We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotts Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oceanview Apartments
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A garden full of fruit. Every morning freshly made juices (Passionfruit, Grapefruit, Tamarinde...) on our doorstep. Hummingbirds, turtles, Oceanview Terrace. Caroline and Frank made us feel very welcome and did erverything to make us feel at home. Large, well-equipped, clean and comfortable apartements with kitchen and a porch. Hammock under the trees. Interesting conversations. Great Barbecue. Great location on the southern tip of the island. No through road. Warm atmosphere. That's paradise! We hope to come back. The greatest apartment, we’ve ever had. Caroline and Frank thanks again so much for the wonderful time, we’ve had with you. Johannes & Franziska

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Mr. and Mrs. Charles, we loved staying with you!

My husband and I stayed with Francis and Caroline Charles for almost 2 weeks and we immediately felt that Oceanview in Scott's Head, Dominica was our home away from home. Everyday, Caroline brought us freshly made juices on our doorstep. Seeing them in the fantastic garden and wishing us a warm "good morning" everyday was the best! I can't say enough about the conversations we had, the cocktails on the expansive patios and grounds, warm and friendly atmosphere.

The apartments are clean, spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. We spent most of our time in the lush garden, watching hummingbirds drinking nectar from the biggest hibiscus bushes, picking limes, passion fruit and mangoes from the trees when we wanted some.

We are looking forward to returning to Scott's Head and spending more time with Mr. and Mrs. Charles.

Thank-you so much for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacklin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Dominica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Franklin and Caroline make you feel very welcome. They are the most warmhearted hosts one can wish! Thew are very willing to help with any problems and try to answer all the questions about the island and the every day living on it.
The apartments are lovingly arranged. They have a beautiful garden surrounding the house. A nicely build lookout terrace with view to the Atlantic ocean and the sunset. Not to forget the superb and fresh juices waiting every morning in front of your door.
Caroline and Franklin, both made the 6 days we spend there just feeling like we are at home. Thank you very much for the great time with you.

Room Tip: Apartment Nr.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandfun1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagenham
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

we have just returned from 4 fantastic weeks at oceanview and have to say it really is a little piece of paradise on earth. The host's, Caroline and Frank treated us like part of the family and were a wealth of knowledge about Dominica. The apartments are really lovely, spacious and well equipped and all have there own veranda's and beautiful views of the garden's which are full of fruit tree's, bird's and butterflies. Frank is only too happy to give a tour of his treasured garden which he planted and nurtured from scratch himself. The view of the ocean itself from the stone steps in the corner of the garden is so beautiful with the atlantic on one side and the caribbean sea on the other. We spent many a happy hour here, watching the turtle's swim below and chatting to Caroline and Frank and the other guests. Our host's took us on many trips around the island and it would be hard to pick a favourite but the soufriere sulphur springs, Screw's, the emerald pool, victoria falls and the incredible boiling lake are all complete 'must see's'. All in all it's no wonder that when people are at Oceanview they never want to leave! We can't wait to return in october 2011, thanks Caroline and Frank, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marley67Dagenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Places
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Oceanview is perfect for anyone looking for functional, comfortable, modest accommodations, personable and friendly hosts, and a chance to meet local Dominicans and learn something about who they are and how they live. Caroline, her staff and her friends are friendly, generous, and remarkable people. The grounds are well-landscaped and full of flowers and fruit trees (from which Caroline makes her divine hand-squeezed juice, which she delivered to us each morning for tea. (The best juice you've ever hard!) There's a great view of the Atlantic Ocean, Martinique and St. Lucia - and it's an easy walk to Scotts Head and snorkeling. We had the best time there and will always remember Caroline and her place. If we ever come back to Dominica, we'll be staying at Oceanview. In the meantime, we'll be recommending it to all of our friends. Thank you for everything, Caroline!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e_6Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I absolutely loved this place, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who wants to really learn something about Dominica. I made great friends there, and Caroline is the best- She's a great source of information about Dominica, its history, and places to go on the island. She's also wonderful to chat with and greeted us as friends, which created memories we will never forget. She is involved in her community, and hired staff from the local population of Scott's Head- everyone was very friendly and fun to meet, everyone had great stories, and I had one of the best weeks of my life there on Scott's Head. I made friends there, met some Dominican people and visited their home. It was an unforgettable week.

If you really want to learn about Dominica, you must talk to its people, and there are real Dominicans at Oceanview Apartments. If you are an outgoing, adventurous, open-minded person, this place is the place for you. It's a place to learn about culture and make friends while doing it. It's a place where memories are made, and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants an authentic Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldy31511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Our family just returned from 12 days in Dominica. We had selected to stay at the Galion-on-Sea, a stand-alone cottage which is managed by Caroline Charles of Oceanview Apartments. When we arrived we found major construction on the new sea wall just in front of the cottage. Caroline suggested that we might perfer to stay at Oceanview, which we did until the weekend when the construction halted. Although we loved the rustic cottage with its patio overlooking the national marine park, we did miss the fresh juices and fresh fruit which Caroline and her staff provided. In both locations we were able to walk to local restaurants in the village of Scotts Head and Soufiere. Everyone we met were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larragoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotts Head
24.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
5.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
22.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Apartments

Property: Oceanview Apartments
Address: Scott's Head Beach, Scotts Head, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Mark Parish > Scotts Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scotts Head
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanview Apartments is located at the southernmost tip of Dominica, just above the quaint fishing village of Scott's Head - one of the most photographed and scenic areas of the Nature Island. We have three self-contained apartments set in a private and secure tropical garden. Our cliffside lookout provides a spectacular view of the sea and our nightly tradition is to gather to toast the setting of the sun. Apartment 1 is a two bedroom studio. Apartments 2 and 3 each have a queen bed +day bed. All of our apartments are equipped with television, fans (no AC), kitchenettes - stove, fridge, kettle, coffee maker, cutlery and dishes. We have free WiFi in the common area. We are perfectly situated for the hiking and diving enthusiast. The first leg of the Waitukubuli National Trail passes right in front of our gate. The Nature Island Dive Center is just 10 minutes away in neighboring Soufriere. Diving in the Scotts Head Marine Reserve has been listed as ONE OF THE TOP 10 DIVE SITES IN THE WORLD! Oceanview Apartments is the perfect accommodation for budget travelers who seek out an authentic Caribbean experience and enjoy immersing themselves in local culture. We have secure parking for guests with rental cars. However many of our guests prefer to explore the island's many attractions using the inexpensive bus system - a three minute walk takes you to the bus stop in Scotts Head. Buses/taxis can also take you to and from the airport in Marigot. We can also arrange dive bookings, hiking guides and full-island tours. We look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Dominica! Your hosts, Francis and Caroline Charles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanview Apartments Dominica/Scotts Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing