We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We decided to spend our first wedding anniversary in Santo Domingo and definitively, this hotel was the highlight of the trip! The facility is so beautiful and charming. The location couldn't be better. Ramon and his staff are doing and amazing job. He's has this very enthusiastic personality that makes any conversation interesting. They are all so sweet and attentive. You could feel at home! :-). As for restaurants around, tried Mimosa (yummy!), Lulu Tasting Bar (trendy) and La Briciola (awesome food and service...on the expensive side thought). All in all, a beautiful trip. Totally worth going back to Hotel Villa Colonial!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mayramir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    48
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
96
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This small hotel was relaxed and convenient and a great budget option. It's super-clean. Rooms are small but atmospheric with recreated tiles from the original 1920's structure. Everything works (fridge, safe, shower, A/C, wifi sometimes). The hotel staff were excellent, particularly Ramon who helped us figure out some logistics and nice spots for live music. The breakfast was simple but delicious and in a lovely open-air structure off the courtyard. The location is nice--a few blocks from everything in the old town, but not on a touristy block. I would recommend this small, well-run hotel to anyone who is visiting Santo Domingo for a few days.

Notes: The websites showed no availability when in fact they had several rooms available, so if it looks full, call. Also, the hotel is not well-known and is only marked by a small sign that isn't easy to see at night, so it can be hard for taxi drivers to find it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter than those in the front on the street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I love this hotel in the middle of all the action and the beautiful Zona colonial in Santo Domingo. The minute you enter this place you will feel that you entered someone Colonial house. The staff is very nice and they will give you great recommendation of bars, restaurants and clubs. I like the swimming pool. It was a great place to relax after walking around. The rooms are comfortable and you will sleep tight. It only needs to be decorated. I highly recommend to stay here than in the big hotels in Santo Domingo City. Ramon thanks so much for all your attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianaCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Was in DR in May for 2 full days of work Monday-Tuesday in Santo Domingo, but due to flight constraints had to stay 4 nights (95 hrs).
Ideal for old town (filled nicely my empty Sunday), all sights walking distance, most stuff open on Sunday. Also good for restaurants for dinner. Old town safe, the seaside walk is not far, but that I would advise in broad daylight only, bit seedy.
No sea swimming close by but that I solved by going to the real beach the last day when waiting for my evening flight (Boca Chica ca 30 kms?, behind airport).
Manager Ramon around with good advice most of the time. Very friendly. Real personal touch and boutique hotel feeling.
Rooms clean. AC and ventilator worked OK, bathrooms clean and bedding OK. Pool is of course for floating only, but then this is the old town! Breakfast service was good, a bit of variety would help, but as it is latin breakfast culture and it was hot, may be it is better this way - fruit salad was as fresh as it gets - you can see it cut. Coffee very strong. Wifi worked most of the time OK in the lobby, but not in room.
In sum, almost perfect (almost, as have never stayed in a hotel that would not have something wrong).

Jüri

Room Tip: only 11 rooms, ask ground or 1-st floor, if important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jüri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Probably the most quaint hotel I have ever stayed at.
Ramon the owner /manager did everything he possibly could do to make our stay a great experience.
The staff took care of us and our children like family.
Calling the breakfast a continental breakfast is an understatement. Fresh mango salad, yogurt,eggs, bread, coffee and juice all included in the price of the hotel was a great surprise
The rooms were nice the AC was cold and the front desk attended 24 hours a day by 3 men all of who went out of their way to please us.
This was without a doubt one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at.
The rooms are clean the bathrooms spotless the rooms are not huge but more than adequate. Exactly what you would expect to find in an old mansion family-style house in a French quarter.
I would love to stay there again and would recommend this to anybody The neighborhood is the old colonial section and can get a little dicey at night but during the day and evening police are everywhere and I never felt uncomfortable if you're planning on staying a long time and seeing the sights you might want to rent a car. There are things close by but a lot of sites need to be driven too. I'm sure taxis are available but it worked out really well for us to have a car
this hotel is phenomenal not just for what they give you but the hidden benefit of this place is the personal service that's provided.
I should not forget the two ladies that cooked breakfast and cleaned the rooms and did all the housekeeping work in that hotel. they are lovely ladies and we thank them.
We stayed there with myself my wife my elderly mother-in-law my three children ages 13 six and four. Everybody had a great time and we would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ny76monte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Villa Colonial is a very good hotel: perfectly clean, comfortable, discreete elegance. the same for the rooms, toilets included. in addition, you will find free wifi almost everywhere in the hotel and a small pool. But the added valule is the staff: they're very professional, speak english and french well, and, above all, they are very kind, friendly and helpful. All of this only 5 minutes walk from the "zona colonial" (city center). Its strenght: the quality-price ratio: good. Are you going to Santo Domingo? book now your room at Villa Colonial! You will have relaxing time after loooong day out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a 3 hour bus journey from Bavaro, so understandably we were ready for a rest! We were greeted by the owner/manager of the hotel, who was incredibly friendly and spoke perfect English. He gave great advice of places to go for food and nightlife. We were shown to our room which was beautiful, with a view of the pool and garden.

The room was very clean and had working air conditioning. The shower also worked with hot and cold water (I know this doesn't sound that amazing, but travel to the DR, and you'll understand what a novelty this is!)

The hotel is within the Colonial district and within walking distance of everywhere you will want to go. Saying this however, we got incredibly lost down the streets, as there are no street signs and all streets look the same. The building doesn't jump out at you, and even the taxi driver struggled to find it, so make sure you take the address with you as a reference point!

We only stayed one night here, but it certainly was a hidden gem, and if I returned to Santo Domingo I would definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahamer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 78 in Santo Domingo
692 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
271 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
804 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 78 in Santo Domingo
227 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Property: Hotel Villa Colonial
Address: Calle Sanchez No.157 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 0432, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Colonial it's an Art Deco house from 1920's, with the most beautiful and original tiles from that time. The place is reserved for those who are seeking comfort and relaxation in the heart of the Colonial Zone in Santo Domingo, America's first city. We offer you an unique stay in our elegant rooms, all equipped with Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Small Fridge, Spacious and comfortable bathrooms. In our backyard, we have splendid tropical trees and a small pool to enjoy a refreshing swim. In the terrace, right in front of the pool, you can try our delicious continental breakfast, served with the best local products and the best customer service that you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing