We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pizza”
Review of Sunshine Cottage

Sunshine Cottage
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in Roseau
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sunshine Cottage in only 10 minutes away from the Capital of Roseau, on the main road to the beautiful Trafalgar Falls. Sunshine Cottage offers a unique an private mountain view. We are pleased to serve you fresh, organically grown vegetarian and/or vegan dishes only ! We recently just added a cottage to rent on the same site as the restaurant, by the same name: Sunshine Cottage is a modern, well built, cosy and comfortable house in the middle of the rainforest of the Roseau Valley. It has two bedrooms with Queen size beds, one bath with Italian shower, a cosy living room and open plan kitchenette (with sink, coffee/tea maker and fridge). The Cottage and the Restaurant are surrounded on all sides by the rainforest, tropical flowers and many different fruit trees. It's the perfect place to relax, reconnect with nature and with one another or simply live life !
Fort Morgan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was a treat to find such a great pizza in Dominica. The group I was with enjoyed or meals so much we went back for a second time within a weeks time. The restaurant and property was exceptionally clean and after meeting the owners I'm confident it will be that way for every customer for years to come. I will be back when in Dominica.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gogokayakguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine C, Manager at Sunshine Cottage, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comment. Customer satisfaction is our priority. It was a pleasure to meet and to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
U.S. Virgin Islands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in a great location!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Sunshine Cottage is a wonderfully located vegetarian restaurant and pizzeria. The covered veranda has plenty of seats and great ambiance. The calabash lamps add a wonderful touch thanks to Sabine's creativity. Marcus is just as creative with his pizza; baked in a wood fire brick oven with a great crust and fresh ingredients. Sabine is in charge of anything green in the restaurant and does delicious salads and other veggie fare to complement the pizza. We have already eaten there twice and we have been on island only 9 days!

Thanks Sabine & Marcus

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine C, Owner at Sunshine Cottage, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was my pleasure to meet and to serve you and I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in an Unlikely Place”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I once worked at my Grandfather's pizza joint in the south burbs of Chicago, I know good pizza. This is not good pizza, this is AMAZING pizza! 98% of the US doesn't have access to pizza this good. I know, you're from New York, blah blah blah, you have no idea how good pizza can be. Stop here. Eat as much of their pizza as you can. Thank me later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaserhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine C, Owner at Sunshine Cottage, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet and to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional pizza in the rainforest”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Handmade pizza in a wood fired oven using the freshest ingredients. The covered patio was well built and comfortably furnished. The owners were delightful and most gracious hosts. If we had tried this earlier during our trip I am certain we would have made a repeat visit for the pasta entrees which you need to order in advance,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseLarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine C, Owner at Sunshine Cottage, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review ! It was a pleasure to serve and meet you ! Hope to see you again if Liat makes it possible.....:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatka, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crusty pizzy, friendly hosts, fab view.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Looking out from the terrace at the lovely valley view one notices the quality and care put into the restaurant. Everything is built with beauty and safety in mind. Our pizza was excellent (fresh, just right) and I liked the appetizer which arrived without asking, a new recipe most delicious: toasted coconut slivers, which I had never seen before.

I wish Sabine and Marcos had time to sit down and join us for a drink! Maybe next time --

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SailboatDagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine C, Owner at Sunshine Cottage, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to serve you ! And yes, I hope to find the time on your next visit to sit down with you and have a drink or two :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunshine Cottage also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Sunshine Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing