We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, beautiful island”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

After a long period of researching the various Roseau hotels and hilltop eco options, I chose Fort Young and am very glad I did. It's clearly the nicest anywhere near Roseau. We stayed 5 nights. Large, very nice, good bar/bar food, restaurant overlooking ocean, pool, activities desk, etc. Exceeded my expectations. If you're expecting top-of-the-line resort like you'd see in more visited locations like Cancun or Dominican Republic, you'll be disappointed, but it's not advertised to be that and you're not paying for that. Most important, we walked and drove all around Roseau and inner valleys and the other options were less than I had assumed from the earlier research. Fort Young is right on the ocean (no beach), with great views. The Garraway is across the street (not on ocean) - nice, but not as nice. We were surprised how rough some of the eco hotels we saw were (never saw Manicou or Jungle Bay, which both look nice online).

If you're a diver, Dominica is fantastic. Great walls, huge life, healthy reefs. Fort Young uses the same dive operator as Castle Comfort. Anchorage and Castle Comfort are two miles south and not nearly as nice. We also found it much cheaper to stay at Fort Young and book the 3-day dive package than to book the full Castle Comfort stay&dive. Highly recommend Dive Dominica. We were concerned by the large size of some of the boats on their web site, but it was never a problem. Two of the days had maybe 10 divers, which was fine. One day had a lot more, but they split into two boats to two separate sites and also separated the experienced from inexperienced with separate dive masters. It was great.

There's not much in Roseau and for the most part it shuts down at 6pm. If you're reading about the interesting sounding places to eat, note that most non-hotel close at 5 or 6. The roads are rough and we saw a lot of construction in the interior. Most of the roads have as their edge water runoff channels that drop straight down - if you run off the edge, the car will be on its side and you're not getting out. We rented a car. I had a blast driving on the left and navigating the craziness, but my fiance was frantic in the passenger seat.

The interior is spectacular. We hiked around Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Freshwater Lake, Trafalgar Falls, etc. Incredible rainforests. We like to explore new places, but between the rainforests and the diving, it's the only place where we want to come back to see more. If you're both hiking and diving, 5 days isn't nearly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falcon3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Fort Young Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

That was an awful hotel, in the sense that value for money was very low. And don't believe on what advertises. Price of rooms "Ocean Front View" in the catalogue is $135, but we were charged with $250 per day (!!) because prices have increased in 2011 (how much have they been increased and why this was not communicated in the catalogue??). "Ocean Front View" is also a lie. This is valid only after 17H00 (when people are often out of rooms). Mornings you open curtains and huge cruise boats are exactly outside from yoru balcony. We also slept terribly because "Ocean Front View" Rooms are next to the central A/C Unit with amazing noise. There are many much more great hotels in Dominica (as I have checked around). Please don't go in this one even if the Agency suggests it (as my Agency did).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EMICH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed here during Carnival 2011. Very convenient to walk the couple of blocks where most activities were but far enough away to not be in the middle of it all. Neat watching the ships pull up each morning. While the rooms are really nice, and the view from the restaurant is great, we'd recommend saving your money and venture out to one of the nearby (local) food shacks, restaurants, diners because we were really disappointed with the food here. Amenities and service very good. If you like poking around in ruins or old forts, this will be of interest to you for at least one night's stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBgrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We ended up at the Fort Young Hotel after our reservations at another hotel on Dominica failed to deliver what they'd advertised (air conditioning, among other things). It was Christmas week, so we were sure we'd have trouble booking, but the Fort Young had been my second choice originally (I'd only gone with the other hotel because the price was better), and we decided to see if they still had availability.

They worked very hard to find accommodations for us that suited us in terms of price and the number of us in the room (two adults and two older children). We ended up with a lovely, spacious room right on the water with the waves crashing beneath our balcony, air conditioning, a beautiful bathroom with a HUGE tub and shower, free WiFi, a mini-fridge, flat-screen TV with cable, and a beautiful pool. It was clean, comfortable, and well-situated. The staff were so helpful with everything we did while in Dominica. Also, the hotel's restaurant, while pricey, had excellent food. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet was great for us because we'd eat in the morning, stay out all day without lunch, and then return for dinner.

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for, and I'm only sorry we didn't book there in the first place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disgruntled14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Nice, clean hotel in Roseau. Neatly added onto an old English built fort. If you stay here, make sure you ask for an ocean front, or otherwise said "new part of the hotel". The older rooms are bigger, but are in need of an update.

I enjoy my stay every time I come to Roseau.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaycue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

A recent business trip saw us stay for a few nights at the Fort Young. A terrific location right on the water in Dominica. We had an ocean view deluxe room: Large with excellent air conditioning. The room was dated, and the furnishings could use improvement. The bed was king size, firm but comfortable. The restaurant was excellent, breakfast was included. The staff was very friendly. Internet did not work on the first evening, but was restored promptly the following morning. Nice infinity pool with bar service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I recently traveled to Dominica on Business and stayed at the Fort Young Hotel. This hotel offers a remarkable package. The staff is very friendly especially the bar staff. The food is delicious. The room where I stayed was quite comfortable with the exception of the solar water that did not function for two (2) day but reception never said anything.

My one bad experience was with the police. If you travel to Dominica, never find yourself in an accident. The police becomes judge, juror and executioner. The incident involves a minor accident but when the police learnt that i was on the way to the airport he simply took up the role and concluded that i was wrong. To make a long story short he was protecting a fellow Dominican.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eanry_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
20.8 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: £93 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing