We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reyno Day Tours

Reyno Day Tours
dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We actually had wanted to tour with another group (more highly rated) during our day in Dominica, but we are so glad that we got to go with Reyno Tours. We were able to go on a private tour with just our family (of five). We were able to beat the crowds at Champagne Reef and Titou Gorge. We were so happy about that, as we saw larger tours pulling up just as we were leaving both places. One of the tour vans was with the company that we had originally planned to use - really glad that Reyno worked out!

Desmond was our guide and he was terrific - full of information about the island. Our teenagers loved the Titou Gorge adventure, and we all enjoyed the Champagne Reef. We also stopped by the Botanical Gardens and the Sulphur Springs.

Two notes: Bring plenty of cash as the price of the tour did not include entrance fees and equipment rental. Second, wear water shoes as there are a lot of rocks to climb over at the Champagne Reef and the Gorge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dallasfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour With Kerwin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Got off the ship and found Reyno in a few minutes. He then introduced us to our guide, Kerwin. We started off with a drive around the town, with Kerwin explaining some of the history of the buildings. We then went for a ride to see a few other places and then into the mountains. We got some amazing photos of the rainforest and falls. Kerwin was able to speak on many other aspects about the island and Caribbean history that most tourists probably wouldn't think to ask. The tour was the highlight of our 10 day cruise. I would definitely recommend them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drsnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arranged for a private tour with Reyno Private Day Tours. We made our reservation via email about two months before our cruise. We were instructed to get off the ship as soon as possible and look for a security guard in a brown uniform. We found him and he immediately call Reyno. Our driver/guide was Desmond. Desmond was so knowledgable and interesting. We spent three and half hours touring the island. When Desmond spotted a fruit tree, he would stop the vehicle, pick us a fresh fruit and cut it up for us to eat. It was wonderful. I highly recommend Reyno tours and especially Desmond. Desmond is a great guide, very personable, knowledgeable and a pleasure to be with as an individual.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pointhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reyno Tours--horrible , unreliable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Do not book your tours of dominica with reyno tours. I arrived in dominica on 1/22/14 off a cruise ship. I had arranged with reyno, several weeks before, to give us a tour to specific sites, We had agreed on a price, he instructed us to get off the ship as quickly as possible and meet him as you exit the secured area and he would be there or a guard would get him. When we got off he was not there. Another guide called him and I spoke to him. He said he was at the other port waiting for others and did not know when he would arrive. This was at least 15 minutes after we disembarked. He basically chose to renege on our tour because he probably had arranged anothe tour with more people on a different ship. We were left stranded based upon his total lack of honesty. We had relied on this arrangement and he never showed up. I would never rely or use Reyno , buyer beware!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank alan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SO glad we went with Reyno!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I had the opportunity to spend the day with Reyno and Crisca seeing the beautiful island of Dominica while we were on a cruise last week. Instead of the overcrowded, generic shore excursions offered by the cruise line, we had an intimate group that moved at our own pace, got to see so many parts of the island-- in fact more than originally discussed when we were arranging the tour. We were slow making our arrangements and almost didn't get in- but at the very last minute Reyno had room for us-- and we are SO GLAD he did!

The trip was, as I mentioned, customized so we could see what we wanted- so we spent a good portion of the day inland, seeing things like Emerald Pool, Jacko Falls (in this guy's backyard!), Mr. Nice's Fruit Stand (a definite highlight), the Botanical Gardens, Hot Mineral Springs (Tia's- cheaper and more private than Screws!), and the highlight- snorkeling Champagne Reef!! The rest of the people on our tour (who were from our ship but not with us) didn't want to go snorkeling, so Reyno dropped us off to snorkel and took them back to the boat. One thing to note is that the cost you pay Reyno covers the transportation, beverages, and the guide service, but for each attraction you visit, there is typically some nominal fee. You definitely need to bring cash to cover entry fees, food, and souvenirs- and it's best to bring smaller bills. Most entry fees were about $3-5, and I don't think anything was more than $10 USD. (You could use Eastern Caribbean Dollars too.)

While Reyno drove, Crisca was our guide- providing a wealth of knowledge about the island. Both of them were very friendly and passionate about their beautiful homeland. (Everybody on the island was as warm and welcoming). They have warm senses of humor and make you feel at home immediately.

I couldn't imagine seeing Dominica any other way, and can't wait to go back to see more of the Nature Island with the best guides ever!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeegleMeegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reyno Day Tours also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Reyno Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing