We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The gardens are a piece of paradise....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #2 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The gardens are a piece of paradise....”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

First of all, I need to preface this review with the fact that this was a reconnection with Anne, who I first met 30 years ago---long before she and Cuthbert developed Papillote into this level of HEAVEN. She was as sharp, witty, and stylish as I remember, despite her cold. The high points were the gardens, pools, hot baths and Marcel. We would have followed him every day , just to soak up all his info re local herbs/healing properties AND floral out of this world. It was a real thrill to see a jade plant in full flower------ our pictures will never do justice to the memory.
Our meals were very nice---but the rum punch is the winner and unlike any other... this one takes time and is REAL. and banana pancakes for breakfast were to die for. Our room (hummingbird) had a lovely private terrace frequented by a tiny finch we knicknamed Joe, who liked us so much he often frequented our bathroom. We did not expect a luxurious room---but did find it lacking a tad. Would have liked better bedding, pillows, towels, toiletries--actually expected local/ eco-friendly soaps, etc. Darker color towels to be used in the springs would have been preferable to using "older ones". The staff was AMAZING---we loved every single person (wish I wrote down everyone's name)---from the pleasant breakfast gal who has travleled to Germany--??Precious???, the gals at the desk---whose sense of humor, warmth and info was wonderful, and Orlando, who worked magic with our phone/ IT stuff-----they were beyond the best and seem to love their work----

Room Tip: next time would go for room #12....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123maxipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    37
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
76
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK and Lefkada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My impressions of Papillote fall into three parts: the garden, the restaurant, and the rooms. But before I start on that, let me say that all the staff were friendly, charming, and mines of information!

1. The garden is as wonderful as everyone says; a little piece of paradise. Don't miss Marcel's garden tour, he will show you things you'd never find on your own and regale you with botanical, herbal, and folk lore. Wonderful. And the hot and cold pools are magic, too. Ten out of ten.

2. The restaurant has a stunning view, charming staff, and the food is delicious. We had breakfast and dinner here every day, and enjoyed a variety of fresh local fruit, vegetables, and fish. If you take the inclusive meal plan there's always a choice of main courses, it might be grilled mahi-mahi fish with creole sauce or curried goat! I'd give the restaurant nine out of ten (it would have been ten, but we'd been to Beau Rive).

The rooms were, frankly, a bit of a disappointment -- or at least, ours was. (We had a ground floor room in the main building, so please bear in mind that the other rooms may be very different.) The room was plenty big enough and we had everything we needed. But it was rather dark, even with the louvres fully opened; there was no view at all, the windows looked out at the shrubs and fence enclosing the sitting area, so you could see some nice tropical plants at close range, but nothing beyond. Also, flyscreens on the windows would be nice: We weren't bothered by mosquitoes or bugs -- the natural balance of the garden seems to work effectively -- but if you open the louvres, birds fly into your room. Charming at first, but then, birds will do what birds will do, and if it's your bedroom...

Then our roof leaked, so there was water running down the wall in two places when it rained (which it did, every day -- that's why they call it a rainforest). We mentioned this to reception; nothing happened that day, but the next day we heard someone up on the roof trying to fix it. Only thing is, it didn't work; it still leaked, and nobody said anything to us, or asked if it was OK, or offered to let us move to another room (they may have been full anyway, I'm not sure). So we had pools of water on the floor every night. We didn't make an issue of it, we were only there for 3 nights and it wasn't a disaster, but we did think it could have been handled better -- especially as the stains on the walls showed that this wasn't a new problem. Generally the room could do with a refurb -- even little things such as a curtain in front of the clothes-hanging area (there was no actual wardrobe) would be nice.

We did have a private sitting area outside our room, but as I mentioned, it was very enclosed with no view. There are, however, plenty of beautiful sitting places scattered around the gardens. (Tip: If you go up to the bird-watching shelter at the top of the garden in the early morning or late afternoon, you have a chance of seeing parrots -- though we didn't!)

So, for the room: Honestly, not more than 6 out of 10. I didn't expect 5-star luxury, that's not the point of Papillote, but I think they could do more with what they've got, without it costing them a fortune. It could be so lovely.

Some things to know before you go:
-- The water in the bathroom is hot mineralized water from the hot springs -- lovely and warm, and eco-friendly, and clean, but the minerals in it stain everything brown, which is not good news if you want to wash your undies. There is no cold or non-mineral water in the taps (though they do give you a generous supply of bottled water for drinking every day). If I'd been forewarned, I might have brought some older undies with me! And bring an old or dark-coloured swimsuit for bathing in the mineral pools in the garden, or you'll never get rid of the stain.
-- There's no TV (who cares?!), but there is wifi, though you have to pay extra for it (when will hotels stop doing this?).
-- Don't miss the walk to Trafalgar Falls, only 10 mins from Papillote.

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kyklamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A truly lovely place. Friendly, relaxed but efficient, superb food, and very child friendly. Our 2 year old spent her time walking up and down the many steps and slopes, in between collecting leaves and having fun in the various natural hot spring tubs. We enjoyed our little suite (double bed room plus a little single roon) and the adjoining sun terrace. The climate - wet but warm and lots of sun in the afternoons - is much easier for kids than the heat of Roseau. 5 mins walk to Trafalger Falls and 15 mins by taxi or car down to Roseau. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Little suite - 2 adults pls child and could get a cot into double room also if you have two little k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannaclara, Owner at Papillote Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
It was a joy for us to have you and your family at Papillote. We do enjoy having little children here to explore and develop a love of the natural world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Papillote is one of my favorite hotels in the world. It has a wonderful broken-in feeling, like it has coalesced with its natural setting overtime. Its a type of aura that younger, newer buildings even on the same site couldn't possess.
That being said, we come for the hot pools. The duel pools (one hot, one cool) is one of my favorite places I know of in the world. This could be very well be the best constructed sulphur pool on Dominica. Its like my dream backyard.

The staff is so very nice. Housekeeping is solid. The restaurant food is always incredible. Front desk service is always helpful. Etcetera etcetera..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonsouljah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

It is in a rainforest so expect rain- and unexpected sunshine flaring through showers. The rooms are amazing - mostly suites. Mine had a bedroom with a mosquito net, dressing room, breakfast room and bathroom! Fantastically peaceful and I could play my music as loud as I liked because the walls are solid. Outside I had sitting space and hotpoolsto lie in

The gardens ramble through ten acres following a logical sequence designed by Ann Jno Baptiste who started digging and creating there in the'60s. Now in her eighties, she presides over her hotel with close attention, every staff member writes a daily report which she glances at before or after she dines with guests, and either praises or takes corrective Action.. The gardens are a must because they are unique: a series of set pieces each themed such as the Witch Garden, the Purple garden and the Waterfall garden. In each are plants found in few places like the Bat flower or plants with special properties that those who know can use a s aphrodisiacs, birth easers, pain controllers and narcotics. I was amazed by the highs available within yards and also aware of the dangers. Take care! Marcel the gardener (father of eight and still under 30) will give you a full lecture on any plant in the garden from the North-South palm to the humble grasses. Alan Titchmarsh would be in Heaven. Often people visit from the big universities and places like Kew because it is unique.

Food is creole, interesting and filling.

Wine is good but a bit of a waste drinking that when they make their own punch and mature it for a year!

In her time in Papillote Anne and her Dominican husband, have created a whole town nearby: Trafalgar,where every family works or has worked at Papillote.

Well worth visiting- lookout for Orlando and Evelyn on reception, both are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Say what you would like and they will put you where you would like to be as all the rooms are unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in #11, the Breadfruit suite. It was fabulous in every way. The gardens are filled with tropical wonders, so be sure to take the garden tour. The waterfall with adjacent hot and cool pools is a stunning place to spend some time. The restaurant is top-notch and the staff is always accommodating and friendly. This is a place where you meet world travelers and make lifelong friends. Trafalgar Falls, just a short walk up the road, is spectacular. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My family of four did a day trip here from the cruise ship. It was a nice relaxing day away from the crowds. We enjoyed the warm pools and had a fantastic lunch. Unfortunately it was pouring rain after lunch so we didn't get a chance to go on our tour of the gardens. They were nice enough to refund that portion of the price. My advice is if the weather is nice, take the garden tour right away. Being in the rainforest you never know when the rain will start.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank island4325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillote Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillote Wilderness Retreat

Property: Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Address: Trafalgar Falls Road | Box 2287, Roseau 811, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small secluded hotel at the head of the beautiful Roseau River Valley with comfortable charming rooms overlooking gardens, mountains, waterfalls and pristine rainforest wilderness.Dine in our Rainforest Restaurant on fresh caught fish, prawns or chicken prepared with all the fabled spices of our Island's rich cultural heritageWander through four acres of nurtured wilderness amidst a world class collection of bromeliads, begonias, gingers and aroids. Bathe in our natural hot mineral pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Hotel Roseau
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing