We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, BETTER RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, BETTER RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Cecil and the staff of the bar and restaurant make this a "must try" place to dine. From the starters to the desetr they offer a level of fine dining that is hard to find in Dominica. Proably an above average experience in the US, but in Dominica its at or near the top of the heap. Consistenly excellent for lunch or dinner from the first drink to the ice cream you;ll be impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
25
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a mix up with another hotel, and turned up at Evergreen as a party of 9. The manager and staff were extremely helpful, and we were given 3 lovely poolside/ seaview rooms, for a reasonable price. The pool and grounds are well maintained, and the food in the restaurant was delicious, (although the waiting time was terrible).
We all enjoyed our stay there and were treated like extended family. I agree with the other reviews the rooms would be more appealing if they were spruced up a bit more. The location is ideal if you want to travel into town as buses can be caught right outside the hotel.
A added bonus would have been if they had on-site entertainment, and organised trips.

Room Tip: Be aware of the added tax and s/c on the food bills. Shocking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlywed2009UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here during an organized 7 day dive trip package and had a pretty good time. EG hotel bar was clean and more upper-scale. Menu included nightly prix-fixe meal (the lion fish was different and pretty good). People were all helpful and nice. The Castle Comfort Hotel next door has dive services with a dock and pier and can arrange for drivers and local area tours which are charged to your hotel bill (convenient). CC bar is more relaxed but food wasn't as good...fun good drink list was changed daily and bartender was very friendly.
Negatives - avoid staying on weekends, especially the last/first weekend of the month when everyone gets paid and stays up until 7am at the extremely loud nearby nightclub. Electric outlets are 220 (not US) voltage and office only has 1 transformer to borrow for everyone. Wifi hardly ever works. Nothing is close-by so don't expect to walk anywhere (except the Bello hot sauce factory next door which was totally worth going to!)

Room Tip: Has a nice "honeymoon suite" that is a separate cottage with a small bathroom but nice bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is the 2nd year in a row that I traveled to this stretch of Dominica for diving. The hotel is like most on Dom, in need of some repairs. This road has lots of noisy motorcycles and cars, so bring your Leight 33db ear plugs and a noise machine would not be a bad idea too! It does not matter which of the 4-hotels you pick in this area they all are close to the road. Some have beach front rooms with a lot less road noise, but at a much higher price. The restaurant had very tasty wraps for lunch, chicken, or mahi mahi, or marlin. I had the marlin for dinner and it was a long line chew. Pass on marlin,unless you need chewing exercise. Now if you get a chance to have Lion Fish, go for it! I had it 3-times this trip. I would recommend the restaurant and their pool.

Room Tip: The farthest from the road-Beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our second stay in 5 years and the wonderful staff is still present. We had rooms on the 2nd floor and despite exercising our leg muscles, we each had a lovely balcony with ocean view.
The food is top rate. You can order a big breakfast including a local one (night before) with salt fish and johnny cakes! We also ate several lunches and dinners and all were excellent. The pool is well maintained.

Room Tip: We love the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glesn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were made very welcome and soon settled in. We thought that $155 US was a little expensive for a room that was in need of modernisation. On the plus side, the shower was strong and the water hot, we were right above the sea, the Mahi Mahi dinner was excellent. We get the feeling that the staff will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. So if there is anything you need changing, etc just ask.

Room Tip: Check that the air con is working well and your mosquito nets on the windows are intact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank QuaySmithTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed at the Evergreen Hotel from 3-7 April 2012 having moved from another hotel in Roseau.
I had not heard of the hotel before and I had some reservations but I really shouldn't have had. My son, my sister and myself were treated like family. If we mentioned something that we would like to eat - it was there the next day.

The staff were friendly, helpful and warm
The rooms were comfortable and clean and our air con packed - the electrician was there with click of finger. He was unable to fix - we were moved into another room and he came the next day - Good Friday. How's that for service?

Everything is cooked from scratch s expect a wait. At lunch or dinner and breakfast if you so wish - do try the rum punch - what a kick!

Only one negative - would have liked a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
19.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
20.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Hotel

Property: Evergreen Hotel
Address: Castle Comfort, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Hotel is a charming sea-front inn located along Dominica's west coast, only one mile south of Roseau, Dominica's capital city. This boutique hotel affords perfect sunset views and cool ocean breezes and has been described as "Petite and Charming... A Serene Blend of Island Beauty and All the Comforts of Home..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Evergreen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing