We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Dominica which is both comfortable and accessible this is it. The Fort Young Hotel is built in and around the remains of the old English Fort Young. Rooms vary greatly in price and luxury. We stayed in one of the simpler rooms in the main section of the hotel and could not find anything to complain about. Perhaps the WIFI signal was a little weak, but we were trying to escape from our devices here! The location of the hotel is ideal and allows you to wander about the city withour having to worry about getting a taxi back or anything like that. Located across the street from the President's mansion, the local Anglican church, and only three blocks from the Catholic cathedral, you just can't beat the location.

The staff were the definition of welcoming. From check-in (with cool, wet towels to clean off after some brutal travel) to check-out, everything was beautiful.

I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkimtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are happy that you were satisfied with our service and amenities. We are constantly looking at ways to improve and we appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Marvlyn James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    371
    109
    37
    16
See reviews for
126
286
57
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel offers Dominican hospitality at its best. When even the cleaning staff stop to chat as if you were a family member, you know you are somewhere special. Stayed here for a night on our wedding anniversary and wished we could have stayed longer. Sipped rum punch and watched the sun disappear into the Caribbean from our room veranda; then had dinner overlooking the bay at the hotel's restaurant. What a treat to find a chef with the talent to create such memorable dishes using local produce. Never realised sweet potato could taste that good. The restaurant would be booked out months ahead in London or New York. This hotel has resisted the temptation to ape the mutinational chains and gives a true local feel without skimping on service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandC284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the best locale to stay at in Dominica. It is built in a real fort that has been around for 300 yrs or so so things Aren't shinny new but the character is great. We passed thru Dominica twice during our vacation and stayed here and stayed here both times. The first room had a balcony with a wonderful view. The room was wry nice. The second time the room was much larger but the view wasn't as great but we still had a view. The staff was very accommodating. On Monday nights they have a buffet and music which we really enjoyed. You can enjoy breakfast on an upper terrace restaurant and watch the cruise ships dock. They will arrange tours for you. I really enjoyed our stay there. If you are mobility challenged there are many steps. There is an elevator but you might have trouble getting to some parts of the hotel, other than that it should be your first pick if you are in Dominica.

Room Tip: I would ask for the 5th level if steps aren't a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogadore, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to get married in a beautiful area away from the drama of having a big wedding and at Fort Young we did just that. They helped us plan everything to the "T". From the moment we got there we were blown away with polite and curteous service. The location is amazing, with it being right on the ocean. We had 2 rooms. One was ocean front room, which we absolutley loved because the wrap around balcony. The second was the ocean front suite , becuase it was included in our wedding package, this room was also amazing but would have been better there was more people in our party. The food and drinks were great, we got to know the servers really well. We were a little upset with the lack of promptness, but it seemed like the whole island was on another time, than we were. The hotel offered a whole bunch of amazing hikes to go on. They used Khatt tours, which had very informative guides, and safe well serviced vehicles. Our wedding was also beautiful. The package provided us with so much, decore, food, free night, free upgrade, dinner, breakfast in bed the next day, couples message and other great things. We were married on the Forts peir at sunset by the supreme courts magistrate. They provided us with a 2 teir wedding cake of our choice, and a 5 course dinner, in a private room. We trully felt like celebrities since the staff all knew who we were. The island itself was gorgeous, and a must for any adventure seekers. The city of Roseau was a cute little city. My husband enjoyed haggling with all the locals, and we only came across 2 beggars. All and all the people of dominica were great and were like any other area of the world, just trying to get by. GREAT PLACE AND GOOD EXPERIENCE! We will be returning.

Room Tip: rooms 408 and 308 are the best! they are on the corner and are ocean front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmass, colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We loved the Fort Young Hotel in Roseau. It has lovely rooms, and neat terraces, passageways, alcoves, and common areas. A good restaurant is in the hotel, and several others are nearby (Bistro and Old Stone Grill). In addition, Ken of Khatt Tours in the Hotel can arrange everything you want - scuba diving, nature hikes, taxis to beaches, airport transfers, etc. He really made our stay better and more interesting...and is a lovely person....as was Nicholas of the Hotel staff.

Hotel itself is very close to town and scuba operator picks you up right at hotel dock.

Only suggestions for improvements at hotel are that they rebuild the steps down to the waterfront because the swimming looks superb...and they might want to brighten up the rooms with colorful tropical wall hangings/paintings.

Wish we had had more time to scuba dive, as it is so convenient from the hotel. All in all, we cannot recommend the Fort Young Hotel more highly. It is much nicer than on-line photos depict it.

Room Tip: Book an oceanside room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywiessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here in one of the Deluxe rooms and really enjoyed it. The food is good, the staff are friendly and helpful, and it has some historical charm.
We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms further away from the restaurant, towards the south end of the hotel and quite preferred it to the larger deluxe rooms on the northern side. Everyday a cruise ship parks directly in front of the hotel on the north side and obstructs the view from 8am to about 7pm so at sunrise you can see the boat pull in, then you see all the cruisers on their balcony (not all of them fully clothed) watching the docking process, and then they are there past sunset. On the north side they aren't directly in front of you so you still get to enjoy views of the ocean all day long.
The rooms are clean, nice big bathrooms, and good amenities. The diving goes out Dive Dominica which is based at Castle Comfort. We found that Anchorage also runs a really nice trip on a beautiful big catamaran but you need to get to the Anchorage, Dive Dominica will pick you up and drop you off on the Fort Young pier.
Breakfast and lunch are mostly buffet which is fine but they are not quick to replenish items and the space is limited to move around. We preferred the a la carte menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaPaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8,221 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Location **** (out of max five) very nice location on the ocean. No beach close to the hotel. A lot of beggars around the hotel. Just ignore them.
Room. **** (out of max five). Large ocan view room with complimentary coffee and thea

Infrastructure, Service (internet, reception, pool etc): * (out of max five). Nice pool with an waterfall. Only eight sun lungers. Internet very good. Good gym.
Bad service at the reception in restaurant and in the room. My first mail before the arrival about a bus shuttle has not been answered. In the restaurant only four guests. We ordered and waited and waited and waited. Every 10 minutes another person coming and asking: “Everything ok?”. “Yes but we are waiting since half an hour for our meal.” “OK, I’ll take care of it”. And he/she disappears. Ten minutes later another person coming and asking the same. Eventually after 45 – 50 min the meal would come.

The room maid forgot several times to put toilet paper or Kleenex in the room.
No linge change in 10 days.

At the reception we have ordered in written a lunch package for the next day at 9 am for a trip by bus. At 10 am the bus was leaving and the lunch package was not there. Tried to call the general manager. No reply.

We had a lot of discussions one day before leaving about the invoice at the reception. Finally I’ve paid the bill including the last night. Next morning at check out: “Sir, you haven’t paid the last night”! Again a lot of discussions.

I expect much more for 250 usd/night room.
The trips offered by Ken are very good.

Breakfast. We didn’t have breakfast in the hotel

Overall rating. ** (out of max 5). Downgrade because of high price and bad service. Unfortunately there is no alternative in Roseau.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ba31182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
On behalf of Management we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are quite disappointed that there were some areas during your stay that did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We will take your feedback and use it to help improve the hotel to ensure a more relaxing and enjoyable stay.

On behalf of the Fort Young Hotel we would like to thank you for staying with us and hope we are given the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Marvlyn James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.0 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing