We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at Fort Young over the Easter weekend and I must say the experience was a very good one. There were one or two aspects that could have used a little improvement, for instance the juice bar, where I couldn't get the drink that I most times will drink but still it did have a good variety of drinks. The staff was great; friendly, courteous, always willing to assist and very accommodating and there was one young lady who to me most demonstrated those attributes. Miss Lovely Sanchez, was really my first contact with the staff after the reception area, and really everything else was compared to the standard that she set. She was just as her name says "Lovely" and I am sure I'm not the only guest who was greatly impressed by her commitment and dedication to her job. All in all it was a really wonderful experience and I will be returning to Dominica and Fort Young Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    352
    103
    35
    14
See reviews for
114
277
55
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were able to get a room for 4 nights after walking out of a poor nearby hotel we originally booked. Our seafront room was large and very comfortable and staff could not be more helpful. The Waterside Restaurant overlooking sea is very pleasant with good food, although the limited nightly menu options don't change so if you are staying more than a night or two need to explore elsewhere. Talitha in the restaurant was particularly engaging and friendly. Quite expensive, but likely to be the best available in Roseau area. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Dominica and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed a couple of nights at Fort Young Hotel. We were immediately charmed by the kindness of the staff, from the waiter at the bar to the reception and restaurant. All staff took very good care of us, naturally checking on us when appropriate, chatting with us in a welcoming way.
The room was very clean and had a great view.
Breakfast was good with a large choice until a certain time. (Buffet is open from 7.00 AM to 10.00 AM but was almost empty when we got there at 9.00 AM)
Fresh omelettes which you can customize at your choice were delicious.
The overall atmosphere is remarkably friendly. The hotel is ideally located.
We enjoyed two dinners at Fort Young Hotel and our experience was all positive.
A major advantage is that they also offer different excursions at reasonable prices. We went to a 7 hour hiking journey with a guide which was all organized by the hotel (transportation and guide) it was a fantastic experience.
We definitely consider staying at Fort Young Hotel again should we pass by Dominica in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter-230283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I spent four days in Dominica in March, a welcome contrast to the brutal winter in our home city of Toronto. From the phone call I made in January to book our room, I had a very positive feeling about the hotel and this first impression was accurate. We had an ocean view room in the new wing overlooking the harbour. We expected a pleasant room for the price, but our eyes popped out when we first entered our room. It was gorgeous. And it was very, very comfortable. The landscaping is out of this world.The dining room is positively outstanding and the service could not be any more efficient or charming. The hotel is embedded in the history of the capital Roseau and culturally it provides a great integration with the surrounding town and culture.

My husband and I have wanted to hike in Dominica for years and we finally got our acts together to go. Ken's Hinterland Tours, located in the hotel, is an amazing outfit and we managed to hike to the Boiling Lake, a very demanding trail but not to be missed, because of their excellent guide Kenan. Dominica, beyond its extraordinary natural beauty, is also home to the small remaining population of Caribe Indians, once dominant in the Caribbean. Our guide Kent, a Caribe from the reserve, lead us on a very insightful hike on our first day.

Sonia, from the Activity Desk, knows the island and all its amenities better than anyone else. We found ourselves at a wonderful little local restaurant one evening, thanks to her. She is outstanding at fitting the activity to the visitor, extremely patient, and very, very accommodating.

My husband and I fell head over heels in love with Dominica and will always stay at the Fort Young Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. There is no bad view in Dominica, but the harbour, ocean and the surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place is class. From the beautiful sights and views of the ocean, especially at sunset, to the friendly people and good food and a great bar. This place is the place to stay. There is not much in Roseau, but don't let that fool you. The reason to go there is for the nature and the diving. Loved the island and the hotel. From the welcome we received from the hotel when we arrived, to the manager of the dive shop, everything was great. Frequently I find hotel rooms with mattresses that are mushy or just soft. The ones in the room I was in was perfect. No issues sleeping on these beds. Loved the pool, the Palisades restaurant and everything in between. Go and stay.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are a bit more expensive, but since getting there is half the battle, get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

There are not many choices of hotels on the island but fort young was excellent. The staff was friendly. The activities desk lady, Sonya, just wasnt that great at helping me zero in on what I wanted to do on the island. She was a very nice lady but not a good salesperson or marketing. Everyone i encountered was friendly, well dressed and professional.
The restaurant was extremely slow. The manager really needs to figure out what the problem is.
The view from my room was breathtaking.
There were 5 kittens hanging around the bar. If you go there, please check on them. They need to find a home and food.

Room Tip: Our friends upgraded to a beachfront room. However i had a room where i could still see the ocean bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want to stay in one of the worlds best kept secret old style colonial hotel , equal to Raffels or Sheperds , then immerse your self here ! its very colonial , and the view from the dining balcony, up the waterfornt overlooking the hustle and bustle of island life is absorbing !Yes cruise ships come and go very close by the hotel but that adds to the charm , reminders of days of ocean liners etc ! and they all go by 6pm
Make sure you get a room on the front mid way betwen pool and restaurant 2nd floor is good if you like the sound of the ocean , sleep with the doors open, they have good mozzie screens !
The staff and restaurant staff are so charming and helpful and the place has an air of calm effiency .
Travellers advice 1. dont come to Dominica by LIAT its appalling and best avoided if you can ! there is a modern efficient ferry service up and down islands which works well and does not loose luggage and runs on time !
2Rather than use the laxadaysical tour operator based in the hotel , go down to the waterfont when the ships are not in and talk to the taxi drivers who are happy to give you a set dayrate and give tours , there great fun , totally safe , and cheaper than throught the hotel activity desk .
3 wander the lanes of Rouseau , its charming and very safe , saturdays meat fish and veg market is a great sight , but make sure you have a strong stomach in the meat section!
4 Hundreds of eateries around town , and one pot cooking is delicious, dont be afraid to try local cuisine they are good with clenliness .
Dont forget your hiking boots , its an amazing hiking island and much to do.

Room Tip: 2nd floe sea facing are very special !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
9.9 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing