We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #2 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My spouse and I have visited here several times. The Papillote is an incredibly relaxing place. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The dinner menu doesn't include any vegetarian options, but the kitchen had no issue with preparing vegetarian meals for us. The food is simple but excellent. The rooms are clean. There are natural hot spring pools which are wonderful to relax in (with a rum punch) after a day of hiking. The gardens are world class. Can't say enough good about this resort.

Room Tip: Room 12 is quiet and large. it is right over one of the hot pools which can be very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bres130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    37
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
75
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The rooms and restaurant are acceptable but no more.

What you're paying for here is the scenery - particularly the collection of hot and cold mineral pools and the garden. I can imagine some people paying just to experience the gardens and the springs.

Some rooms even come with mini spring baths just by the door.

It's a little bit retro and rough around the edges and definitely more "eco resort" than luxury but it was very acceptable and we enjoyed it.

We stayed in February 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horseradish_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Beautifull garden in which different buildings with rooms. Not cheap but a very special experience. Excellent food. Very friendly staff. We had the nicest room (#12), but we really missed a ceiling fan!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11MWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and a friend of mine were visiting Papillote just for one day. We had lunch and a wonderful garden tour there. The hotel property is simply amazing and very large. The garden consists basically out of jungle (but arranged) with beautiful flowers, plants, hot and cold pools, bamboo showers etc. The gardener personally gave us a 1,5 hours tour and told us very interesting facts about his plants. He was absolutely nice and very intelligent. Whenever you have a health concern, go visit him and I'm sure he'll know what plant can help you ;-)
Also the lunch was great and the staff very friendly. I love how the interior is designed, combining the nature (tall rooms, big open windows with a great view) with some luxury elements.
We did not sleep over at Papillote but if I knew beforehand about this hotel I'd have definitely slept there =)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa_Mapusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I visited Dominica for the first time, after many years visiting other Caribbean islands. Upon the recommendation of a friend, we stayed 3 nights at the Papillote Wilderness Retreat. We were extremely pleased with this unique and legacy resort. The location is perfect - an easy walk to the amazing Trafalgar Falls and an easy drive to many rain forest excursions. Yet a day relaxing at the resort should be part of your itinerary too - soaking in multiple on-resort natural hot spring pools and a refreshing cool pool under their waterfall (see photo), enjoying meals on their outdoor dining terrace with a view down the valley, and having conversations with interesting guests from around the world and with the owner, Anne. If you don't stay here, then considering stopping by for lunch or dinner after your Trafalgar Falls visit and strolling throught their garden with its wide variety of labeled species.

Room Tip: Our "Honeymoon suite" was spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter4STJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife, our two children, of 4 and 6, and I loved this place. We spent 4 nights at the Papillote, 3 nights in suite n. 11 and 1 night in room 10. Both rooms are spacious, clean and tidy; the suite is huge. The landscape if fantastic: the retreat is actually nested in a botanic garden, which includes a number of hot springs and waterfalls that guests are free to enjoy at any time. If this is not enough, Trafalgar waterfalls are 15 min walk distance and Wooten Waven (hot springs paradise, including SCREWS) are 5 min away by car.
The Papillote is a melange of wildness, sweetness and cosiness and is fully respectful and "open" to the local ecosystem. Expect to share your time with birds, butterflies, huge grasshoppers and harmless little spiders.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the service is also very good and the only trace of technology is your laptop or your tab.
I am not giving an excellent rating because in my opinion breakfast was a little poor. In a country where delicious tropical fruits abound, I would expect breakfast to include mangoes, papayas, pineapple, bananas, fresh made marmalade, fresh juice, etc, without having to ask for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Owner Anne Jno Baptiste made me feel immediately welcome and very much a part of her community at Papillote and that goes a long way for a single female traveller. Even met the handsome Prime Minister there on my very first night!

Everything about Papillote makes you want to drop your shoulders and relax. The hot sulphur and cold baths in the garden are very therapeutic and the staff know just how to treat you. Old world courtesy at its very best.

Dining in the evening is a very good experience and Anne is always present to make sure her guests enjoy every single mouthful of their wholesome organic food.

My room (no. 10) was very spacious and comfortable. Set in the most stunning botanical gardens (I agree with previous reviewers - Marcel provides a an excellent tour), you cannot help but sleep in this wonderfully soporific atmosphere. Even the fireflies flitting about in your room give you a sense of peace. This is nature at its very best.

Maybe not for everyone but i will have very fond memories of this place for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: My room was near the hydroelectric plant and it was fine - much better than the noise I can hear at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayGirl50055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillote Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillote Wilderness Retreat

Property: Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Address: Trafalgar Falls Road | Box 2287, Roseau 811, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small secluded hotel at the head of the beautiful Roseau River Valley with comfortable charming rooms overlooking gardens, mountains, waterfalls and pristine rainforest wilderness.Dine in our Rainforest Restaurant on fresh caught fish, prawns or chicken prepared with all the fabled spices of our Island's rich cultural heritageWander through four acres of nurtured wilderness amidst a world class collection of bromeliads, begonias, gingers and aroids. Bathe in our natural hot mineral pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Hotel Roseau
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing