We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place on a budget.”
Review of Hostal Riazor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Riazor
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of El Malecon=waterfront tourist corridor. Restaurants, shops, hotels & the Old Town=Zona Colonial area are within 1-3 miles. Price is right for this hotel, service is good, however, beware, the rooms on the front of the hotel are EXTREMELY noisy due to the HEAVY & CHAOTIC traffic on Avenida Independencia. Their free breakfast next door is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as high & as far back from the front as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awesom35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

If your plan is to stay i an off beat location but safe and secure in Santo Domingo then Hostal Riazor is the place, directly behind the Jaragua Hotel it is conveniently located so you have access to both the Melia and the Jaragua pools, Casinos and restaurants. Hostal Riazor is a very clean well equipped hotel. Beds are a bit small as they are twins and not really full size queen, flat screen Tv's and fridge in room with great AC. No smells or carpet floors so very clean. The hotel restaurant next door is great and has good food and safe clean service. Prices are very reasonable, this hotel charges a flat rate and tax included so no surprises at check out like the others where you get charged 10% service fee and another 18% government tax. Traffic on the Independencia avenue is a bit of a nightmare so noise can be an issue in room closer to the avenue, back rooms are better for sound. Friendly staff and free internet, in room internet is a bit weak but they have placed new boosters. Overall very satisfied, I stay there every month and have done so for years. great value.

Room Tip: choose high rooms towards the back, less noisy from the traffic on the main avenue in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIDIERGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We liked this clean, small hotel in Santo Domingo. It was nicely decorated, modern and new. Friendly, attentive staff. Great book if you are on a budget. Breakfast included! Located near everything. Behind hotel Jaragua. Will return on our next trip.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank annayblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel appears to have a lot going for. The location is excellent and there is a nice restaurant next door under the same ownership. The rooms, although good-sized, are a bit dreary, even for a two star hotel. Unfortunately, the location is a double-edged sword: Right on Independence Ave., the noise from car alarms, honking cars and muffler-less motorcycles is a significant drawback. As if the street noise were not enough, during my stay I was awoken about midnight by the sound of a very loud domino game coming through my window, even though I was on the third floor. A call to the front desk brought no improvement. Two hours later, still unable to sleep due to the ongoing domino game, I got dressed and went down to the lobby to register my complaint again and to investigate. To my amazement and dismay, I discovered that the domino game was being played on the hotel's front patio, and that the owner-manager and his buddies were the domino players. Although it meant the inconvenience of finding another hotel, I checked out that day, cutting short my intended stay. Needless to say I will never return to the Hostal Riazor.

Stayed: December 2011
3  Thank RogerDR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great little hotel, directly behind the jaragua so if you have meetings or playing tennis or staying at a nice pool just cross the street. Great pricing, clean and good service, restaurant next door is clean and good. safe part of town. internet access only on lobby as wireless does not reach most rooms.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, I have stayed there 10 times in the past year and the beds are all a bit hard bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIDIERGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

A friend recommended this hotel.
We stayed at this hotel few times when we had to do some stuff in Santo Domingo. It's a small hotel, very clean, personal friendly and speaking English (that is not that common in all hotels in DR), price is good, so if you want to stay close to the Colonial Zone and don't want to pay the high price, this is a place to stay. It's about 10-15 min walking distance from Colonial.
The price is about $ 50 for double room, including the breakfast that is served at the next door restaurant and it's not that great. Usually they don't have too much to choose from. But across the street is a great bakery/deli/eatery - they have great stuff there and very good prices.
If you are coming by a car, sometimes might be a problem with parking, but we were lucky all the times we stayed there.
They suggest to make a reservation ahead of time, but we never did and got a room there - it gets busy most of the time, so I would to do the reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank demi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
City Caribbean Boutique Hotel
#44 of 79 in Santo Domingo
8 reviews
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
#35 of 79 in Santo Domingo
33 reviews
TAU Casa Conde
#26 of 79 in Santo Domingo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Hotel La Casona Dorada
Hotel La Casona Dorada
#67 of 79 in Santo Domingo
43 reviews
Plaza Florida Suites
#28 of 79 in Santo Domingo
32 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#71 of 79 in Santo Domingo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Riazor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Riazor

Address: Av. Independencia No. 457, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Plaza De La Cultura
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal Riazor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Riazor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Riazor Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing