We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half of our trip to Dominica”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Ranked #4 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2007

5 of our 10 day trip to Dominica was spent at the Sunset Bay Club. We felt it was2 days too many at this hotel. The Dive shop and dive staff are firet rate. The diving is easy and beautiful. The hotel is immaculate. What we were dissipointed in is the so called "all inclusive" plan. If you choose this know that you will have a different menu from everbody else. The way we found out was on the first night we were there, the people on the table next to us were dining on a big pile of lobsters the people on the other side of us had big swordfish steaks. We were told we could not have these choices because were on the "All incl "plan and if we did it wld be an extra charge. We had a choice of chicken or steak and a salad. The chicken was one small dried out piece of thigh and the salad was a couple of leaves of lettuce with a pile of shredded carrots in the middle, one slice of tomato, one slice of cucumber, one slice of christophene. The main entre choices are the same every night for the all inclusives. The real menu is varied and interesting and the prices are reasonable. Weactually would have saved money by paying for each meal.The only good thing about "all inclusive is all the alcohol you can drink.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunnyislanddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2007

This resort is a little bit of paradise with old world ambiance. The owners, Roger and Marcella (Madame), are from Belgium and were very friendly and solicitous of our every need. While this resort isn't luxurious the ambiance and the service of the owners and the staff pushed my rating up to the "excellent" level. The resort is meticulously maintained and beautifull landscaped with a wide variety of trees, bushes, flowers, etc.

We were four gentlemen in our 50's/60's who came here specifically for scuba diving. The diving is very good with healthy reefs full of color and a blend of wide angle/macro opportunities for u/w photo and videos. This was the first time I got video of an octopus "inking" me when it was trying to avoid my dive buddy and blundered into me. Also got footage of sea horses, squid, flying gunards, turtles and many colorful reef fish. The house reef excellent for shore dives and night dives. Location of resort allows dive trips to both the north and south ends of the island for the best diving in volcanic caldera's.

We are used to "roughing" it but others may be a little uncomfortable with wading into the water thigh deep on fist sized,rounded rocks and loading their dive gear onto the back of the dive boat. The two boats are "six packs" and, while not spacious, are adequate and fast. Entry is a back roll, exit from water on rear ladder. Dive shop, rinse tank, and hanging rack are onsite by the beach. Gear can be left there safely overnight.

We enthusiastically recommend the all inclusive plan. Roger is a gourmet cook and you will not find better food on the island. Many locals come there for evening dinners.

We will never forget the lobster tail night when we stuffed ourselves with perfectly prepared and seasoned tails. Don't pass up Roger's soups for even one night.!!! Oh, did I mention the desserts!!!

The food and drinks were all first rate and we enjoyed them every day while sitting in the open air restaurant watching the humming birds or on the patio under the almond trees watching the Caribbean and the magnificent sunsets.

On the last day Marcella arranged a whole day tour of the island for us. (She furnishes lunch coolers for longsightseeing, dive, snorkling or whale watching trips.) We visted the emerald pool, beautiful falls, rainforest, hot springs and the town of Rousseau. Excellent trip, but be prepared for narrow, bumpy roads up through the mountains.

If you want luxury go someplace else. If you want a jewel of a small resort and personallized catering to your every need make reservations here!!!!

Thank you Roger and Marcella for a truly unforgettable vacation!!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank scuba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Front Office Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for your review. Customer satisfaction is our motto here at Sunset Bay Club and we will continue to do everything to keep you our valued customers satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2006

I had wanted to stay a decent length of time in Dominica as my only prior experience was three separate days in1972, 2000 and 2001. I fell in love with the place and my stay at Sunset Bay in 2006 for nine nights was the ideal 'billet'.

We were on the very good value All-Inclusive plan. The room was spotlessly clean and ceiling-fans plus anti-insect screens on the windows ensured a good night's sleep. Marcella and Roger were excellent hosts and ran a tight ship, ably assisted by Frédérique and the local staff, all of whom were friendly, -and businesslike, not an adjective one often uses about West Indians! Roger and his wife are Belgian, and I often think Belgians do better than the French at things the French arrogantly think THEY do best. Certainly the cuisine left nothing to be desired - it was uniformly excellent, the highlight being a lobster dish one evening - I thought we had been served with the entire hotel's ration when it came to our table! Breakfast was a daily delight as we watched the humming-birds sipping syrup from the special feeders.

I could say a lot about the wild-life - the owners are very eco-conscious - but I will just mention the iguanas - lovely mini- dinosaurs that nod at you as you pass. With my tender feet I found the stony beach painful to swim from, but it was lovely and peaceful there. We didn't do any diving or whale-watching but we DID have an unforgettable drive into the rain-forest in a Land-Rover owned by one Woody, who took us where no normal vehicle could go. The only thing that went wrong was being stranded in Antigua by CARIBBEAN STAR - (avoid using them like the plague, stick to LIAT) and losing one night's accommodation and meals. Marcella even wrote us a letter to try and claim against them for the lost night!

All in all, a great place - but only tell select friends about it who love nature rather than nightlife!

George and Annie Walker

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2006

Generally agree with previous reviews, food, gardens, pool and staff all very good, beach very rocky however the room is a bit basic for the price. Office at entrance has a small number of books for guests during the stay as well as a few souvenirs and some t-shirts.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikefromguad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

We stayed at Sunset Bay Resort 8/3-8/10 2006- 2 adults and 4 children 20,15,14 and 7 in 2 rooms. Dominica is a beautiful island and Sunset Bay was good base to explore it from. It has a nice location on the caribbean side of the island. The beach is rocky and you need water shoes. The water was clear with lots of fish to see while snorkeling on the left side of beach. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. There is no AC, but nights were cool even in August and it wasn't needed. The rooms are about 200' from the beach and has a steady wind. The whole week bugs where not a problems at resort and we were even more surprised the we did not get eaten alive in rain forests as we expected.We had the AI meal plan. The food was good, but not a lot of selection. Drinks were strong and well stocked. They made local fresh fruit juice that the kids loved. There are nice gardens and a pool in the back of the resort. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. They will even pack you picnic lunches to take with you while you explore Dominica.
We rented a 4x4 and it was quite an adventure driving on the opposite side of road on very narrow, twisty, steep roads. I still think its the best way see the sites. We did the Boiling Lake hike- a must. It almost killed me and the wife, but kids had no problems on the mountian trails. It was worth it, even though kids showed us up! Local Guides costs us $40 to $150 a day, depending upon trip, that Sunset Back set up for us.
Sunset has lots of wildlife on site. We saw lots of humming birds, land crabs and lizards from 4" to 3' everywhere.
If you want a laid back vacation and your interests are nature related-GO. If you are expecting a 5 star resort, that you can just stay on the beach and resort, Sunset Bay and Dominica will not be your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2006

We spent 10 nights at the Sunset Bay. We had the suite, which is a separate cottage towards the rear of the property. I did look in one of the rooms and they were of good size. The location, which is half-way between Rouseau and Portsmouth, was great for touring the island. Because of it's location, I would recommend a car rental. The owners are Belgian, and Roger was a chef. He has trained his kitchen staff very well, so the food is top-notch (He also cooks, himself). His wife, Marcella, manages the hotel. Her staff is also well-trained, and I've rarely seen a cleaner establishment in the Caribbean! No request was too much for them to respond to quickly! The one draw-back is the beach. There is a lot of sand, but there's also a lot of stones, so if you're going to go in swimming, reef shoes are a must. The setting is lovely, with lots of interesting plantings. An addad bonus is the presence of lots of big iguanas! They're very interesting to watch. There's also lots of birds, especially hummingbirds. The pool, unfortunnately, is located at the rear of the property, so it's not handy to use both it and the beach at the same time. On the other hand, the pool has lots of comfortable sun loungers and is a quiet place to swim and read or just soak up the sun. There's a complete dive operation and all-inclusive guests have free use of the snorkle equipment and get to go out on the dive boat for snorkle trips. All in all, guests really receive a lot for a relatively modest amount of money. This is a high-quality operation!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank JoanneOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you made Sunset Bay Club your hotel of choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank alaingP7372BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
3565.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
876 reviews
3566.8 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
3566.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3560.8 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
3549.9 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
3569.2 mi away
Rosalie Bay Resort
Rosalie Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Rosalie
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: £67 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing