We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been Staying Here for 8 Years - Excellent”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

. I don’t usually fill in reviews but over the past 8 years I have stayed at the FYH each time I go on Business Trips to Dominica. It is really the hotel of choice in Dominica especially for someone who wants to be in the heart of the Island. The staff are very caring and looking to please., the hotel is perfect for business as it relates to location, transportation, access to food, access to conference rooms and the suites are perfect for private meetings…If you are going to Dominica you will want to stay at The Fort Young Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent our weeklong trip bouncing around Dominica and decided to upgrade our stay in Roseau after spending a few days at a less than stellar guest house. The staff at Ft. Young could not have been more accomodating and worked with us on our requests, as well as handled getting our bags in our room while we went on our hike. The room was fantastic, and the service at this place is the best in Roseau. Do yourself a favor and come straight to the Ft. Young.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our rooms were spacious and clean, appointed with lovely fabrics and had balconies that overlooked the ocean. We were able to connect with taxis and even walk to the downtown area. The restaurant of the hotel served a delicious breakfast each morning. The continental breakfast (a better value than the regular breakfast) included fresh pineapple and coconut which were both so good I had to have them every day. Evenings there was live music at the ocean side restaurant which we enjoyed very much. The pool area was delightful and a nice place to have lunch delivered. The business center was so helpful when we needed computer support. Dinners were expensive in the restaurant. The bar had some really good salad which we had 3 times! The smoked marlin was delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section which I hear is nicest. Our room had such a beautiful dressing area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay at your Hotel during a business trip and I can rate the services provided by Staff and front desk as excellent.
This service was enhanced, especially from the quality attention provided by one Ms. Talitha during lunch on Thursday May 8 2014

An exceptional employee.

Room Tip: Rooms with beach view is great for viewing especially the early mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located and sits right on the water. You can walk to the market, restaurants, and boardwalk from here. Spectacular ocean view from my room. The room was clean, comfortable, and roomy. Free internet is always appreciated! I just wish the room had blackout curtains, for the sun shines bright and early. The hotel has a weird layout with different staircases going everywhere, and figuring out which floor has what amenities is interesting. But that adds to the charm and quirkiness of the place. Staff were excellent, always willing to help. I was not impressed with the restaurants, however, for I found the food rather bland and overpriced. I would recommend eating in town for better food.

If you hate cats, this might not be the place for you. A few joined me on my balcony while I was watching the sunset. Also, they hang out at the bar a lot and can be persistent about getting your attention.

Bring bug spray...... mosquitos are everywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Don't get me wrong, it is the best place in town. Built on top of an old fort it has been expanded over the years. A bit of a labyrinth to find things. But its centrally located in Roseau with everything within walking distance. Yes, the cruise ship dock is almost next to the hotel, for those that like to watch tourists its kind of fun. The restaurant is good, they always have whatever fresh fruit is in season on the island.

Don't expect a big tourist area, Roseau is a real town with churches, schools and local shops, take time to wander around everything. Go up to the Botanical Gardens, where they have Dominica parrots. Visit the museum, eat at the many local restaurants and remember to drink Kubuli.

Room Tip: An ocean front room located close the pool are further from the cruise ships, also rooms looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoCofresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My family and I visit Fort Young's Lobby Bar every time we come to visit family! ASK FOR SERGE! he makes THE BEST RUM PUNCH ever!!!

You can use the pool for $20 a day if you are not staying there! Great food and drinks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themomomomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
20.8 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: £107 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing