We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were part of a group of fourteen scuba divers from Knoxville, TN that spent a week from July 14th to July 22nd, 2012 at the Ft. Young Hotel.

Everything about our stay was wonderful! The dive operation, located at the hotel, was smoothly run by Ken (Khatts) and the divemasters, Brenton and Thomas were excellent. The diving was exceptional. Some of the best in the Carribbean. Smooth water, great sites and super divemasters.

We had a large well appointed oceanfront room with a huge elegant bathroom which was beautiful.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and took care of our every need.
Hazel,the manager and her staff were phenomenal from the welcoming rum punch and cool towels to the attention she provided thoughout our stay.

The centrally located and well stocked bar Balas was also great and the food there was excellent. Breakfast and dinner at the Waterfront Restaurant overlooking the ocean was awesome! Everything you could want for breakfast plus a charming, lovely lady that prepared eggs and omelets to your requirements. The food at the Fort Young Hotel was by far the best we experienced on the island.

If you need a driver for tours, please ask for Clem with Khatts (Ken's company). Clem is terribly knowledgeable about all aspects of the beautiful island of Dominica. We ventured into the rain forests with Clem and were treated to exquisite water falls, dense foliage, hot springs and lava vents.

Again, we can not say enough wonderful things about our stay and our diving experience with the Ft.Young Hotel in Dominica! We will definately return to this gorgeous island and this fabulous hotel.

Sharon and Chris P

Room Tip: We loved having an oceanfront room with a balcony. Being Americans, we appreciated that the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    352
    103
    35
    14
See reviews for
114
277
55
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vordingborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We are a family of five so we always have trouble finding rooms for two adults and three children. Most hotels only accept four persons in a room. But we mailed the hotel and told them that we can accept to have a room with only two double beds so the three children could share one double bed. The hotel accepted that and even gave us a good bargain (since it is the low season I guess).

We had a really nice Ocean View room. And this is really ocean view. Our balcony was litterally hanging out over the ocean, so the view was really wonderful. We could see Roseau bayfront to the right and some mountains to the left.

Our room was big enough for all of us. It was very clean and had all the amenities we could think of. Free coffee and tea every day was nice.

The hotel staff was more then helpful. We were met with a very friendly and warm attitude from all staff members.

Fort Young Hotel is built on and old fort. And many of the original buildings and flooring was still there, which gave the hotel a very unique and historical atmosphere.

The pool is not big, but big enough so it was never crowded. The view from the pool was also ocean view - wouuw. On the third floor there is two whirlpools which was very nice to relax in after at long day of hiking in the rainforest.

The location of the hotel is by far the best in Dominica. It is waterfront but still downtown Roseau and close to 90% of all the major points of interests in Dominica.

We dined in the hotel a few times. Food is excellent and fair priced.

It is not a five star hotel, but surely the best hotel in Dominica.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobraleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location is unbeatable, hangs over the sea and close to the city center. The food is pretty good. The pool is very nice and the rooms are nicely furnished.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageurdominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have been to the Fort Young Hotel many times in the past, many during the month of October. However, my recent stay was the best ever!! Great snack menu, staff was hospitable, service was EXCELLENT!! Met with the Ag. General Manager, she seems to have been born doing this, she is a great peoples' person.

I will be back in October!! FORT YOUNG HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have stayed at Fort Young Hotel for about eight consecutive years. It is, in my opinion, the best in Dominica. The island is not a standard tourist destination, so resorts are not abundant. I am not looking for those while on a business trip, so Fort Young offers me the closeness to the city, good rooms, unbelievable value, and the gentle sounds of the Caribbean Sea right behind my room. There is usually a Friday night happy hour and hang out that brings the community close by. The cost of this hotel is less than $100 if you negotiate ; the food and drinks are a bit pricey but the overall room, amenities, and service are definitely up to world standards. Only downside is slow service on check in and check out. Had several times when I got there and had to wait for my room to be ready. Breakfast is not usually included with rooms in the Caribbean in general so be careful. Be prepared for the exciting ride from the airport into town if you are a first time visitor to Dominica. If mountain roads spook you, then close your eyes and like low.

Room Tip: Get a sea side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Fort Young is a charming spot in the heart of Roseau! From the booking experience to our departure the employees were very accommodating.

After a bumpy crazy evening ride from Melvillehall Airport we were ready to unwind. We were pleasantly greeted at the front desk with warm white cloths to freshen our hands and offered a glass of wine. The bellhop had quite a hop in his step, but we were able to keep up with him during the 5 minute walk to our room.

Once you enter the lobby, it is stone-walled with dark accents. There is a long hallway leading to the rooms and dining areas. The front desk to the left of the entry way is highlighted with red and yellow accents.

The room was adjacent to the pool in the 100 block - the spaciousness of the room and the ocean-view made for an inviting stay. Daytime offers the best view of the ocean from the room.

This room was painted in and island Peach hue, very calming and decorous. Upon entering the closets are spacious and clean complete with full size ironing board and iron. Next to is is a large bathroom - superior in size. There is a huge bathtub and shower combination. On the balcony, there are 2 chairs and a table to enjoy the view.

Each conference room was equipped for audio/visual, podium and a/c. I loved the stone-walls and the old world feel of the property.

Upon arrival, I had forgotten my toothbrush and toothpaste, the desk agent came to the room for the cash and walked to town to pick-up the items for me. It took maybe 10 minutes and they were very honest and helpful.

I would not recommend walking into Roseau or the surrounding areas at night. There are flat screen TV's in the room and enough entertainment at the hotel. Friday nights are BBQ fetes island-wide. It's bonkers! The hotel offered the same at the property with a DJ. You can have a great meal under $40US.

Room Tip: Highly recommend an Ocean-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutiepie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
The Fort Young Hotel thank you for you feedback. We are happy that you were satisfied with the service that you received. . We take pride in meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests at all times.

We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
198 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel is ideally located on the waterfront & we had a room with a view over the ocean & cruise ships that were in town. We were in Dominica to watch cricket at Windsor Park so the location was very suitable as only a 10 min walk through the very local streets of Roseau. The room was clean & large with a TV, safe, fridge, WIFI & lovely balcony with comfy chairs. There is a lovely pool area by the ocean. There are a couple of restaurants & the food was good as long as you were patient to receive. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Dominica, the walk home from the cricket via the local rum shacks was unforgettable.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms do have an ocean view, some better than others but worth asking for even with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We thank you for your review and welcome the feedback. At the Fort Young Hotel we strive to provide our guests with the best experience and look for new ways to exceed expectations. We hope to see you again at the Fort Young Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
9.9 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing