We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zen Gardens(Mahaut)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
68
61
22
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
61
22
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reefsboat captainoctopusgreat divingocean viewthe entire staffwhale watching tourevery morningrum punchlion fishhelpful in arranging toursminute walk from the hoteljust returned from a week longonsite restaurantinteresting fishintimate resortroom was small but clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The place isn't big: only 14 rooms. The menu is limited but very tasty.

But, what is big? The front desk, restaurant, bar and dive/boat staff are absolutely wonderful! Some of them have worked at the Lodge for over 30 years. Really good folks.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Dive Dominica at Castle Comfort Dive Lodge has been at the forefront of promoting diving, preserving the dive habitat and promoting local business since it began with Derek and Ginette Perryman and as it remains today under the direction of Arienne and Daniel Perryman. Unlike too many hotels in the Caribbean that are run by foreign firms, the owners, staff and Dive Masters are all Dominican and the pride of place shows in every aspect of the services.
The food is almost entirely local and freshly prepared featuring many traditional dishes - callaloo and pumpkin soups being a couple of our favorites. Breakfast is served on the hotel veranda and lunches/dinners are either on the veranda or at the oceanside tables at the outdoor bar. Let me add that at the time we were there, they had a world-class bartender who had trained in London. His artistry concocting potions at the bar was a source of entertainment in the evening,

The dive shop is located right at the pier and the night diving is excellent. In the morning we just brought ourselves down to the boat and our gear bags would already be onboard. The entire staff from management to housekeeping was incredibly friendly and helpful. Of course, their knowledge of the island and its culture was unsurpassed. Althouth they work with a number of tour operators, they were more than willing to help guests explore any options for trips around the island including the grueling but wonderful day long trek to the famous Boiling Lake. For the less intrepid, trips to beautiful waterfalls, swimming holes and spas are available. Do NOT miss out on a whale watch (or two) to see the magnificent sperm whales.

Rooms are spacious with AC. It is a small hotel so in that regard it is quiet. It is, however, located on a main road and wedged between two other hotels so it can sometimes get noisy at night.

Excellent package deals for dive clubs that include pick-up from airport, dive/gear packages, meals and tours.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter. There are a couple of rooms overlooking the ocean for an additional fee. There are also larger rooms that work well if you are traveling with kids.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emesge27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in Castle Comfort in May 2011. I was diving and my mother was enjoying the sun. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.Rooms were good with both air-con and fans. Food was excellent, especially the banana pancakes! From a diver's point of view, it was great to just get out of bed and wander down to the jetty to find everything ready to go. The diving at the underwater volcano was the best I have experienced in the Caribbean. We had free shore diving in the afternoon and the life just off the jetty was unbelievable!
I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breathnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just spent a great Memorial Day Week with 6-days of 2-tank diving here at Castle Comfort. The room had lots of space. Great A/C, it would freeze you out down to 17*C, I loved it, & had a ceiling fan too. No alarm clock, but wake up phone call. Bring the, "World's Greatest Ear Plugs" buy on-line from outside Portland, OR. They are made of beeswax, lanolin & cotton. You mold them to your ear. They are incredibly comfortable & you will definitely need them unless you are a dead to the world sleeper. Right outside the rooms are lots of tiny frogs that give a high pitched creaking sound from sundown to sunup & the A/C & fan won't drown that shrill out. I recommend buying the new REI Super Camp Mat 3", since the beds were springs, & you felt them. I slept on a mass of pillows, since my old crashed into a tree ribs hate springs. The new REI Sporting Goods Store 3" SUPER MATT was not in stock yet. It is big, but I came up with a way for it to fit in my new Fabulous bag~The Costco $50 61" rolling duffle bag, has 8 pockets, HD rubber skids, stands up and only weighs 10lbs 6oz, & has Costco's lifetime warranty! Just open it up in your check bag & put your clothes in the middle of it and flop the rest on the top, sort of like a kids pool. Back to the resort. Take bug spray, if you eat in there covered outdoor table area. I do not recommend it for eating, unless you have cold food. By the time your uncovered plate gets there your food is mostly, if not totally cold. Eat upstairs on the balcony right next to the kitchen where they have plenty of lights and lots of overhead fans. If you do order cold food items & take plenty of bug spray. I came back with 20-bites in 7-days there. The food was good, everything is real expensive everywhere. The island has a 15% VAT & 10% Service Charge on all accommodations, & it is all over the islands. More on St. Lucia, at 18% VAT. They have a worthless 12' x 4' above ground pool, but it is totally shaded, and not heated. I put my achy legs in after diving & that was it. Only a few local girls went in the whole week, as it was cold. There is a nice very large concrete pool next door at Dive Dominica Hotel which you can crash & drink and eat too. It does have a 31' female sperm whale skeleton which is worth seeing on display right next to the pool. Their upstairs restaurant has a live band every Thursday night. I had the Marlin at the upstairs restaurant & it was very flavorful, but very, very chewy. The dive operation at Castle Comfort was very accommodating. Their fills were only fair. I used Nitrox, with an average fill of 2900 CFM aluminum 80 on 12-dives. Only one drift dive. The colors, diversity & fish life make it the best in the Caribbean. I have dove over 10-islands from San Salvador Isl. Club Med to Margarita Isl. Venezuela. There is Green's Market, a 10-minute walk from the hotel, to buy your food. The hotel has no refrigerator in rooms, but they will allow a few items in the main refrigerator. In town there is a IGA Market which has lots of stuff, more than Green's & it is a $2 US round-trip by local van bus or $1.75 EC. I went with 18-divers from Singledivers.com. Kamala the trip director was great!

Room Tip: I had room #1 I would not recommend it. I would ask for a room over the dive shop, just as long as you get up at 0730 when they arrive & don't plan on sleeping in the afternoon when they fill tanks below your room. It is quieter, no creaking fogs, and has a ocean view. I had the main building on the second floor room #1. You don't want down stairs as you will here the people above and even louder creaking frogs. Ask for a court yard view room in the main bldg with a view of the pool for less road traffic noise. The big tree will block a lot of view but it will cut the road & frog noise. Take ear plugs!! Only room #8 was away from the road & tree frog.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed nine nights at Castle Comfort in April 2012 for the purpose of diving. You can dive right from their shore - this is not a great dive site but it is a convenient place to check out your gear and bouyancy before you get on the boat. The boats left at 8:45 each morning and we were back around 12:30 which left just enough time to shower, take care of gear, and eat a quick lunch before going on an afternoon excursion.

Castle Comfort is a diver's hotel. It has non-carpeted floors, a faucet in the shower for cleaning gear, a balcony for hanging wet gear, etc. It is not luxurious and doesn't try to be. The two rooms that have an ocean view cost a little more and in my opinion are very much worth the extra cost. Our room was #14 and was on the corner so we had windows overlooking the courtyard and restaurant and a patio overlooking the ocean (partially blocked by a big almond tree). The room has a working air conditioner.

The staff is friendly and will help you plan afternoon and off-day excursions. Breakfasts are to die for - especially the banana pancakes (and I don't really like bananas that much.) They serve fresh fruit and a freshly squeezed fruit juice every morning plus a choice of eggs and meat, omelet, banana pancakes, french toast, or fruit plate. The restaurant, though, is overpriced and the service is slow even though the staff in the restaurant is very friendly. The BBQ chicken lunch special served on the days when the whale watching boat goes out is very good, but dinner specials were quite mediocre. There is a restaurant on either side of Castle Comfort that we found to be slightly better, and if you have time you can walk into town for other choices. Tao is one of the restaurants almost all the way to town that we especially liked. The menu at Tao is pretty limited, but prices were reasonable and the food was good, as was the atmosphere.

Overall this is a typical diver's hotel with as convenient access to diving as you will find. Since that was the purpose of our trip we would make the same choice again. If you don't expect luxury you won't be disappointed. However, the rooms that are in the back are very near the road and near the kitchen and I would not want to stay in one of those.

Room Tip: Paying the upgrade for an ocean view not only gives you an ocean view but also gives you more privacy and distance from the road and kitchen.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews