We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Garraway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garraway Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at Garraway for two weeks. The only good thing was the breakfast which was overpriced and could be included in the stay package. A few of the front desk folks were out right rude. The executive suite was not really a suite ...none of the usual amenities ...have to carry a large key around And the front door closes at midnight and you have to bang on the door.....this hotel needs serious work

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangleben1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We regret that your stay at the Garraway Hotel did not meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and concerns and where positive will consider how these can be used to improve on our service to clients. Where negative we will do everything to turn these around. We take steps at all times to ensure that the safety and security of our guests are not compromised and look forward to welcoming you some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
6
9
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stay for three nights and couldn't get another hotel since there was a big cricket tournament when I went and all of the other hotels were filled to capacity. The food was very good and local dishes were offered in the morning. Didn't eat lunch or dinner there. Was out during lunch and went around the corner at a restaurant for dinner. The room was clean. The negatives were that the water turned cold whenever it was switched over from the spout to the shower and the shower curtain was slimy. We did see a good view of the cruise ships as it docked directly from the hotel. Also, it is close to the tourist market as it is along the waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JiClipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks for staying with us. It was a busy time as Dominica was hosting a Cricket Test Match at the time. However we do try to ensure that all our clients are happy and given excellent service. We would have liked you to savour more of our local cuisine as we do have a varied selection of meals for lunch and dinner. We offer themed dinners every night including sea food night, grill night, barbecure night, gourmet night, Indian night which caters to the tastes of our many clients. We hope that the next time you stay with us the water will not be cold. We note your observation about the shower curtain and have taken steps to rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roseau hotels

Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were forced to stay here during a travel delay due to a cancelled flight, it was one of the only hotels which would accept the airlines voucher. While the hotel itself was OK, I have no idea why anyone would actually pick it given the other choices.

It's right downtown next to the cruise ship dock. It's very busy, loud, and below average views compared to other options. The food was way over priced at the restaraunt and service was exceptionally slow. Rooms are OK, beds were comfortable but small, and bathrooms were clean but there was some problem with the water when we arrived.

I'm sure it would be fine for a place to sleep, but be prepared for noise, and traffic. I'd pick another option any day if it were available. Only really positive is it is downtown so within walking distance of pretty much anything in Roseau if you don't have a car. On the flip side because it is right at the cruise ship dock be prepared for tourist prices and treatment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKGirl1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We re happy that you stayed with us and apologise for the noise which is caused by the traffic outside depending on the level of activity in the country. We would have been happy to move you to another room which we usually do to accommodate guests for their satisfaction and comfort.
Our location is very strategic and all our clients find this very convenient especially if they are business clients with limited time.
We do our best to ensure that we provide the services required to ensure that all our guests are comfortable so we look forward to your next visit so if you find anything which we can do to make your stay more memorable just let us know and we would be only too happy to help. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Dominica unfortunately does not have any modern design hotels, Garraway is in the top 5 best on the island. Difficult to keep the noise from the city out of your room. Requires better maintenance. The hot water is lukewarm, but the cold is cold. Having stayed all over Roseau, it's a toss up really when it comes to accommodations. I usually choose fort young, anchorage or Garraway.
The wifi leaves a lot to be desired, didn't use my iPad until I got to the restaurant.

Room Tip: 5th floor has no carpeting in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ttman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks for staying with us. You will be happy to know that our wifi service is now operating perfectly so we apologise for the hiccup you encountered during your stay as it was just being tested at the time. We would have gladly moved you to a room away from the traffic ton ensuern that you were insulated from the outside noise which is sometimes caused by increased activity as a result of seasonal entertainment. So I hope the next time you stay with us that can be rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

More of a business hotel than tourist, rooms are large and modern with fridge & kettle and most have a sea view. Good for sunsets, but you may wake up with a multi storey cruise ship outside your window as the dock is on the opposite side of the road. The staff were helpfull, I had not heard good things about the restaurant, so did not use it. You can get a very good breakfast from Cocorico's along the road, except on Sundays. The hotel needs a referbishment, it is on 5 floors and the bar downstairs can be very noisey late into the night. Traffic noise outside may deprive you of sleep also.

Room Tip: Go for floor 4 or 5, there are also 2 suites on each floor with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks for your observations about our hotel which does cater for both the business and leisure visitor. We do not have a swimming pool but since we are so centrally located and pride ourselves on being the Nature Island of the Caribbean, we feel that most people love to enjoy our natural rivers, sulphur spas and beaches. We are able to organise such tours for our clients and recommend that the next time you stay with us we will gladly help you to visit such wonderful sites.

The noise from the traffic is not constant but varies depending on the level of entertainment which usually takes place seasonally, such as World Creole Music Festival in October, Carnival in February or March and usually on Friday nights when Dominicans party. However, in such a case, we usually transfer clients to rooms which are further removed from the traffic once rooms are available.

As far as our restaurant is concerned you are spoilt for choice as we are well known for our local cuisine offering a range of local dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our snack menu is very popular so we would encourage you to try it for yourself and don't accept what may be said which can sometimes be subjective for various reasons.

We now offer wifi services which is important particularly as most clients now use iphones or ipads. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Garraway hotel enjoys a prime location on the Roseau waterfront offering gorgeous sunset views from its West facing aspect.
It's clean and the rooms are spacious; bathrooms are OK but could use an upgrade -however the towels were quite new when I stayed recently which was a positive.
The front desk is usually very helpful and the restaurant staff try to accommodate requests.
It's annoying it still doesn't have wi-fi and this really needs to be sorted out -especially as you can sometimes get a weak signal from the Fort Young Hotel network if you stay in the rooms nearest the Garraway's main competitor.
Like others I've stayed here several times- it's safe, the staff are helpful and pleasant and it's a good choice if you are on a short business trip (and don't mind not having wi-fi) or getting to know Dominica and the Roseau valley for pleasure.
It's a little old-fashioned style wise and a refurb wouldn't go amiss but the location, room size and well intentioned staff make it a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBananaMgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks much for your response. While we do not yet have access to wifi we offer internet access in all rooms free of cost but are considering wifi access in the short term. We greatly appreciate your comments which have been very helpful and will convey your kind comments about our staff accordingly. We hope that our services will be upgraded by the next time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you and making your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

November 2011. Our departing flight from Dominica was cancelled, and American Eagle sent us all back to Roseau to spend the night. We were sent to the Garraway Hotel. We all looked forward to some cocktails and dinner there, and a good night's sleep before returning to the airport early the next morning. The Garraway was busy; the young men at the reception desk were very polite, but things went way downhill from there on. I was put into a room which was less than average. I went to turn on the A/C control for my room, and the cover fell off in my hand. The control's innards had old disconnected wiring which obviously had been in disrepair for quite a long time - and I noticed a floor fan provided in the room. I called the front desk to report the A/C, but no response on the A/C problem. Oh well, time for dinner anyway. My friends and I met in the cavernous dining room, and experienced very, very slow service and mediocre food. At the bar, the bartender seemed determined to completely ignore us. Then, back to my room, where I met a big cockroach in the middle of the floor, legs waving in the air. I struggled to open my windows, as there would be no A/C on this hot night. Bottom line, I slept with the floor fan by my bed and windows open. The bed was comfortable, but all night motorcycles were roaring back and forth in the road directly below, making a lot of noise. We had to get up at 4 a.m. to make the journey back to the airport; I felt that I had not slept at all. The Garraway is run down at the heel. The decor needs to be spruced up. Management should institute a routine maintenance program, and most importantly, implement formal hospitality training for their bartender, cooks and wait staff - while everyone except the bartender was smiling and friendly, the food service was confused and very slow. American Eagle is probably housing their stranded travelers for an extremely good rate at The Garraway, but I would never stay there again on my own.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has working A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thanks for your review which has enabled us to investigate the concerns raised. We first of all wish to apologise for the shortcomings which you identified. We are grateful for your observations and have taken steps to ensure that the issues raised have been dealt with so that these do not recur. With best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Judith Pestaina
Owner/Manager
Garraway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
1.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Flamboyant Hotel
La Flamboyant Hotel
#7 of 7 in Roseau
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garraway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garraway Hotel

Property: Garraway Hotel
Address: Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garraway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garraway Hotel is perfectly suited for the business and leisure visitor who wish to have easy access to the city of Roseau and its environs. It is strategically located on the historic Bay Front named after the Caribbean's first female Prime Minister,the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles. Comprising 31 rooms with 20 single/double standard rooms and 11 suites (all air conditioned plus having standing fans), it provides comfortable accommodation for singles, doubles and families who wish interconnecting rooms. We have added wifi services to our free internet service. Our local cuisine caters for a variety of food choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. We offer karaoke entertainment every Friday evening and can arrange tours to the many natural sites and attractions which have made Dominica well known as the Nature Island of the Caribbean. Please come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garraway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garraway Hotel Roseau
Garraway Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing