We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop in Dominica”
Review of Champagne Beach

Champagne Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Mega Bite Volcano Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great stop in Dominica”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved our visit to Champagne Reef. Took the local bus which stops right at the entrance and used Irie Safari to rent our snorkeling equipment. It's quite a rocky walk to the water so make sure to take your shoes with you to the water. There is no beach for sunning but there is a little deck at Irie that you can lounge around if you wish. The reef had a lot of fish and other activity and the bubbles were bazaar and cool! Very different experience than other snorkeling trips - we went during off season so had the place to ourselves.

also, the stand here is a fantastic choice for lunch. our favorite meal of the week long trip to dominica was here!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    161
    60
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rocky”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very rocky, make sure you wear water shoes! Great for snorkeling and scuba diving though! Not so much for sunning

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alyspence92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sorry, can't drink it!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've snorkel a lot as an islander....this beach was worth getting of the cruise to visit, we stopped and sight see along the way and visited more...a worthwile outing...now to the bubbles !!! yep it is as they tell you, a sparkling reef...only to see, sorry....champagne back on board the Celebrity Summit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank waldobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rocks! But great snorkeling”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stopped here, and getting into the water is a big problem (rocks are slippery) but once you are in the snorkeling is fabulous. Make sure you have some very good water sandals or shoes, because they are a big help with the rocks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nerrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“another of the world's most interesting tourist attractions”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Champagne Reef is just another of the world's most interesting tourist attractions. A mixture of hot and warm bubbles coming from the bottom of the sea, is what makes it a Champagne Reef. The reason for these bubbles are due to the volcanic activity which goes on beneath the surface of the sea bed.
Irie Safarie at the entrance of Champagne Reef can rent you the snorkel equipment you need and has friendly guides to help you locate the best bubbles.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HansSchilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champagne Beach also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Champagne Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing