shirley, a "Secret Beach" with white sand, and much, much more. He even stayed with me when I went on the Arial Tram through the Rain Forest. I am certain that I got to see at least 75% of the entire island while I was there! Because I was alone and knew no one else on the island, Pepper took me around to the local restaurants every day and explained all the wonderful local dishes. On my last day, Pepper took me to meet a favorite vocalist of mine who lives on Dominica. I learned many important facts about Dominica while with Pepper. He is a veritable wealth of knowledge. He perhaps knows more than some of the tour guides on the island. As I am interested in purchasing property in Dominica, Pepper drove me around to various properties and even took me the various government offices to get information regarding property purchases. Overall, I am ever grateful to Pepper for providing such quality hospitality. He takes pride in his work and always strives for outstanding customer service. He keeps his smile, always. He is a very friendly, warm-spirited person and I do recommend his accommodations highly. I hope to get back to Dominica soon, and I, of course, will stay again at either Pepper’s Cottage or Suite Pepper’s.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dctutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiaora2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roseau hotels
0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
881 reviews
0 mi away
Natty Tropical Valley
Natty Tropical Valley
#7 of 12 in Roseau
16 reviews
0 mi away
Sea World Guest House
Sea World Guest House
#5 of 21 in Roseau
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Narakiel's Inn
Narakiel's Inn
#14 of 21 in Roseau
73 reviews
0 mi away
Garraway Hotel
Garraway Hotel
#7 of 7 in Roseau
61 reviews
0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Pepper

Address: Housing Scheme | Jimmit, Mahaut, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suite Pepper is two self contained, furnished and air-conditioned one bedroom apartments with luxurious bathroom with bathtub/hot water, cable TV, well equipped kitchen/dining set and wireless internet. There is a sofa/bed available if a group of 3 or 4 would like to use one Studio Apartment. There is a cot available for a family with a baby. Then, there is a step that gives you access to the roof and all it beautiful aerial views, which includes the Caribbean Sea and greenest of mountains, but in the evening it simply comes alive. Pepper's Cottage is an affiliated unit in a different location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suite Pepper Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing