We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay. The gardens and pools are wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #2 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Papillote for 4 days in April.

The gardens and pools are outstanding -- the creation of stand alone spaces, nooks, views, pools, incorporating two waterfalls etc in only a 10 acre patch of land was impressive. Anyone into meditation, Tai Chi, or any other contemplative activity, landscaping, or flowers would find them infinitely rewarding.

The suite was roomy and with a good view, and was nicely outfitted with island products. Fridge and an electric kettle provided some food flexibility. There were two small downsides. The mosquito net was too small for the bed, and the high posts were too tall for the net to go over them. And the room water is the same iron-filled mineral water as in the pools -- so showering does not get the iron off. The staff provide as much filtered water as one needs for drinking, so the water is only a small inconvenience.

The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment -- they did an outstanding job with vegetables, but the main entree was uninspired. We didn't but should have tried the vegetarian entree.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have never stayed in such a beautiful place, it really captures the soul of its owner Ann. The gardens are exquisite, so peaceful and zen like. The hotel is well located in terms of walks and hikes. Just 15 minutes away from the Trois Piton National Park. Charming restaurant and wonderful homely service. The rooms are lovely and I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I just can't say enough. The site is incredible and located up in the high rainforest. Waterfalls, natural hot springs and rich varied plant life make up the grounds. The restaurant has open air dining overlooking a beautiful ravine. The food was top notch. I had a delicious mahi mahi wrapped in a banana leaf with some kind of herbal sauce that was so aromatic and unusual that I couldn't say what was in it, but it was good! We had 2 rooms in our group. One was more plush, a kind of honeymoon suite with hot springs located right out the door, very private. The other room was more family style but quite comfy and clean. The staff was smart and on point. I can't wait to go back. This is a great value as well as being one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

IT's been 3 months since we came back from our visit to Dominica and still cannot get it out of my head! The Retreat is outstanding, food there is georgious but a little bit pricey. Still served so nicely and delicious that it is worth its price!
We (family of 2 adults plus 2 kids) stayed in room no 10 which is actually a big apartment that can accomodate 6 people. The ehole time we stayed there was a small lizard staying with us (so nice!). Sounds of the water coming down from the waterfalls and in thevulacnic pools was really calming and made our sleep even better.
The soaps in the bathrooms were handmade with the fruits from Dominica, so natural and fresh. The only thing was the flow of the water in the shower - it could have been better but it was not a trouble, really. Water in the shower & toilet comes from volcano as well so it has specific smell and taste but it is so natural and naturally warm!
The Gardens are outstanding and small polls - spa areas are really great; the staff is cleaning them every day!
Anne, the owner, is great - she welcomes everyone, eats dinner altogether with her guests taking care of them and talking with everyone.
I can't wait when we come back there.

Room Tip: Try and eat when you stay in Papillote- it is worth it. 4x4 drive is a must - but it is a must every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaGadomska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights in room 12 - by their indication the best room in the place. The room was huge with some outside seating (no balcony or anything). Room was clean but a bit dated and dark - not as a result of the jungle but just because of the low ceilings, etc. Didn't feel that authentic given the generic steel entry doors on the room (there were 2 entrances). Hot pool outside the room was very nice and the larger hot & cool pools down by the waterfall were nice.

Food was good - but not cheap (did not do the meal plan). The service at the main desk was good - was happy to book guides for hiking, do laundry, etc. However, the restaurant service wasn't great - but that seemed common on Dominica.

Very quiet and relaxing place - not much going on socially. Location was good for a lot of hiking and waterfalls, etc. Short 5-10 minute drive into Roseau (which can be a hassle to drive in given the one way streets - especially at night). A few restaurants within 5 minute drive are handy if you want to avoid Roseau.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Papillote in the beginning of January 2014. It's a lovely spot with lush gardens and at least three natural hot pools to enjoy. The food was delicious. The staff was uniformly helpful and very friendly. We stayed for a week, and with a car, we were able to easily get around and see most of the island. The island has many beautiful hikes, ample rain forest, and scenic waterfalls. Our rooms (suite 9&10) were a bit cramped for our family of 4, with two adult children, but Anne warned us up front that that was all that was available in our time frame. For nature lovers and hikers (and birders) this is about as good as it gets!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLovell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are able to take one vacation a year. For the past few years we have been going to Papillote on Dominica. We are worried that if we go elsewhere it won't be as perfect and we will have wasted our one opportunity. It is beautiful and totally relaxing. The food is excellent (we are vegetarians and the staff have no problem accommodating us with great local produce) and the gardens sublime. Papillote is a Wilderness retreat, anyone looking for a 5 star hotel should skip it, there are no hot towels or chocolate on your pillow. However the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff are warm, friendly and will all they can do to meet your needs. The gardens are world class, make sure to ask Marcel to take you on a tour. The hiking on the island is great, nothing like coming back from a hike and sitting in a natural hot spring pool with a rum punch! At night you go to sleep to the sounds of running water and chirping (?) tree frogs. Truly a magical place.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the largest and nicest (right above the original hot spring pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bres130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roseau hotels
3.9 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
876 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sea World Guest House
Sea World Guest House
#5 of 21 in Roseau
40 reviews
3.7 mi away
Narakiel's Inn
Narakiel's Inn
#14 of 21 in Roseau
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mr. Clean Bed & Breakfast
Mr. Clean Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 21 in Roseau
4 reviews
3.8 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
4.5 mi away
Symes Zee's Villa
Symes Zee's Villa
#19 of 21 in Roseau
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillote Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillote Wilderness Retreat

Address: Trafalgar Falls Road | Box 2287, Roseau 811, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: £75 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small secluded hotel at the head of the beautiful Roseau River Valley with comfortable charming rooms overlooking gardens, mountains, waterfalls and pristine rainforest wilderness.Dine in our Rainforest Restaurant on fresh caught fish, prawns or chicken prepared with all the fabled spices of our Island's rich cultural heritageWander through four acres of nurtured wilderness amidst a world class collection of bromeliads, begonias, gingers and aroids. Bathe in our natural hot mineral pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Hotel Roseau
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing