We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Young Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau Rive(Castle Bruce)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
346
379
115
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
379
115
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontbuddy divetour deskthe activities deskdive shopcruise shiplarge bathroomenjoyed my stayan ocean view roommain restaurantcaribbean seascotts headrestaurant staffvisit dominicabeautiful islandferry terminalrum punch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place is class. From the beautiful sights and views of the ocean, especially at sunset, to the friendly people and good food and a great bar. This place is the place to stay. There is not much in Roseau, but don't let that fool you. The reason to go there is for the nature and the diving. Loved the island and the hotel. From the welcome we received from the hotel when we arrived, to the manager of the dive shop, everything was great. Frequently I find hotel rooms with mattresses that are mushy or just soft. The ones in the room I was in was perfect. No issues sleeping on these beds. Loved the pool, the Palisades restaurant and everything in between. Go and stay.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are a bit more expensive, but since getting there is half the battle, get one. Period.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

There are not many choices of hotels on the island but fort young was excellent. The staff was friendly. The activities desk lady, Sonya, just wasnt that great at helping me zero in on what I wanted to do on the island. She was a very nice lady but not a good salesperson or marketing. Everyone i encountered was friendly, well dressed and professional.
The restaurant was extremely slow. The manager really needs to figure out what the problem is.
The view from my room was breathtaking.
There were 5 kittens hanging around the bar. If you go there, please check on them. They need to find a home and food.

Room Tip: Our friends upgraded to a beachfront room. However i had a room where i could still see the ocean but had flowers in the foreground. My room made better puctures. Ask for a room away from the cruise ships coming in.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want to stay in one of the worlds best kept secret old style colonial hotel , equal to Raffels or Sheperds , then immerse your self here ! its very colonial , and the view from the dining balcony, up the waterfornt overlooking the hustle and bustle of island life is absorbing !Yes cruise ships come and go very close by the hotel but that adds to the charm , reminders of days of ocean liners etc ! and they all go by 6pm
Make sure you get a room on the front mid way betwen pool and restaurant 2nd floor is good if you like the sound of the ocean , sleep with the doors open, they have good mozzie screens !
The staff and restaurant staff are so charming and helpful and the place has an air of calm effiency .
Travellers advice 1. dont come to Dominica by LIAT its appalling and best avoided if you can ! there is a modern efficient ferry service up and down islands which works well and does not loose luggage and runs on time !
2Rather than use the laxadaysical tour operator based in the hotel , go down to the waterfont when the ships are not in and talk to the taxi drivers who are happy to give you a set dayrate and give tours , there great fun , totally safe , and cheaper than throught the hotel activity desk .
3 wander the lanes of Rouseau , its charming and very safe , saturdays meat fish and veg market is a great sight , but make sure you have a strong stomach in the meat section!
4 Hundreds of eateries around town , and one pot cooking is delicious, dont be afraid to try local cuisine they are good with clenliness .
Dont forget your hiking boots , its an amazing hiking island and much to do.

Room Tip: 2nd floe sea facing are very special !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If I'm grading in comparison to other options in Roseau or Dominica, it's more of a 5. If it's in comparison to other Caribbean, North American, or boutique places in Dominica, it's more of a 3. It worked really well for me, as I was in Dominica for work and only had a short time for fun. Roseau is a good jumping off spot for the Boiling Lake, and inside the hotel is Khatts Tours, and they are awesome. I was only there for a couple nights, and stuck with cheap fare, and that was pretty good, so I assume the nicer meals in the restaurant are likely very good. For Roseau, it was good. The WiFi is mostly pretty good, but I overheard a number of fellow American's complaining about it over breakfast and that you can hear a lot of activity in the halls (although it's rare). If you're expecting a quality similar to what you'd fined in the Virgin Islands, this ain't it. If you understand that Dominica is one of the less developed islands in the Caribbean, you'll be VERY HAPPY with your stay at Ft. Young.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ocean front bar. I'm not sure how often they have live bands there, that can be a distraction. However, that was only one night for me, and they wrapped-up by 10pm (or I think sooner).
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at the Fort Young for a conference I was helping to organise. The staff were amazing- very helpful and flexible. Helped us to pull everything together- often at the last minute. Location is great- fantastic waterfront views and the restaurant and terrace areas have the perfect backdrops for events.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews