We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Needs an Upgrade"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It would seem that no work has been done for a while on sprucing up this property. However the staff are extremely accommodating and attentive to ones needs. Special mention can be made of Philbert who pilots the boat on the whale watching trips. He can also repair many other things at the hotel. Susan the room attendant is also a very versatile employee at this hotel. The ambience in the restaurant needs work being done especially the tables and chairs. Whale watching was fantastic with the sighting of at least four whales and Captain Philbert's informative talks. I would stay again solely on Philbert's account and all the other helpful staff members.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocialAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a family run business and they truly make you feel right at home.

We had an "awful" experience reserved at the Hummingbird Inn hotel in Roseau. The hotel was undergoing renovations and never bothered to inform us. Upon arrival, it was not acceptable to my liking. It was suggested to us to stay at the Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center and boy....am I glad we did. I asked to see the room first and was amazed at the location, the view and the price. The staff is lovely and very friendly. You have the opportunity to eat, make new friends, and enjoy the "family". I was there 9 days and had the pleasure of sharing this joyful experience with new friends I met while there. We participated in the Dive fest activities; was escorted to a Dive fest party by a member of the family/staff; went Whale watching, enjoyed the Iron Chef competition, went to church service with a staff member and then to the Sulphur springs. Most importantly, enjoyed my birthday celebration with a cake provided by the hotel. The location is GREAT, because you can hop on the bus (vehicle with an "H" in the license plate) and go right into town. Bus stops right in front of the hotel. The hotel just hired a new hotel manager (Steve) who is updating the hotel procedures. He's friendly and fits right in and makes sure you will enjoy your stay. He shared with the chef that I LOVED pineapples. They made sure I had pineapples every breakfast. The hospitality is out of this world.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to ANYONE who ventures to travel to Dominica. You will NOT regret it!!!

Thank you Anchorage......May God Bless you and your growth.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

i like the hotel. some friends and i we staid there for some days the prices is not bad at all seeing the location of the hotel with hot water and WiFi and a very helpful and friendly staff . it's just a few min word or drive from town i did not go whale watching the hotel is recommended to be # 1 on the island for whale watching. the hotel has a very nice view over the pool and the bay you can hear the ocean and its waives making music with a beauty full sun set and view of the cruse ship

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Augustus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

There are no big chain hotels on Dominica. Everything is relaxed. Stayed at the Anchorage 3/13. I'd describe it as rustic but adequate. Excellent friendly staff. Plain rooms, just a bar of soap in the spacious bathroom, but very reasonably priced. Got a room for three days and a free two tank scuba dive for $242 total. Ask for room with wifi else be prepared to connect using a cable. Free wifi in the lobby and bar. AC worked well, sound of the waves on the surf put me to sleep at night. Try the local rum SOCA. Local foods are Bananas Plantains, rice and beans, sweet potatoes, fish and chicken.
Rum punch was a bit sweet but great, jerk chicken a little spicy.
Rugged country! Great rain forests, tour to the volcanoes or boiling lake.
Good dive shop within the hotel, Dive Dominica, rental gear, nothing for sale. No cruise ships in port so we hash the dive boat all to ourselves, basically a private dive. Hotel is an hour and a half drive from the airport, but a really nice tour of the rain forest and trails.
Much different world from the hustle and bustle of main land.
Narrow roads and quick drivers make walking to town inadvisabile.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the bar have wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I booked to take a whale watching trip. When I arrived the trip had been cancelled. I wasted time and taxi fare getting to/from the hotel. There was no explanation why the trip had been cancelled. No apology. They had not bothered to contact me to notify me of the cancellation, despite having both my email and mobile contacts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank chip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hotel on first appearances blends in with the other tired properties along this stretch of road at Castle Comfort a mile and half south of Roseau town where we had arrived from Martinique on the Express des Iles ferry. We quickly picked up a taxi and in 10 minutes where at the hotel. Once past the entrance it opened out to view over the pool and the bay with moored yachts gently rolling at anchor ad moorings. We were well received and shown to our room by a helpful young lady. Our bags were carried to our room which was on the third floor and no lifts. Our room sided on to the stony beach and we had a view back to the cruise ship pier at Roseau and down on the swimming pool and bar so right in the centre of action. There are a number of hotels along this strip all very quiet but of a better standard. Breakfast which was included was continental and very unimaginative. The one night we dined was their BBQ night combined with a function so we were mixed in with the rest. Probably if that had not been wn, there may have only been a couple of other guests. They run diving trips and whale watching from the hotel. There are regular taxi buses into town at a cost of EC$1.75 each way.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We did not stay at the Anchorage, so this review is based only on our whale watching experience. Captain Philbert gave us a review of the species of whales that we might encounter, including dolphins. He explained their anatomy, physiology, diet, migration habits, etc. He explained that there is an 80-90 % chance of sighting but that the morning excursion came back without any sightings. A little discouraging but...... Within an hour, Captain Philbert put us on two mother Sperm Whales and their Calf's. We only saw one species of whale that afternoon but it was good enough to make my wife cry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Larry625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
876 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
19.1 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
21.4 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center

Address: Castle Comfort | P.O. Box 34, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: £45 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location for family and friends, divers, hikers, whale watchers, adventure seekers and those traveling to Dominica on business who want to relax after work.Perched on the edge of the tranquil Caribbean Sea, only one mile south of the Capital city, Roseau. The Anchorage, “Dominica’s Adventure Center”Our Hotel offers 32 spacious, air conditioned en-suite bedrooms, comfortably furnished with island-style décor, direct dial telephones, high speed internet and Cable TV. Our Oceanfront rooms each have 2 Double beds or 1 King sized bed and our Poolside rooms have 1 Queen sized bed and can accommodate an additional single bed. All of our rooms overlook the calm Caribbean Sea with a coastline view of Roseau, the capital.Your home away from home, you can sample home-style Creole Cuisine alongside a mouth watering continental snack menu at our full service Ocean Terrace Restaurant or relax in our Carib Bar & Poolside Lounge sipping our famous “Laro’s Anchorage Rumpunch’ or enticing local cocktail.As Pioneers of the Dive & Whale Watching industry in Dominica, we offer a full service PADI Dive facility. Our fleet consists of a dedicated dive vessel, Domnik, a 30’ custom boat accommodates a maximum of 14 divers or 20 Whale Watchers. Additionally we offer 2 other vessels which are used primarily for our Party Cruises and Whale Watching tours; Passion, a 75’ sailing Catamaran which accommodates up to a maximum of 60 passengers and Miser’s Dream, a 60’ powered Catamaran which is comfortably furnished for overnight island trips and can accommodate from 5 people up to a maximum of 50 passengers. Our Whale Watching and snorkeling tours depart several times a week.We can boast the Caribbean’s only Sperm Whale Skeleton mounted near our lounge where our guides hold educational talks and briefings for our whale watching tours. There are many activities available at The Anchorage from shore diving, snorkeling, fishing, games and Kayaking for when you may need a ‘wind down’ from the Nature Hikes and many other land based activities we can organize for you. The Anchorage is home of Dominica Tours, ‘the Nature Island’s Experience Coordinators’, a complete Destination Management Company, our representatives can assist in organizing just about any experience in Dominica for you; whether adventures on land or at sea, Bird Watching, Hiking, Heritage and Cultural tours and talks; Community based and Youth development activities. Whatever your choice, our friendly and helpful Team at The Anchorage awaits the pleasure of being your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel And Dive Center
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Roseau
Anchorage Hotel Roseau
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing