We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great excursion & tour of Dominica”

Extreme Dominica Canyoning & Adventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 28 Tours in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great excursion & tour of Dominica”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband & I scheduled this tour while we were in Dominca as a stop on our cruise. We had a great time & they make sure that everyone on the tour is prepped & ready to go before even getting back in the van to go to the canyoning site. At no time did we ever feel unsafe or worried that we would not be able to jump into the next pool or rapel down the next waterfall. The views from inside the canyon were absoutley amazing; you feel as if you've entered another world. It's much cooler in the canyon than you would expect, so the wetsuit was a welcome part of the ensemble. The most cumbersone part of the tour was the end when you have to hike back UP the mountainwith all your gear on: helmet, wetsuit, jacket, & lifejacket...all in humid jungle heat! It is all worth it though, because not many people can say they saw the inside of a canyon in Dominica. My only suggestion would be that after the tour, a light lunch be provided, as everyone on our tour was hungry. We were given cocoa muffins & cocoa tea, which were delicious, however there were a number of us that were still hungry after that sampling. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for an adventure in Dominica.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    3
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st helens, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jump right in!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Extreme dominica will help you to jump right in to the heart of dominica. It's a great experience from start to finish and Liz and Richard are great hosts. It's quite amazing as they take you from complete novice to confident canyoner in just a couple of hours, when you look back up the canyon you won't quite believe what you've done. A must do trip as part of your Dominican adventure!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you can touch your toes...”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I watched several videos on Youtube about this canyoneering adventure trying to determine if it was something I could manage at 61 years old. It looks grueling and physical so I finally wrote an email and asked Richard and Liz if it might be beyond my limits. They answered, "If you can touch your toes and walk for 15 minutes, you can do this." They were true to their word and now I proclaim, that is the BEST ADVENTURE I have ever taken anywhere, anytime. With two expert and charismatic guides we worked our way through canyons and waterfalls by jumps, rappelling, climbing and WEEBEES. I asked Nahjie what Weebee meant, he said "We be lowering you down." By the end of the trek, you will be impressed with your guides, the canyon and yourself. Take the challenge, it is an adventure you will never forget. I can't wait to do it again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank f1b4xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GO”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ever wonder what it's like at the bottom of that canyon? The one you look down into but only see the tops of trees and hear the water rushing far below. This is your chance to be in that canyon. Don't pass it up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank copper9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jump with Extreme Dominica !”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Dominica is a beautiful Island. There are so many things to see...
But seriously don't think to leave the island without a jump into the canyon.
I highly recommend you "Extreme Dominica".
They are "Extreme" passionate and safe. I already plan my next trip.
But this time with my 10 years old son.
Also very convenient, Extreme Dominica owners run the "Cocoa cottage" (see my review),
delicious cottages in the rainforest... Just 2 minutes walk from it !
Nearby activities : Boiling lake, water fall... Enjoy your trip, I did love mine !
Thanks; Liz and Richard for sharing your passion.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lilivincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extreme Dominica Canyoning & Adventure Tours also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Extreme Dominica Canyoning & Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing