We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"No place like home."”
Review of Narakiel's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Narakiel's Inn
Ranked #14 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Narakiel's Inn is like your home away from home. Everything you read iro location,services & amenities is true with out a fault...no disappointment. This is not my 1st trip to the land of many rivers, so I was not expecting a difference in accommodation,etc, but " boy was I surprised!!" Narakiel's Inn blew away what doubts I had. A totally beautiful, wonderful experience.
A thousand (1000) thank you's to Richard & Magdaline. With out their kindness, helpful attitudes & accommodating demeanor, I don't think my stay would of been so wonderful & memorable.

Room Tip: Single traveller who just wants to relax ie no cooking, choose room 5 the studio . Its quite ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

While the hotel is in a central location and the necessary amenities are available, my red flag is how management they decided to penalize my early checkout to 50% because I was trusting enough to pay them what they say I owed before doing my own calculation so now when it came time to adjust my account, they made sure to find a way to justify the amount I had already paid them. I originally had the room book for 9 days but for business purposes, I needed to reduce my stay to 6 days, so I ask management can you ease up on the penalty for early check out as their policy clearly stated that it was up to management discretion on the amount they would charge. She justify why it was 50% when her policy clearly stated it was up to management discretion.
This situation left me with a very uneasy feeling and a perception of shadiness tactic by management if they feel they can get away with it.
At the end of the day, a traveler's experience is also affected by the feeling of trust or mis-trust experience during their stay in a particular location.

Room Tip: A/C is very loud so it may take some getting use to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatureIsle, General Manager at Narakiel's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Although we were greatly saddened to read this review, we were not really surprised that this guest left a bad review as she appeared to be very angry during her stay with us because we were not able to make an exception to our refund policy and provide her with a full refund for her work related, early departure request. Both Richard, our local manager, and myself tried to explain, in multiple emails and during in-person conversations what our early departure policy was (described in detail on our website and in pre-booking emails to this guest), but it seemed impossible to appease her. Though we provided the guest with a 50% refund (as per our refund policy) she still remained upset as she insisted that we should make an exception for her and provide her with a full refund.

We clearly list our refund policy on our website and include it on both our deposit email and payment page, provided prior to a guest submitting their deposit to reserve their room. The guest did actually acknowledge that she was also aware of our refund policy. Contrary to this guest's suggestion that our website states that refunds are based on the discretion of our management team, our refund policy actually states that only refund requests that fall outside of our cancellation policy will be made at the discretion of our management. In this particular instance, the request for a refund by this guest, actually fell within our early departure policy which is part of our overall refund policy.

We explained to the guest that since Narakiel's is a small inn, unlike in the case of hotels with many rooms available, we only have a few rooms and one of each room type. As a result, changes in reservation dates (with no notice, as was the case with this guest) unfortunately have a significant impact on our small business. In addition, the days that the guest was staying with us fell during our second highest peak time for the entire year (the World Creole Music Festival season in Dominica). We actually are always fully booked for this season and get booked months in advance of this music festival. So we actually refused many potential reservations (which we could have accepted for the room that the guest booked) because of course we could not anticipate previously that the guest would need to reduce the length of her trip and that the room would actually be available.

When we noticed that the guest was still so upset after explaining all of the above to her, we further informed her that our policy was actually much more lenient as compared to many other small accommodations in Dominica which retain the full amount of any unused days with early departures. Further, we also provided the guest with examples of refund policies of other comparable, small accommodations in Dominica (directly copied from their websites) so that she would have a comparison. However, she did not respond to this information.

We really do our best to work with our guests as much as we can and to be understanding of their specific circumstances, as these may arise. And so we apologized to the guest on multiple occasions that, particularly in such a high peak season for accommodations in Dominica, it was not possible for us to make an exception to our early departure policy and provide her with a full refund as she requested.

We greatly value all of our guests and try our best to ensure that their stay with us is wonderful and that we provide them with personalized attention and assist them whenever needed. With this particular guest we assisted her in setting up airport transfers to and from the airport, provided her with a very early check-in and late check-out, drove her to the currency exchange, and Richard was available to answer all of her questions and respond to her requests. We are sorry that this guest remained so angry with us despite of our best efforts to work with her but we're not sure what else we could have done to make her happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

this was my first trip to dominica, like any traveler i was wary about accomodations etc; narakiels turned out to be the ideal spot, it felt like home, it was quaint, quiet, beautifully decorated and at most 3 mins walk from town, a river runs by in front of it, you can veiw the mountains in the distance from the balcony and Richard was one of the most endearing, helpful persons ive ever had the pleasure of meeting. i would definitely recommend Narakiel's to everyone> thanks again

Room Tip: go for the 2 bed room. its fairly big and has all the amenities you would need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sedio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I've had the best time in Dominica at Narakiel's Inn. It's my new home away from home. It's in a convenient location and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Richard made my stay at Narakiel's Inn very enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

this hotel is very nice. It is not far from the town not far from the ferry and just by the seventh day adventist church. Richard is very nice and gave very good advice about the places you 've got to visit and about where you should go to have very good local lunches. The room rates are good and they are very clean.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, it depends on the number of persons you comme with
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauric97130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Narakiel's Inn is in a great central location, Richard is great and welcoming. The rooms are very clean, have everything you need: fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, airco, fan wi fi, snacks when you arrive, coffee, tea cellphone etc.

Good price for a great place. we would recommend it to everyone
Augustus and Marinka(St. Maarten)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Augustus28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is clean, well-located with a possibility to park the car in front of the house). Richard is friendly and on hand. He gave us usefull advice (visits, restaurants, shops). He gave us a cell-phone so if we had a problem or a question, we could call him and He called us back. The rooms are confortable with a fridge and a micro-wave, so it is possible to have breakfast (breakfast is not possible at the hotel because there is no restaurant) in the room and to have lunch or dinner. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Cécile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea World Guest House
Sea World Guest House
#5 of 21 in Roseau
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narakiel's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narakiel's Inn

Address: Riverside, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: £53 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narakiel's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Roseau, Dominica Narakiel's Inn offers stylish accommodations with comfort, at very affordability prices. Narakiel's is a small, family owned/operated Inn containing 6 guest units that are modestly sized. Narakiel's Inn a particularly wonderful choice for the traveler who not only prefers smaller, 'bed and breakfast-like' accommodations, in a comfortable, clean environment but also greatly values personalized attention and a central, convenient location.Narakiel's is located near shops, supermarkets, restaurants and serves as the perfect base for accessing all major sites, beaches and adventures. The Inn contains standard rooms, a studio, and a two-bedroom each equipped with Private Bath, Air Conditioning, Free Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Coffee/Tea, Dual US/Caribbean Voltage, Cable TV, Ceiling Fans, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Narakiel's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narakiel's Inn Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing