We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reluctant visit”

Columbus Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
First City of the New World Tour
Ranked #16 of 193 things to do in Santo Domingo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This multi-million-dollar lighthouse was built in 1992 to celebrate the 400 year anniversary of Columbus's landing in the Americas and is the site of the explorer's bones.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reluctant visit”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Visited this monument with mixed feelings as I am not a fan of Christopher Colombus but hey, after 20 plus years of visiting the Dominican Republic, finally decided to check it out with a visiting group of Italian friends who do not share my opinion of Columbus.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbAnello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    142
    122
    41
    23
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“neat building”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

very interesting building, did not get to go up close because of timing with tour but very neat and lots of history and stories about the place. Many great photo areas to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tammyhowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A monument to a murderer Christopher Colombus”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I will never understand why monuments are made (and millions paid!) for colonists that murder the native people and then bring in slaves from other lands to further exploit the land!
Visitors come from all over the world to see this monument. I saw sadness.
Goliath monument. Seen that and did not buy the T shirt.
If you are in the area maybe worth the visit especially if you would like to see the bullet proof Pope Mobile parked nearby. Looks like a converted Land Cruiser.
The Dominican Republic might be far from Africa but the roots are only a hand shovel away!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A truly ugly national monument!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here as part if a guided tour and were advised beforehand that we were not actually going inside. Whilst truly one of the ugliest national monuments I have ever seen, I am pleased we visited due to the historical aspect. From reading other reviews I do not feel that I missed out by not going in; there were some lovely views from this area!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShaIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was 1992 snd we did this monster building, so that our virtual dictator could make his mark on the 500 year celebration of th”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If wanting to know and reminish Dominican history at the beginning of the colonization period visit our old town, the cathedral, Museo Casas Reales, Las Damas and Atarazana streets. No need to go to this monster building, out of context with that history while pretending to be part of it, a distraction not a contribution to the understanding of that history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjtarqad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbus Lighthouse also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Columbus Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing