We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Cocoa Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocoa Cottages
Ranked #1 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Cocoa Cottages. Beautiful, clean, comfortable lodging in a location near to the major sites in Roseau Valley. Iris is a wonderful host that puts in the extra effort and attention to make both your stay and your entire experience of Dominica that much better.
Great stuff. Come and see for yourself. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FishLife17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Cocoa Cottages are not far from Roseau. I stayed there with a group that was out on the ocean
most days so coming back to the rainforest was a welcome contrast. The rooms are decorated with artistic touches, beds comfortable, swings to relax in, a river to walk down and see. The food is really fantastic. Served family style and you eat around big round tables that used
to be reels for telephone cables. Lots of choices of sides for vegetarians. Iris knows her cooking.
Very nourishing. Very fresh. Always varied. Always delicious.. Never fattening. There is
just a great vibe here. A very welcoming atmosphere. Iris puts her heart into things and it shows.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at Cocoa Cottages for our 19 year anniversary. We did a lot of research and decided we would give it a go as it was close to Roseau and the sites we wanted to hit. We wanted to break up our stay to the southern part of the island the beginning half of the week and then work our way up north, so we booked for three nights there.
Upon arrival, they showed us to our room, which is very nice and cozy, then we gathered around a big table for a meal. Iris and the girls are wonderful cooks. We all sat around the table and discussed what our first full day would entail. Iris was very helpful in that area as well. She even made us a wonderful lunch to take on our journey to Boiling Lake. She gently suggested to take it easy and, FYI, I would advise that if you are going to make the trek to Boiling Lake that you do so at the end of your trip as it is a grueling hike and we were sore for the next four days...and we are very active people.
Iris took us around the place, showed us how they sustain on what they grow and catch. She has a wonderful supply of cocoa beans (which we stocked up on) and makes the most amazing chocolates.
We really grew to love the place and hated to leave. In fact, we decided to stay an extra night. It was a very homey and comfortable, clean, accommodating place. They are always available with questions, very friendly and helpful. If you are going that far away from home, it is a very welcome feel. If we go back, we will definitely stay there again and would highly, highly recommend a stay there. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Iris, we miss you! Peace, love, and Dominica!
Walt and Mandy Pearson

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel and its room are cosy, located in peaceful area good distance away from Roseau. The place is clean and rooms are just beautiful. We had there breakfast and dinner, both of which were Locally made with lot of fruits and vegetables. The place is conveniently located from Trafargar Falls and The sulphur spas. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Attracted by favourable reviews and its convenient location, we booked four nights here but did not feel at all comfortable and left after one night, As a middle aged couple we felt there was a lack of privacy, and it just was not for us. There was rather an awkward atmosphere when we said that sadly we would be leaving the next day, so awkward that we felt it better to get breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My husband and I went for a week to Cocoa Cottage, we stayed in the Patchouli room. It was very nice. Cocoa cottage is not a big resort, its small and lovely. The owners, Iris and her partners were very nice hostess/host.The food is exelent and breakfast is every morning a blast.
The atmosphere at the cottage feels relaxing. The surrounding is beautiful, everywere you look its green, the sound of water-frogs and birds is 24 hours a day.We for sure reccommend this place! Greetings from the Netherlands.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermien h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The good - This place is beautiful and secluded and peaceful.

The bad - the food situation is sorely lacking. We stayed for two nights and dinner was not made either night. I don't believe that breakfast and lunch were either. We would haveliterally starved if not for the wonderful restaurant next door (Sunshine Cottage), If you do not have a car and it is not one of the nights that Sunshine Cottage is open, you had better bring a suitcase full of Snickers.

In addition, my girlfriend reserved the Foufou room more than three months before our trip. Upon our arrival, we were shown to the inferior and much less private Pachouli Room and told that someone had wanted to stay an extra day in the Foufou and blah blah. We were not having it and had to wait an hour while those people were moved.

There is very little privacy in this place. There was an open air window that connected our bathroom to the one next door and had we wanted to open the curtain (only on our side) and watch our neighbours in the shower, we could have.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeoMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
2.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
875 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
18.7 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
17.4 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottages

Address: Roseau Valley | en route to Trafalgar falls, Roseau 0001, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: £76 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cocoa Cottage--Dominica Mind Body Adventure. Cocoa Cottage is an artistic guest house located in the heart of the Roseau Valley, only a few miles from town but worlds apart. This valley is home to many waterfalls, sulfur pools, rivers, and various trails, all within minutes' drive of the cottage. Cocoa Cottage is imaginative, earthy, rustic and whimsical, a fine gentle touch with rough edges. It is a perfect union of all that nature offers. Our kitchen provides food for the soul, using the plentiful offerings of our island. At any time you'll find yourself deep in lively conversation with someone you just met, connecting, sharing, inspiring and being inspired. We adopt eco- friendly daily practices as a way of connecting with ourselves, with one another, and with the world around us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocoa Cottages Hotel Roseau
Cocoa Cottages Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing