We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, perfect stay!”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Large room, perfect stay!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Loved this place! We upgraded to the superior room and it was worth it. We had a large room with a large bathroom, refrigerator, balcony and plenty of cable channels. The staff was wonderful. The bar had a great happy hour with really good rum punch. We booked a package deal that included diving and a trip to Trafalgar Falls. The on site dive shop partners with Dive Dominica. All of our tour guides and dive masters were wonderful. I highly recommend the whale watching trip. We loved the Fort Young Hotel. Request room 201, it's close to the restaurant, dive shop and elevator.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    367
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
122
284
57
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fort Young has excellent rooms, beautiful scenery and views and helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and excellent internet connectivity which isn't always easy to find. Try the callaloo or pumpkin soup - delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort White, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fort Young is a great hotel 'In Roseau the capital' It is clean the rooms are large and the food is excellent.The staff is very helpful and can guide you to the great hikes waterfalls and activities that Dominica offers. We would certainly recommend it to our friends. .

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic with great views and you can watch the sunsets amd maybe catch a glimse of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at the Fort Young Hotel for 16 nights in January of 2014 for a business trip to Dominica. First thing to be said about the hotel - it doesn't quite know what it wants to be. It sort of wants to attract the business crowd, but the rooms aren't designed for business - slow and spotty internet, no desk. It sort of wants to attract the tourist crowd - but no attendant at the pool bar and a very small gym. It is on the waterfront, but there is no beach in Roseau itself. The views are fantastic, with vistas of the mountains along the coast and fantastic sunsets on the Caribbean. The restaurant staff were probably the most lacking in friendliness and attentiveness. The food was good, if pricey - but that's what you'd expect in the Caribbean. All in all, I felt that management was just happy to tread water and wasn't looking to improve anything - even if those changes were simple and obvious. If you are staying in Roseau for business, this would be the hotel to chose. But I certainly would look to smaller boutique hotels for the tourist experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumrunnerfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kho PhaNgan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have spend a week in Fort Young hotel part of a professional mission for Digicel.
I found the hotel room comfortable and very clean.
The wifi access is good, strong and free !
Food is high quality, breakfast in particular.
The staff is friendly, available and professional - Great service overall

I had a very pleasant stay and would recommend Fort Young Hotel if you are staying in Roseau area in Dominica

Best Regards

Veronique

Room Tip: As for Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days at this hotel.It was a very beautiful experience. This hotel is located in a very lovely area.The ocean front room was very clean comfortable and safe. the staff all members were helpful and friendly The tours from the hotel were realiable and fun.WE enjoyed the freedom of safety at the hotel and in the country.THe meals were well prepared and served with a smile always .It was a warm and positive environment KUDOS TO YOU ALL !

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are good esp on the 5 floor private and less disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good hotel for business trip. The staff is very professional and polite and very responsive. The included breakfast is more than substantial and the meal selection is quite extensive. The rooms are clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
489 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.0 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing