We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. Absolutely perfect!

The sun sets over the sea and it has the most amazing view from the infinity pool. The jacuzzis are delightful. We ate in The Waterfront restaurant and the food was impeccable. Lovely wine too!

After dinner we lay on the peer and listened to the dolphins while staring at the stars. We saw a shooting star fly across the sky. SO ROMANTIC!!!

The staff here are lovely and all in all it's the perfect place to stay.

I've been here for one day and I know I will be coming back here many times in my life.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    364
    105
    35
    14
See reviews for
116
281
57
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Great location for diving-rooms standard but nice, quiet and good restaurants on the grounds. Also has "spa", but really just one massage therapist in a room on the grounds-she was excellent though. Nice pool-has a hot tub but it was out of order. Staff helpful. Close to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valla, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Fort Young Hotel has the reputation of Dominicas premier hotel and I agree. Well situated in the heart of Roseau, do yourself a favour and splash a little extra cash to get one of the deluxe oceanfront rooms. Staff are friendly and helpful, just remember that things sometimes run on Island time. Grab a cocktail and watch a wonderful show every night as the sun goes down, from your balcony Priceless! Rooms are well appointed and most importantly spotless. No hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone going to Dominica.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvsnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you had a good time in Dominica and at the Fort Young Hotel.

We strive our best to provide excellent service and to provide the amenities and facilities that our guests while on vacation are looking for.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon. The sunsets are here waiting!

Marvlyn James
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Fort Young hotel is a treasure in the heart of Dominica's capital. The hotel has wonderful staff and the ocean front room and balcony look over the caribbean. If the cruise ship is scheduled to arrive, it is right in front of your balcony (which we did not experience). The bar menu has a lot of local fare as well as some american items and is quite good. Overall, the rooms are large and spacious with a huge tub, which I used to rinse scuba gear.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are quiet and spacious with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glorianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Guest

Thank you for your positive review of the Fort Young Hotel. We are quite pleased that you had a wonderful time in Dominica and the Fort Young Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in the Nature Island and the Fort Young Hotel- Dominica's Premier Hotel

Sincerely
Marvlyn James
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, Caribbean
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel twice, and both times it was a very good stay. The food at the restaurant is great. Friendly staff, and a very clean room.
The sunsets views are amazing, so have your camera in hand.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fort Young Hotel the last week of August with a group of fellow scuba divers.

The hotel overall was a great hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room was one of the upgraded ocean front hotel rooms. The majority of friends stayed in the older section of the hotel rooms. My room was more than adequate for our needs. A few of my friends had a few minor issues with their rooms. If you need more plugs and you want more of a view, I would suggest paying the bit extra for one of the ocean front rooms.

The only real issue was the hotel food. The food was not bad, but it was neither great. Adequate would be the best phrase. The associated Waterfront Restaurant was better in quality, but not great.

As for the scuba diving, the hotel associated dive group were good, but not as attentive as other dive masters I have dived with. The boat was large enough to accommodate our large group of 26. My only reservation would be if you are a novice diver, I would advise you to make it known to them that you will need help. They assume that you know what you are doing. If you do not, do not hesitate to ask and stick close to them for guidance.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get rooms in the more modern section of the hotel. The ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Factory, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel was Great. Easy check-in a nice room with the perfect view. I'll be honest, nothing can go wrong on this island. We love it here on Dominica. The friendly people and great food. The room was clean and simple. The breakfast was big enough not to have the same thing every morning. Pool is a little small but nice enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing