We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Fresh Organic Produce Market”
Review of Old Market Square

Ranked #13 of 33 things to do in Roseau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic cobbled square often crowded with vegetable vendors.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Nice Fresh Organic Produce Market”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

2nd year in a row to this area for diving. This time I ventured to the local produce market, and I was not disappointed. The papa (*papaya) were outstanding. The others in our group bought a big variety of produce products, at very good prices. I bought pineapples which were very good. The shops were mostly USA goods and stuff for the cruise ship passengers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“market experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

this was neat to experience. it is definitely a locals spot. vendors were friendly and not aggressive. all people were pleasant. we enjoyed a fresh smoothie on the side of the road, and bartered with the women for their goodies. :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jaleh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Interesting Market”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The market is like many other Caribbean market with one important exception. You can buy Dominican Chocolate here. This chocolate is considered some of the best in the world. Most is shipped to Europe. Best place to buy dark chocolate bars is in local groceries or pharmacies.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Bethesdashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fruit, vegetables and trinkets”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We went to Dominica during the off-season but there were several merchants. I wasn't a fan of the trinkets but I saw some of the biggest carrots ever! Get some of the fruit if you can and try different varieties of bananas. You can also bargain a little.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LLMHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Souvenirs”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Not too far from the Fort Young Hotel and was able to get souvenirs

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Market Square also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Old Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing