We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and well-located”
Review of Narakiel's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Narakiel's Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Tours, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and well-located”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is clean, well-located with a possibility to park the car in front of the house). Richard is friendly and on hand. He gave us usefull advice (visits, restaurants, shops). He gave us a cell-phone so if we had a problem or a question, we could call him and He called us back. The rooms are confortable with a fridge and a micro-wave, so it is possible to have breakfast (breakfast is not possible at the hotel because there is no restaurant) in the room and to have lunch or dinner. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Cécile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
25
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Central, cheap, clean, parking available, nice staff - an excellent choice in Roseau.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kusti101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Staying at Narakiel's Inn in the beautiful country of Dominica was an amazing experience! My cousin and I chose the perfect accommodations for us. The studio, though small, was very comfortable and included a cozy kitchenette. It was clean, had air conditioning, and Wi-Fi. The view of the river from the balcony was extremely peaceful at any time of day. I experienced the true island feel.

The best part was the hospitality given by the manager, Richard Astaphan, who was the most gracious host I have ever encountered at an establishment of this sort. He made sure all of our needs were met as well as well as several of our wants. I appreciated his hospitality immensely.

I didn't want to come back home. WHEN I return to Dominica, I will stay at Narakiel's Inn again. I hope you do too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VST1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guyancourt, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I absolutely loved the location, in the city but away from the noise. I stayed in the Stuio which I found to be very comfortable with all the trimmings the larger hotels would offer. The fact that it was so peaceful that I could meditate on the balcony in the mornings with the sound of the river rushing below, or take a nice morning run along the river by the stadium was an added bonus.
Special thanks to Mr. Richard Astaphan who was a very gracious host, ensuring that arrangements were in place to visit sites of interest and recommended suitable menus to sample while there. A visit to the birthplace of my forefathers to reconnect with my roots was enhanced by the team of Narakiel's Inn. Simply Amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This guesthouse is the absolute best! It's located right downtown w/o being right smack in the center of all the hustle and bustle of Roseau. There is parking right in front and the building is secure. The rooms are immaculate and resemble what you would expect at a high-end hotel. Our room was excellent (beautiful and clean) and Richard went out of his way to accomodate us and show us what Dominica has to offer - we had so much fun with him :-) I wish I could've extended my stay, as I was soo comfortable at this guesthouse. My friend and I had a wonderful time, Dominica is an absolutely breath-taking island. If I ever return to Dominica, Narakiel's Inn will definitely be my lodging of choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I just got back from a week-long stay in Dominica. I spent four nights at Narakiel's Inn and I would definitely recommend it. The location is great - just outside the center of Roseau. It's within easy walking distance (like a 5 minute walk into the center of town), but it's location on the perimeter of town makes it feel very peaceful and safe. I also loved the view from the shared balcony.

The rooms are small but well appointed and nicely organized - they even include a mini fridge and cell phone! I also found everything to be very clean.

The best part of my stay at Narakiel's was the service/hospitality of the manager, Richard. As a solo traveler with no rental car, it was a bit of a challenge to find affordable transportation/tours. Richard went WAY above and beyond to make sure I was able to do everything I wanted, including visits to Middleham Falls and Boiling Lake. He personally gave me a ride to the Boiling Lake trailhead - and picked me up afterward. He was always accessible via phone. Seriously, I must have called him about a dozen times during my stay - and he was unfailingly friendly and helpful.

If you're coming to Dominica (and you should - it's fabulous!) and staying in Roseau, don't hesitate to book a room at Narakiel's. It's affordable, well located, and offers superior service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The owner, Richard is a friendly guy and very helpful. Cost of 2-room apartment was very reasonable ($140/night) for 4 people.
Rooms and en-suite bathrooms were a squeeze but no major problem. Location, overlooking the river and the stadium in Roseau was just what we wanted. Small kitchen & table between the 2 rooms were adequate and Richard provided a toaster on request
We only slept, showered and breakfasted there so lack of space wasn't a big deal. There was a narrow balcony suitable for a nightcap for 2 people. Any more meant sitting in a line.
Oddly, Roseau on Saturday night after around 10pm was dead ! Seems that the locals socialise earlier - possibly as the sun goes down between 6-7pm year-round. A good base to see south & west coast. Roads across the middle of the island to the East coast are being repaired. If you hire a car, ensure it's a 4x4

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronDeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. James Guesthouse
St. James Guesthouse
#3 of 21 in Roseau
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narakiel's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narakiel's Inn

Property: Narakiel's Inn
Address: Riverside, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narakiel's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Roseau, Dominica Narakiel's Inn offers stylish accommodations with comfort, at very affordability prices. Narakiel's is a small, family owned/operated Inn containing 6 guest units that are modestly sized. Narakiel's Inn a particularly wonderful choice for the traveler who not only prefers smaller, 'bed and breakfast-like' accommodations, in a comfortable, clean environment but also greatly values personalized attention and a central, convenient location.Narakiel's is located near shops, supermarkets, restaurants and serves as the perfect base for accessing all major sites, beaches and adventures. The Inn contains standard rooms, a studio, and a two-bedroom each equipped with Private Bath, Air Conditioning, Free Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Coffee/Tea, Dual US/Caribbean Voltage, Cable TV, Ceiling Fans, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Narakiel's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narakiel's Inn Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing