We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Ranked #4 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our dive group stayed here and this place has some problems.

DIVING
They advertise as a dive resort but don't have a full time dive staff. When they have divers, they contract with some freelance Divemasters to do the dives. The boats are very small and slippery. One of our divers slipped getting into the boat and was hurting for both dives and missed the next day. The two Divemasters we had were very good but without organized procedures for gear storage and rentals it's a sloppy operation. They don't have any large shore rinse tanks for gear or an onboard mask bucket.

ROOMS
The rooms are very small with only beds, a closet and a nightstand. They do not have air-conditioning so you must sleep with the windows open. They do have a ceiling fan. Other than a small soap and toilet paper, there are no other toiletries.

SMOKING
Because you have to leave your windows open for ventilation, the smoke from smokers sitting outside their rooms blows through yours. Most guests are European and they tend to do a lot of smoking.

DINING
Some staff isn't very swift at getting orders correct. My cheeseburger came without cheese and my tuna salad came without tuna. One night they were hosting some private parties for the locals and the all-inclusive guests were mostly ignored. We never got desert that night.

CHECK IN STAFF
It doesn't seem like they know what they are doing. They wanted our passport numbers and wrote them all on one piece of paper with no names. Our group had four rooms and they took us around and let us pick from the four rooms. As a result, they had no idea who was in what room.

MANAGEMENT
We had a problem booking transportation to the airport. The owner/manager/wife got upset, yelled at us and never even mentioned that she was sorry. AS a result, one guest had to get up a 4AM and then sit around the airport until 10:15AM.

SANITATION
The restaurant has lots of birds flying around. If the staff sits a drink on the bar, a bird will perch on the rim and drink from the glass. This happens almost all the time. The tap water has silt in it after a rain.

HOT WATER
Hot water for a shower is hit and miss since each building has solar water heating. Better be first to take a shower.

WI-FI
Wi-Fi seemed to work OK one the office was occupied. Sometimes it didn't work overnight.

CLEANING STAFF
It's very obvious that the cleaning staff doesn't like working for the owners, Roger and Marcella. The staff is grumpy and not very friendly.

MAINTENANCE
My toilet was running most of the time.

TOWELS
The towels are very stiff from washing and then line drying. The whites are dirty from the silt in the water.

FOOD
I can't complain about the food as I enjoyed it. However without daily specials, it would get old if staying for a week or more using only the all-inclusive menu.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Try for being the only occupied room in a building so you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about Sunset Bay Club and dive center.
We are sorry to hear your recent experience led you to give us this review.
We certainly feel that our team went overboard in catering to your group and apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We are shocked to see how badly you rated us but will only work harder to address these issues. While some comments are fair and will be addressed, I would like to address some unfair comments.

Upon making reservations, you can see what is offered at our establishment. We have never listed that we have air conditioning and so upon arrival it would be fair enough not to expect it. When we have groups coming in everything is so organized, that we have the names of clients assigned to the room numbers. In your case it was no different.

Transportation was organized with the tour operator at a group rate. Management cannot change this, and if it were to be changed transfers were to be paid separately. We offered you the choice of having it changed but you refused making it no fault of ours.

We are sorry but there is nothing that we can do about nature and the birds that fly around so beautifully. Tap water is filtered by 5 filters and 2 UV lamps to kill all germs. Our All Inclusive Menu is proposed by the chef daily and there are a variety of choices that one can choose from.

What I don't understand is that at your stay here with us you informed us that this was one of your best places of accommodation plus dive and is you told me no manager of any establishment would prepare breakfast at 4 am and to be up and awake at that time to say farewell to their customers while checking out. I don't understand the dissatisfaction now.

We try our best to provide proper service to our customers. You were no exception!

Upon your groups arrival you requested that you be allowed a shore dive. As we had never dived with you it is our policy that a DM or Instructor accompanies you on your first ever dive with us. We have three regular Instructors who work for us on a very regular basis. One of them was able to drop everything and rush over to dive with you. This was done at our expense and from all reports the dive was highly enjoyed and you even saw your first seashore of your trip.

The following two days of diving we had scheduled another instructor to dive with you. From all reports he went to considerable lengths to find sites with good visibility after the nights heavy rains, and sites that were different from what you had seen in 5 days on the South of Dominica. The second day he planned dives based around the best sites that allowed shallower profiles for your flights 18 hours later.
The group seemed pleased with the sites, happy with the quality of the diving and in general good spirits throughout. On the first day while the instructor was ensuring that all divers had all their equipment divers started heading down to the boat. At this point one diver slipped and fell and we regret this accident happened. We will advise our boat captain to ALWAYS ensure that he assists all divers onto the boat. We are not sure what caused this incident but will certainly reinforce passenger boarding procedures to prevent future incidents.

Boats: Sunset Bay club tends to deal with small groups and as such our boats are not as large and roomy as some. However our trips are short, with an average of 5 to 10 minutes by boat.
Instructors: We currently use 3 different instructors who each have extensive knowledge of all of Dominica's dive sites. Between just two of them they have 20,000 dives in Dominica. They have also worked in the past in dozens of different countries and have thousands of student certifications and speak multiple languages. This arrangement has allowed to offer us to offer extremely qualified dive leaders with the ability to please all different clientele.

We recognize that we do not have a large rinse tank, again because we do not concentrate on large groups. We will review how to make improvements here. We will also certainly look at ensuring a mask bucket is on board, along with the usual oxygen, radio, first aid kit, juice, cake and fruit that was on board every day of your trip.

To our knowledge not one of your group rented any equipment. However we do have an extensive selection of rental gear and standard sign out procedures for all rental equipment.

We allowed your group to make shore dives, with no extra charge. Our instructor supplied and cleaned lion fish for your dinner and our chef cooked it for you.
We thought we had delivered a quality experience for your visit but are now motivated to improve any weaknesses in our operation.

We wish you clear waters, good weather and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
46
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here on a dive and stay package, and was the only client for some nights even though it was a "high season". A bit spooky until another guest appeared.
The rooms are basic, OK beds, no hot water, but the wifi works most of the tome.
There is a sauna in the hotel, but it was not heated during my stay.

The owners do not dive, but have other people to run the dive operation. I was lucky to be able to dive with a french dive-instructor and it was excellent: long bottom dives exploring sometimes more than one dive-site, drift-diving, reefs in rather food condition. I also enjoyed having DIN-tanks.

The restaurant is famous for the lobster, which seems to attract the locals, too. I guess that is a good value while many other things were a bit overpriced.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DiverPaivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. At Sunset Bay Club we provide customers with quality service and you were no exception. Even during the high season it can get quiet at times. We're sorry if you felt a little lonely for some time. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

nice little beach, but the hotel is really nothing special: you could find the same thing almost everywhere in the world.
over 150 US$ a night is really to much, when you compare it to other hotels on the island. but what really bothered us: the owner doesn't seem to treat his staff very nicely, the athmosphere was tense. although we liked the nicely kept garden with the iguanas and the big breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanibw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Surprisingly, our establishment is one of the best priced in Dominica. At Sunset Bay Club we try everything in our ability to provide customers with 100% good service hence the reason for the manager always being around to ensure that it is provided to you the clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just came back from there today. Paid 75 EC for a ribeye, 15 EC for a chocolate milkshake, and about 20 EC for a banana split. Everything was great. Asked for the ribeye to be well done with the garlic sauce and it was perfect. The milkshake was very good and I highly recommend it. The banana split was great. The atmosphere is awesome also. They played Caribbean music, salsa, bachata, merengue, and Mexican boleros. I was in heaven the entire time. Plus, the chef and I am guessing owner came over and bought Bacardi Limon shots for us. Everything was awesome. My four friends and myself really enjoyed it. It was dark but the beach looked nice. Did not spend a night here but the prices seem affordable. I think it's about 80 EC per night for two people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed dining with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Try the Grilled Lobster or Grilled Shrimp. The best deal in excellent butter and garlic grolled lobster and shrimp. Amazing quality and a most suprising price. The folks who do this restaurant have an amazing grip on customer service and food preparation!

Room Tip: Definitely get the grilled lobster or shrimp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location of the Sunset Bay is fantastic; it is right on a very beautiful beach, with no neighbours. Two buildings are actually directly overlooking the beach - the dive centre and the restaurant. Consequently, the bungalows with the beach view are actually facing the back side of the restaurant. Sometimes this gets uncomfortable (smell of food or quite a bit of noise, if they are partying late, but you go to bed early), but during our one week stay it was never too bad. Still, you might want to get a room in a second row of rooms.

The garden is packed with wildlife - primarily with large iguanas, but also birds, lizards, crabs, even scorpions. We liked it, but some people might not - so look where you step.

The hotel has a pool, which is very clean and nice.

Dive centre is well organised; diving is good. Dive sites are in some 12-25 minutes by boat. When the sea is rough, surface interval becomes uncomfortable in a small boat - but it is possible to anchor closer to the shore. It is also possible to dive at the house reef.

Restaurant is not too bad, though overpriced. The owners are trying their best to make it attractive, and it seems to be really popular among the locals and expats. This is also the only choice for the residents of the hotel. The food is ok, lobsters are fine and plentiful, mussels - bearable. It seems that the restaurant is trying to focus on European cooking, which is quite challenging, taking into account the location. We would definitely prefer to have more local cuisine.

Finally, we have to mention the staff of the hotel and restaurant. The place would be significantly better, if the staff were better selected, trained, or motivated. We cannot judge, what exactly is lacking, but on several occasions the perfect location and good facilities were overshadowed by negligent attitude of the staff.

Having written all this, I have to confess, that me and my family would be ready to come back again and again - the place is truly awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valts V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay here. We try our best to always keep our clients satisfied. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The manager and staff at Sunset Bay were wonderful.

We scheduled a whale watching tour in June 2013. While we didn't see any whales but we had fun with several pods of dolphins.

We did not stay at the hotel but did try the restaurant which we found to be overpriced and not very good.

We recommended the 'tours' at this dive shop to another family while we were there. Had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YLBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We do hope that you will be back here soon to do more whale watching tours with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
3565.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
864 reviews
3549.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
3566.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Layton Park Hotel
3566.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Layton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Property: Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing