We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep on the Edge of a Rainforest”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Symes Zee's Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Symes Zee's Villa
Ranked #18 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sleep on the Edge of a Rainforest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The grounds of Symes-Zee Villa are unbelievable and while we were there they were still improving them. We were the only guests, but our tour organizer had arranged for them to bring food out from their Roseau location for us. It was all delicious and copious. Symes Zee himself is quite a character and, when he took us down to Roseau to purchase something we'd forgotten, we saw that he was a real man about town.

The quality of the rooms and furniture is only ordinary, but we slept like babies to the sounds of the rainforest just a stone's throw away. Every evening, after hiking to see waterfalls and lakes, we stood on the immense balcony above the bougainvilleas and watched the sun set over the Caribbean. It is the kind of place that takes your breath away.

If you aren't there for some kind of function, or for hiking, I'm not quite sure what you'd do in the area. But if you've got a car and want to use it as a base, I don't think you could get a much better experience.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs so you can go out on the balcony in the evening and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JedJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

If you're looking for a very basic, affordable room high in the mountains but don't really care about comfort, this is your place. The grounds were comparable to a botanical garden with flora and fauna of the island. The room was clean but the bed very thin, hard and uncomfortable. The pillows were ridiculous - I'm not sure who would even manufacture such a stiff excuse of a pillow. Our friends were in the room next door and had the same. We ended up folding our clothes for pillows. We never had hot water - not even lukewarm. Since you're high in the mountains, it's rather chilly so cool showers are simply not acceptable. This location has no ice, no drinks, no shampoo, no food, no hair dryer, no converter for American outlets. We were able to have dinner delivered from the other location with prior notice and it wasn't bad. Everyone we encountered on the staff was fantastic - from the front desk to the maintenance man who climbed grapefruit trees for us, to the ladies who delivered dinner - every single one was very kind. Given the affordability of the room, we didn't expect much. Honestly a soft pillow and hot would have changed the game and I could have rated this review excellent.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolJ388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

symes zee near laudat will let you experience life in a rain forest. they will cater your food to you from his restaurant in roseau. you are near the most popular hiking trails on dominica. the hotels grounds are lush with citrus, banana and wonderful tropical flowers and foliage. the air is crisp and the mountain views are spectacular. very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Symes Zee in Byack which is about 20 min by car from Roseau.
The place is beautifully located on the top of a hill with a fantastic view over the mountains and the ocean. The Hotel is a great start Point for some of the top sites in Dominica like Ti-tou Gorge and the Boiling Lake.
The owner was very nice and shared some insight knowledge of Domica.

We can really recommend staying at Symes Zee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been traveling to Dominica for 12 years and have always been extremely happy with my stays at Symes Zee's guest house. Symes Zee and his staff are ALWAYS helpful and accommodating. This is a real immersed cultural experience. You are in the heart of Roseau with access to all it has to offer and is near all the bus stops. The food is real creole dishes at very affordable prices. Syme Zee is very proud of his villa up in the mountains, as he should be. He is forever upgrading it.It is a beautiful mountain retreat and he more than willing to shuttle guests up to see it and then drop you off at a trail head if you so desire. I highly recommend both locations for the traveler who wants a real Dominican holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is situated on top of a mountain in Laudat,giving you a 360 view of all the rainforest around you. If you are looking for a place to use as a base for daily driving or hiking trips,this is the place to be. The hotel is clean and the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Each room is en-suiteand there is many terraces you can sit and enjoy your surroundings in privacy.
There is an amazing vegetable garden on the premises providing daily vegetables and fruit to the guests.
If you are looking for a true authentic experience in Dominica then this is the place to be. And for those times you want to reconnect with the outside world the hotel provides WiFi throughout the grounds.

Room Tip: A true nature experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutch_colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel located upon a mountain, with cool breezes and wonderful sceeenery. The proprieter Sym-Z was a fantastic host and nothing was a problem when it came to our requests. I lost all inibitions and had many 1st experiences upon that montain.
I highly reccommend this hotel for it's comfort, cleanliness and customer services. The island itself was hot and town was hustle and busle, but at the hotel we experienced sheer indulgence.

Room Tip: Speak with Sym-Z directly 7674482494
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julienne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.9 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
17.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
17.5 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
9.3 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symes Zee's Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symes Zee's Villa

Property: Symes Zee's Villa
Address: 34 King George V Street, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Symes Zee's Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Symes Zee's Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symes Zee's Villa Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing