We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on the Island”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on the Island”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We are scuba divers and adventurers so this island was meant for us. After comparing prices for package deals on land and diving excursions we found it would cost the same if we paid for our diving trips separately and then made Ocean Front room reservations at the Fort Young Hotel. Yes we have a sitting balcony overlooking the caribbean sea and we can look for our dive boat as it approaches the dock so at the last minute we can take the stairs or elevator down to board our boat. After a day of diving, we rinse our gear in the fresh watrer tubs already prepared for us by the staff of Dive Dominica (they have a shop at the hotel) and then they provide hangers for our gear and will store it in their shop to dry before the next day of diving. No need to haul wet diving gear up to our rooms to rinse in the shower and dry on our balcony. Diving doesn't get any easier than this. The hotel was in the middle of renovations while we were there so the main pool area was closed down, but they still had the "infinity" pool available. They have a nice dockside bar for drinks and the restuarant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The city shuts down ealry so if you want to shop or dine out due it during the daytime, not at night. Expect youir nights to quite and relaxing and your days to be filled with adventure.
The added plus is it is nice to return to a luxuriouos hotel room with AC, large bath and shower facility and beautiful view from the balcony to have a drink ot two. They evening have a cardi room with treadmills looking out over the sea.
If you are in the city of Roseau, don't stay anywhere else and spend a little extra for the ocean front room. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandOrSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    367
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
122
284
57
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 10 days, 5 days with b'fast included. Did a dive package which was well worth it. The dive equipment was in excellent condition (we had to rent BCD and regulators). Room was overlooking the ocean and clean/well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful. B'fast had a great selection. Hotel centrally located and walking distance to everything in Roseau which is very active during the day and then closes for the night. Took us a little while to figure out the good restaurants which were open in the evening. Buses not that hard to figure out if you asked - certain stops within the town went to certain areas on the island. Activities staff very helpful and we found the prices for the Boiling Lake hike very comparable to outside vendors/tour companies. Aside from b'fast package, we didn't eat in the hotel as we found prices a little high. We tried as many other local restaurants as we were able to find.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtoZBrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Dominica gets a lot of rain and so has mosquitos. If you want to get eaten alive, stay here. Some of the rooms have wooden slats with gaps over the window opening. But there is neither glass nor a screen so the bugs just fly right in. The road from the airport (on the Atlantic side of the island) is a two hour nightmarish drive through the mountains. This place is just not worth. Try St. Lucia or Martinique.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank antigone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The Fort Young Hotel is like a diamond in the rough. It is a very nice hotel - clean, decent food, beautiful view of the ocean. We stayed here for 5 night and it was a good experience. The hotel is located in Roseau, which is an absolute dump. We were afraid to eat anywhere outside of the hotel. The guidebook I had read about Dominica recommended that you take the bus - good luck. You can't get anywhere without paying the big bucks for the taxi. I am posting this information because I read through countless reviews about Dominica and was shocked at the lack of attractions when we got there. Most of the businesses and homes were metal shacks and there was absolutely nothing of interest in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mndoc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This was the third place we stayed on the island. The first was a two hour drive to go diving. The second was the worst place ever. Fort Young was great. Very nice facility. Great staff. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubatexas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseau, Dominica
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Although I spent just one night at the Fort Young Hotel, it was so relaxing, luxurious and delicious it totally recharged me for the next week! The Scotts Head Suite was beautiful - the view was gorgeous and its location near the pool & hot tubs was key for my 12-year-old son. We had a delicious dinner - the lamb was the best my husband ever had. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous and attentive. Thank you FYH for a great mini-vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I travelled from London to Dominica, overnighting in Antigua. When I arrived in Dominica my luggage did not arrive, much to my disquiet!!!

When I checked in at the Fort Young Hotel, I informed the staff that I would need make up and something to wear as I had an engagement on the same evening. To my delight, there was a knock on my door and a member of staff came to my room with a selection of her own make up which she said I could have and offered to have someone go with me to the shop to buy an outfit for the evening. She was ever so pleasant.

During my stay, I had an ocean view room and to my utmost surprise, my neighbour was 'Shaggy'!!!! Fancy that!!!! We even met at breakfast!!! He was lovely!!!

The hotel staff were so helpful. I liked the serviettes which they used as they were made from the native plaid material. I told a Member of the catering staff and she promptly offered to come with me to the shop to purchase material and she got curtains, place mats and serviettes made for me. I am planning to go to Dominica in January and pray that there are rooms available at the Fort Young Hotel because this is where I will always want to stay. The service was brilliant and the staff were wonderful. I even saw the Prime Minister having breakfast there!!!! 10 out of 10!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you don't see what you want, just ask!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
488 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.0 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing