We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the authentic Hummingbird Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hummingbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hummingbird Inn
Ranked #16 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Riethoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great stay at the authentic Hummingbird Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

We did a round trip on Dominica for about 3 weeks and in total stayed at 7 different accomodations.

This was our first accomodation we stayed in and it was really a good choice. Very close to Roseau (and the ferry terminal) it was very conveniently located for our first nights.

We got a very warm welcome from Jean, the Dominican owner. One of us feeling a bit unwell at arrival, we were taken very good care of by Jean. She cooked us a delicious meal, while the restaurant was officially closed. Also we got a lot of interesting information on the local ingredients used for this meal and more general info on the environment/culture of the island.

The room (#5) was small but very atmospheric and had a very authentic feel. There is a good fan and a mosquito net, which was really a must.
Since we were the only guests at that time we can't comment on privacy. We were also shown the bigger suite which looked pretty too and had a kitchen.
From the veranda there is great view on the Caribbean sea.

The Inn is located above the busy main road but you don't hear traffic near/in the rooms. Only from the restaurant area you notice this. There is a beautifull garden with lots of birds (hummingbirds!) and big iguana's which can be easily observed from the breakfast table.

Included breakfast is very basic, but can be extended with several extra's for an additional price.

Overall we can recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — Owner Jean, garden with Iguana's and hummingbirds
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummingbird D, Owner at Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2016
An Authentic Awesome Dominican,Hummingbird service, that's a given, even when our staff makes mistakes, it's corrected in Big ways of Apologies.
The above review is a true representation of how Hummingbird Inn welcomes their guests always
In looking through to get to the bottom of the attack by gofetch, I notice this review and thank these guests who show a true reflection of our service, I remember meeting them. Notice that the same reviewer gofetch shows Sept 1 2010 as "Awful" then again in 2014. So please, why do I need an organisation as big as big as yours to try to put down my Beautiful Authentic Garden that brings so much Joy and Solace to all. Priests, Pastors, sick,sad, sleepless, all come to find Peace at Hummingbird Inn and wake up with the chirping birds and the quiet lapping of the Caribbean Sea.
It's truly a Special Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
austin,texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

...the place was gorgeous...simple elegance and purely West Indian..not at all garrish or like a Hotel California nightmare striving to be what its not....I'm now trying to book a vacation for my family (inlcuding my two toddlers) and keep thinking of how magical and natural The Hummingbird Inn was...and how my toddlers would love to see all the trees, hear the birds...and just walk around the property exploring nature! And yet I'd be really comfortable knowing that I'm not too far from the main town or restaurants...though honestly I remember trying some pretty awesome local dishes at The Hummingbird...and it was so very clean...small but CLEAN...

  • Liked — the relaxed atmosphere..real down to earth
  • Disliked — not ultra modern
  • Stayed July 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dreamofisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2007

It's a nice place. Jean(the owner) is a wonderful lady who will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. She has some guys who help her out who I believe will be taking over soon but they seem more interested in profit than customer care/service. So I suggest going while Jean's still around. The hotel itself it in a nice relaxing area, very pretty and natural, but a bit of a way out, particularly when you don't have a car and quite expensive for what it is.The breakfast is nothing special either. But if you got some extra cash and are running out of options. Jean wil make sure you leave smiling!

  • Liked — the owner!
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_globetrotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAceman, Bookings Manager at Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2007
We value this traveller’s comment and we are aware that when Jean has been absent some of the staff performance has fallen short of expectations. I can assure visitors that Jean remains firmly in charge and remains passionate about caring for her guests. We have also reviewed our prices and have a new website and offer last minute booking and loyalty specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roseau hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2006

Of the three small hotels we stayed in in Dominica, the Hummingbird felt the most authentically Dominican. Run by the lovely Jean who was born and bred on the island, we felt like we were guests in her home. The room we stayed in (#5) was simple, small and neat with a nice view. Next time we go we might opt for the honeymoon suite that may have a bit more privacy -- and a hammock! We loved the authentic Dominican breakfasts that were offered along with fresh juices and other beverages made in the kitchen. Jean and her staff were also wonderful at helping us negotiate the great public transport that is available right at the foot of the Hummingbird drive. Especially if you want to spend time in Roseau but don't want the noise and the city-feel, this is a great place to stay!

Helpful?
9 Thank SusanJaneMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2004

We stayed here on our Caribbean honeymoon. The setting was not at all what we expected based on what we saw on the website. The honeymoon 'suite' was dark with only a small view to the ocean. We did like the four-poster bed and being able to cook for ourselves, but we couldn't handle the numerous cockroaches. It is also a pretty significant walk from town (along a busy road). We ended up leaving a few days early to stay at the Ft. Young Hotel, and we really enjoyed being right downtown there. (As a side note, the tap water seemed ok to drink at first, however it made us really sick after heavy rains. We recommend only drinking bottled water on Dominica!)

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonomaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAceman, Bookings Manager at Hummingbird Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2007
We thank this traveller for their review and are sorry that their visit did not live up to expectations. We value feedback, we have redesigned our website and hope this gives a clear reflection of what to expect at our Inn. We are located a few miles outside town atop a cliff a short walk from the main road, however the local buses do pass very regularly every few minutes. We defiantly are not the Fort Young and are glad this traveller found a place to stay that met their needs.
We thank the visitor for informing us of seeing cockroaches. We have investigated the rooms for evidence and are comfortable that we do not have cockroach problem, We do encourage guests to identify problems as soon as they become aware of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2004

Beautiful location and setting, and conveniently located near Roseau. The gardens are lovely and hummingbirds flit amongst the abundant flowers. There are also iguanas who perch in the hibiscus bushes. The rooms are elegant, tasteful and not overbearing. The owner is friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable about local flora and fauna. Highly Recommended!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.0 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Inn

Property: Hummingbird Inn
Address: Morne Daniel, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hummingbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management, this small, charming guesthouse is set in a garden paradise of exotic flora and fauna. Conveniently close to the capital city, Roseau rooms are rooms are comfortable with twin, double and/or queen beds. Tranquil, Affordable and Convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hummingbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Inn Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing