We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great-looking hotel, generally good experience”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was a very nice place to spend a few evening in Roseau. We did not end up using their dive shop, but the location was secure, the rooms were nice (although the "Fort" rooms are nowhere as nice as the newer rooms either view-wise or amenity-wise, both were good) and the food at the bar was very good.

The only reason reason we didn't provide a 5-star rating was that the hotel badly mishandled a problem with one of their rooms. In the middle of the night, the Air Conditioner started leaking, leaving large amounts of water on the floor. When we alerted the front desk, we were relocated to another room that also was difficult to stay in because the AC had been on max and it was too cold to even get to sleep. Ultimately, we lost an entire day of sleep, which spilled over into a difficult next day--one of only three we had in the area.

Things happen, and I get that. What I was not happy about was their attempt at resolution. Only after we mentioned our concerns, we were offered 15% off of one night of stay, and it was clear that they would do nothing else to make up for the evening. We have stayed at a lot of hotels and there are very few that I would complain about, but I just was entirely dissatisfied with this way this was handled.

Still, other than that one event, we loved the hotel and the accommodations. I would just hope the management of the hotel takes a more active interest in the comfort of their guests.

Room Tip: Fort room is very cheap relative to other rooms in the area, but is a good deal older and smaller...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We apologized for the inconvenience that you experienced while you stayed with us. I have taken the opportunity to speak to my Heads of Department in terms of what went wrong and have taken steps to ensure a situation like this does not happen again. We understand that this was a major inconvenience for you and would be very happy to be given the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Marvlyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Fort Young Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

There is no other place on the island with better accomodation for individuals, couples or families! Our family had another wonderful vacation enjoying Caribbean warmt and hospitality at its very best. Kudos to the hotel and the airport taxi driver better known as Skel for a wonderful island tour to the lovely beaches, waterfalls, hot springs and samples of local cuisine.

Room Tip: If you have a long travel schedule, please advise them to mitigate waiting time for your room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexfarray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Fort Young hotel and in Dominica. We encourage you to visit again and hope we are given the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My husband and I just came back fro almost 3 weeks on the beautiful island of Dominica. One week was spent in Roseau at Fort Young in an ocean view room. It was beautiful. Lots of room, great bathroom, fabulous view from our lovely balcony and wonderful air conditioning was like icing on the cake. We ate several nights at the terrace restaurant because it was so good and the location so lovely. Everyone was wonderfully accommodating. The pool was beautiful and the location was just perfect. We had no complaints about noise. We arranged our 5 days of diving as a package deal through the hotel and feel like the value for the hotel and diving was great. Ken, owner of Khatts tours (separate review) handled our diving with Dive Dominica and it was seamless. We were picked up at the hotel dock and returned there after diving. It was all just about perfect.

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laseratlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We encourage you to visit us here in Dominica again for more fun and adventures and hope we are able to serve you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I just returned from a mission trip to build houses in Dominica. Our group stayed at the Fort Young. I was in one of the older rooms, but it was clean and had a lot of character. This part is pretty dated and could stand to be updated, but it was comfortable and in a beautiful setting. THe breakfast buffet is incredible. Huge variety, but I could eat the fresh fruit and drink the passion fruit juice all day. The staff were all very professional and went out of their way to welcome our group. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to this beautiful island.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you are able to visit again so that we may have the privilege of serving you again. Thank you for choosing the Fort Young hotel and for your service in Dominica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week at Fort Young. I was in a fort room that faced south towards Scotts Head. It made for a nice view and I occasionally got to see dolphins playing in the bay off of my balcony!

Everything about my room was comfortable, clean, and functional (although I never turned on the TV) and the hotel supplied me with a transformer to convert to American appliances. Newer rooms are equipped with outlets for American and European appliances. Others traveling with my group commented that any problem that they reported was fixed immediately. I found the staff to all be friendly and helpful as well. And everyone was very polite.

The hotel is built in and around the old fort so there are parts that are incorporated into the old structure and parts that have been added later. It makes for a very cool place but the layout can be a little confusing until you get used to it. Everyone there was helpful about getting around and by the second day I pretty much knew how to get everywhere I needed to go.

It is worth noting that there are a lot of stairs, even to get to the elevator. For us it was great exercise but it would be very difficult for someone who is mobility impaired to get around.

Room Tip: I was in a fort room and found it quite comfortable. It was closer to the street than the oceanfron...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatRunDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at the Forty Young hotel. We hope that you are able to visit our lovely island again and that we are able to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A wonderful hotel ,just by the water !
Very nice staff ,rooms were very clean ,staff were helpful ,and extra friendly .
Easy access to shopping .
Breakfast is really good but at lunch I didn't care for the soup .
There is a buffet by the room near to the bar it' offers more value for money. At lunch then the main dining

Room Tip: The rooms nearer to the sea are well appointed . Ask for one with a tub!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozanaGaffoorali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We hope your stay with us was enjoyable and that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We recently traveled to Dominica for a week of diving and exploring and had a wonderful trip. The staff at the hotel were friendly, attentive, and were always smiling. Our room was one of the most beautiful we've ever stayed at on an island; clean, big, everything we needed, and a great view to the west to watch the sun go down each night. We started every day with terrific buffet breakfast featuring a variety of local dishes, made-to-order eggs, fresh fruits, juices, and coffee. The dive shop was great to work with and Ken took care of everything we needed. The boat picked us up on the dock each morning and the dive sites were close by. We were very impressed with the diving in Dominica: beautiful reefs, not crowded, and a great variety of marine life. The real gem of the hotel is the Ballas Bar. The food was so good that we ended up eating there every day. The daily happy hour 2-for-1 drink specials were great and we were able to keep up on the Master's Tournament on their big screen.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room in the newest section. Many of the ocean view rooms are older and their vie...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeC33471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, Director of Sales at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi

On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fort Young hotel and that all your needs were met. Dominica is an untouched gem and we hope you visit again so that we may have the opportunity to serve you again as you enjoy more of our spectacular diving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
20.8 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: £93 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing