We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so cool!!”

Valley of Desolation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.99*
and up
Half Day Jeep Safari
More Info
US$187.50*
and up
Morne Trois Pitons National Park Day Trip from Roseau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A moss and lichen covered valley littered with brightly-colored hot springs, boiling mud and mini-geysers.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“so cool!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is very desolate, haha. I think by the time I got to the Valley of Desolation (on my way to the boiling lake) I was exhausted, but the view is absolutely breathtaking. Again take a guide, but it is worth the walk!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lastephe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hot stuff. The stream took the sap right off my knife. When it merges with the cold stream it creates beutiful pools to sit in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Dominica
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Incredibly beautiful in a desolate, barren way. We got lots of great video of the sulfur springs bubbling up under the ground :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaniandAsif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like a being on Mars”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Amazing an otherworldly a must see on Dominica, with bubbling mud pools, steaming vents, sulphur, and the ground is noticeably warm. Incredbile experience and on of the best volcanically active sites I have personally visited.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Spectacular boiling rivers, gassy geysers and the smell of sulfur all around... Rough track, but negotiable if you're fit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerLaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valley of Desolation also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Dominica, Caribbean
 

Been to Valley of Desolation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing