We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocoa cottage : Beautiful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocoa Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocoa Cottages
Ranked #1 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cocoa cottage : Beautiful !”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I went for a week to Cocoa Cottage, we stayed in the Patchouli room. It was very nice. Cocoa cottage is not a big resort, its small and lovely. The owners, Iris and her partners were very nice hostess/host.The food is exelent and breakfast is every morning a blast.
The atmosphere at the cottage feels relaxing. The surrounding is beautiful, everywere you look its green, the sound of water-frogs and birds is 24 hours a day.We for sure reccommend this place! Greetings from the Netherlands.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hermien h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    30
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
143
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The good - This place is beautiful and secluded and peaceful.

The bad - the food situation is sorely lacking. We stayed for two nights and dinner was not made either night. I don't believe that breakfast and lunch were either. We would haveliterally starved if not for the wonderful restaurant next door (Sunshine Cottage), If you do not have a car and it is not one of the nights that Sunshine Cottage is open, you had better bring a suitcase full of Snickers.

In addition, my girlfriend reserved the Foufou room more than three months before our trip. Upon our arrival, we were shown to the inferior and much less private Pachouli Room and told that someone had wanted to stay an extra day in the Foufou and blah blah. We were not having it and had to wait an hour while those people were moved.

There is very little privacy in this place. There was an open air window that connected our bathroom to the one next door and had we wanted to open the curtain (only on our side) and watch our neighbours in the shower, we could have.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeoMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sperryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We really loved Cocoa Cottages---great vibe, great host, great location. Our room and bed were comfortable and the view and the sounds of nature were wonderful. The location is fantastic---we were very close to all the must-see spots near Roseau and convenient to several hot spring spas where we could take a dip at night. Iris set up a Boiling Lake hike for us with Nahdjih, who was a really knowledgeable and personable guide. Well worth the fee and the effort of a long, grueling hike!

We ate most of our meals at Cocoa Cottages as well. The food was tasty, more than ample, and prepared with care. We enjoyed trying some local specialties as well as some creative, eclectic dishes. And oh, the chocolate! We made sure to bring some home with us as well.

If I had to pick one thing that was less than perfect (which is difficult), my only complaint would be the road noise. Our room (Fou Fou) was right by the road and the noise of trucks and other loud vehicles woke us up very early each morning. That was really the only time we noticed it. Of course, this is not Iris' fault---as the roads are being improved, the traffic increases. If you stay in one of the cabins further away from the road, it would probably not be noticeable (or bring earplugs if you want to sleep later). We loved Cocoa Cottages and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glbtrttr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langnau am Albis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We arrived late after our hiking trip cross the island, we were very pleased to reach the cottage and couldn’t wait to enjoy some dinner after a shower. First we were surprised about the very nice room and the lovely balcony. Unfortunately there was no food available. The owner told us that she is too tired to cook today. The situation was very unfortunately because we had no car and we didn’t know that there was no restaurant near the cottage. After asking for help, the owner drove us to the next restaurant. It was nice and we were thankful for this help.

Pro
- Nice rooms
- Good breakfast

Contra
- If the owner doesn’t cook and you don’t have a car it could be a nightmare to find a place to eat. The owner didn’t cook on both days as we stayed there.
- Internet was available, but 10US for 2 nights it’s much too expensive
- The property is built very nice and lovely but the price is too high. The same with the breakfast, it was nice but for the same price we were able to eat a 5 course dinner with wine on a local property.
- There is a scareful dog who walks free around the property, normally we like dogs but this one was not our kind of dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caviezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A wonderful place! If Dominica is your kind of island than you would love the Cocoa cottages! Personal, loving an peaceful with great people and excellent food :-) Close to the hot springs, Trafalgar falls and good starting point for many walks. You will enjoy it either if you come alone as I did or with a company. Breakfasts and dinners are served at a big communal table where you can connect with the lovely owners and the other visitors.
I know that I will be back...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefloatingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Based on other Trip Advisor reviews, we stayed at Cocoa Cottages for 4 nights. And, we are really glad we chose this place. First of all the cottages are beautiful and each of the 5 cottages/rooms are unique and distinct. This is not your standard hotel or even B&B. The cottages afford a lot of privacy and ours had a big deck/balcony which looked out onto the mountain-side. There are big trees and lots of vegetation all around you. The room was airy with windows on all sides. The bathroom was a bit small, but plenty good enough. The shower was the instant heater kind and if you are looking for a hot shower, be prepared for low volume of water. A minor inconvenience. Second...the people. Iris and her team are very welcoming and helpful. They will give you all the advice and suggestions needed, and even make reservations etc. as they can. We even had our rental car organized by Iris. We were treated more like friends, rather than guests! The open kitchen was a great place to hang out with the hosts as well as other guests, especially at meal times. Meals are a bit on the expensive side, but, considering that they are freshly cooked, using local ingredients and this is on a small island far away from nearby landmasses, they are not a bad deal. Oh! there is wireless internet too - for a nominal one-time charge (not a daily charge like the big hotels). All in all, it was a great experience in itself, staying at Cocoa Cottages. We would highly recommend it. And, did we mention the cocoa tea!!

Room Tip: We had the Honeymoon Suite, but, from what we saw other rooms were as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I spent 14 days loving the place. The food, the vibes, the warmth, location, and tenderness and attention by Iris who helps run the place -- everything was perfect. It's not like staying at a hotel or a B&B. The kindness of everyone involved makes you feel you are staying with family. I truly cannot give cocoa cottages a high enough rating (they even make their own slamming chocolate) and I tend to hate staying in hotels because of their corporate vibe. Cocoa cottages is the best possible place I could have picked in Dominica. I love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
17.4 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
812 reviews
2.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
20.6 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
144 reviews
11.5 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottages

Property: Cocoa Cottages
Address: Roseau Valley | en route to Trafalgar falls, Roseau 0001, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cocoa Cottage--Dominica Mind Body Adventure. Cocoa Cottage is an artistic guest house located in the heart of the Roseau Valley, only a few miles from town but worlds apart. This valley is home to many waterfalls, sulfur pools, rivers, and various trails, all within minutes' drive of the cottage. Cocoa Cottage is imaginative, earthy, rustic and whimsical, a fine gentle touch with rough edges. It is a perfect union of all that nature offers. Our kitchen provides food for the soul, using the plentiful offerings of our island. At any time you'll find yourself deep in lively conversation with someone you just met, connecting, sharing, inspiring and being inspired. We adopt eco- friendly daily practices as a way of connecting with ourselves, with one another, and with the world around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Cocoa Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Cottages Hotel Roseau
Cocoa Cottages Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing