We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lobster in Dominica!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Ranked #5 of 20 Roseau B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best lobster in Dominica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Had the famous lobster meal. The size of the portions was incredible and with unlimited fries and rice. Probably one of the best seafood places in Dominica. Very popular with tourists and Ross University students too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cs95aam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Sunset Bay Club and that you enjoyed the Lobster meal. We do hope you return soon. All the best in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    43
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
43
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The resort is lovely and quiet with terrific food and gracious hosts. The diving was beautiful and the dive staff was great. Jorge is an excellent guide and fun to be around. Rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltyNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
We thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that your vacation was satisfactory and your time spent here at the Sunset Bay Club is memorable.. Here we put all our energy into satisfying your needs. Thank you and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again on our little paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspiran, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Our fourth stay at this hotel: Marcella and Roger, our guests and all the staff are always attentive to customers. The rooms could certainly use a little refresh, but the lobsters are still excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your Kind words. Its always a pleasure to welcome you when ever you visit. Our goal is to maintain a good Customer service every time you come...

Warm greetings and hospitable smiles from Roger & Marcella along with all the Staff as we await your return.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

On the coast of Dominica with a small but nice beach (direct access) we found ourselves for four nights in a resort filled with the spirits of hostess Marcella and host Roger who truly care for their guests. Room spacious, simple but well equipped, neat and clean. Food made with love and really great taste, look and feel; served by ladies who connect with the guest. You chill out and relax, enjoy an atmosphere of Dominica which is authentic and invites to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ines L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Pubic Relations at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are indeed happy that your time spent with us was enjoyable we certainly did enjoy your company.
Our doors are always to you our valued friend when ever you choose to visit the lovely nature Island.
We send you greetings from all the staff here at Sunset Bay Club. and we wait anxiously to welcome you again on our little paradise island.

Seasons greetings to you and your family.

Best wishes from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We arrived in Dominica at 7:30 p.m., local time after traveling for 18 hrs. The trip from the airport in the dark and falling rain was not for the faint of heart, especially considering that we were tired and hungry.

We were happy to see the lights of the resort from a distance. We expected the tedium of the check-in and to have missed dinner, but, to our amazement, we were greeted by Marcella, one of the owners who suggested that we eat first and complete the check-in in the morning. The food was great that night, as it was for an offered 3 meals a day every day. It took a couple days to realize that we would be consistently offered more delicious food than we could eat, prepared in a style with Belgian and Caribbean influences. Roger (Marcella's husband and the other owner), was a chef in Belgium before moving to Dominica 13 years ago.

The rest of the week maintained the feeling of the first night. The owners were consistently visible and very hospitable. The food was consistently very good to excellent. The beach was very secluded and picturesque, though the small to medium round pebbles made walking barefoot a challenge (scuba boots would be handy for swimming at the beach). The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was spare, but comfortable. We were very happy with the lack of a TV.

The roads were a challenge throughout the island because of the potholes, curves, and narrow width. We did not run into problems with crowds from the cruise ships that dock in Roseau, though we knew to ask about that before planning trips.

Our biggest challenge was the arrival of a toddler in the next room a couple nights before we left. The open window nature of the resort meant that we didn't sleep unless the toddler did. That was a minor annoyance, but only minor, since were in an island paradise with great food and an open bar on our all-inclusive package.

I'll be very happy if my travels take me back to the Sunset Bay Beach Club.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for visiting us at Sunset Bay Club. We appreciate your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I travelled to Sunset Bay Club with some friends for a week in February. The grounds were amazingly well kept, the rooms were clean and well maintained. We stayed in the Suite, which is a separate little building. It's a large room, with a large bathroom and a big walk-in shower large enough for two.
As I saw in another review, the water is cold in the morning. All of the water heating that I saw on the property was accomplished by solar, so obviously it will not be warm early in the morning. By late afternoon, there was plenty of warm water for a shower.
SCUBA training was accomplished by an outside contractor, who was very professional and patient. I got exactly the amount of training that I wanted and needed for a short dive, which was all I wanted to accomplish, and the price for this was reasonable.
Dining was outstanding, the Restaurant offers a wide variety of local and international foods, all of which were great. There were usually several choices within the "all inclusive" menu, so if you didn't want to try the local meal you could always have something else that was good. The all inclusive plan includes alcohol, which is a great deal. Beer, wine and several types of mixed drinks available anytime the restaurant is open, which is basically all day every day.
The staff is very helpful, and knowledgeable of the local area. They offered to arrange for transportation, for sightseeing tours, for SCUBA, snorkeling and whale watching.
There is a nice pool and a Sauna, which I did not use.
There is no internet in the rooms, but there is free WIFI near the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkpilot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We enjoyed staying here because it was a nice break from the very basic local food and simple accomodation we had found elsewhere. The meals were really fine. The proprietors are Belgian and there were lots of European people staying here so the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and elegant. Staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
3549.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3566.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
3553.8 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3556.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
3565.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
3566.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Property: Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing