We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovating but solid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Renovating but solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Liked this hotel, even during renovations. Location is good for business visit, about 45 minutes from the airport and on the edge of the center. View of the ocean is nice. Rooms & beds are spacious and comfortable. All solid international business level. Wifi was a bit tricky, but perhaps that was because of the work going on and made it work. Staff is friendly, breakfast ample. Dinner buffet was less good, but the restaurant had just changed over to a new location, so perhaps too early to tell. Would happily stay here again, Sheraton or not (and as a side note, even though I like Starbucks and one is coming, the local coffee is absolutely tasty!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear mbiz,

Thank you for write a review about your experience at the hotel. We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations. Very soon the hotel will become a Sheraton with new facilities and services to offer to our guest . We hope to have the honor to serve you in your future trips to Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    276
    53
    12
    15
See reviews for
225
232
108
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nothing to write home about. Typical hotel and nothing out of the ordinary. I have stayed 3 times on business trips and unfortunately this time they were renovating the lobby as it has been taken over by Sheraton. Always get the feeling that they will be charging you for breathing. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Only had the buffet breakfast and it was well stock, specially with Dominican food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iberoguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Iberoguy01,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about our hotel. We always look for exceed the expectations of our guest, our sincere apologies if you did not perceived it during your stay with us. The hotel is in the process to become a Sheraton very soon and all our associates will keep working hard to improve the experience of our guest in the hotel. We hope to have the privilege to serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

First off let me say one of the best things about this hotel is the BREAKFAST. A complete buffet from 6:00-11:00 am that is like dinner and has everything from fresh fruits, cheeses, breads, yogurt, oatmeal, hot cooked foods like mangu (Dominican plate, mashed plantains) and vegetables, potatoes, yuca, and also meats, plus an omelet bar, pancakes and french toast with an array of toppings and always a sweet fruit juice. I looked forward to breakfast every day!! Hotel Magna is located on a beautiful oceanfront property. Although you cannot swim in the ocean it provides a lovely view and sense of tranquility. I stayed at the hotel for 5 days for a conference. When we arrived, they had a snow cone station with agua panela and other local beverages. Room service was quick and friendly. The pool area is gorgeous and spacious.

One annoying thing about this hotel is that they discourage visits between guests by making your key only access the floor you live on in the elevator. This can be avoided by giving someone your key to visit your room or meeting in the lobby and going up together, but especially for a conference where hundreds of people are spread between multiple floors this became annoying, though understood as a safety precaution.

Staff resolves any problems quickly, on one stay my bath tub wouldn't hold water to take a bath so someone came and fixed it right away. On another occasion, one of the hotel guests had another visiting family member who forgot his ID and the manager Michel resolved the issue in a very professional manner. The rooms are spacious, clean, and temperature easy to regulate. Bathrooms are beautiful and cleaning staff is friendly, non-intrusive and thorough.
The managerial staff is amazing, shout out to Paola Madera, Clarissa Ramirez and Michel. There are English-speaking receptionists and lobby men. Overall service is amazing and people treat you like valued customers, and as a black female with locs in the DR this was appreciated. Hey, let's be real folks. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are the best, turn down the air because comforters are surprisingly light-wei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Amber H,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. It is wonderful to know that we have exceeded your expectations with our service, especially at the Restaurant. The hotel will become a Sheraton very soon with new services and facilities to give a better experience to our guests. We hope to have the honor to serve you in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I spent five days in the hotel during a trip to another town visiting some of my husband family members and friends, having a very good experience, Good service, staff friendly and professional, they were ready to help any time and would like to extend my gratitud specially to Rosagna Alvarez and Emil Perez.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side have a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esperanza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Esperanza C,

We are very grateful for your comments about our hotel. It is an honor to know that we have exceeded your expectations with our service, especially at the Front Desk. The hotel will become a Sheraton very soon and we are going to keep our commitment to give our best to make a wonderful experience to our guests. We hope to have the privilege to serve you in the near future.

Kindly Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.i ,n.y.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My Family Has Been Coming Here To This Hotel For More Than 15Years We Have Stayed At Others But Always Come Back Here We Are Treated Like Family By The Staff Here Who Always Go Out Of There Way To Make Us Comfortable And Feel Wanted FROM VALAMIR And LUIS At The POOL To HENRY And NOEL At Room Service And The Restaurant
Always And I Mean Always Go Out Of There Way I Have Never Had Any PROBLEMS Or Have Had To COMPLAIN About ANYTHING I Have Always RECOMMENED This HOTEL To Anyone And Everone And They Come Back And Say The Same The Hotel Made There VACATION So I Dont Know About Anyone Else But My Family And Myself This Is The HOTEL For A GREAT Stay Just Ask For Any Of The Names Mentioned And See For Yourself L.Wong N.Y

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Aquachem,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our service. We are honored to know that we exceed your expectations in your visits to our hotel and our associates make you feel like home. The hotel is in the process to become a Sheraton with new facilities and we will keep the same commitment from our associates to do their best to give a wonderful experience to our guests. We hope to keep having the honor to serve you in your next visits to Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I spent one night in this hotel during my 8 days trip to D.R. After two average experiences, finally I felt in a international quality hotel for the first time on my trip... and something important to me: I felt safe. Spotless room, clean, great bed and bed sheets, good service, friendly and professional staff... Restaurant is good, excellent meals. Swimming pool and gym can be used in next door hotel because of renovations in some hotel areas. Internet has good speed, I was able to work and transfer all kind of data and do call conferences. Around 9pm speed decreased but it came back after few minutes; WI-FI router is inside the room as pic shows. Taxi service is dependable. At this point, in my opinion this hotel is fine for a business trip but not for a family trip, specially with kids, because of closed swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Adrian R,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the hotel. We are honored to know that we exceeded your expectations. The hotel is in the process to become a Sheraton with new facilities and services for our guests. It will be a pleasure to serve you again in your future trips to Santo Domingo.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We pre reserved since 8/1/13 for 10/10/13 ask for special room at the Level didn't get it, under renovations no pool, service at the so called Level lousy. Food for breakfast nothing to brag about,plus to top it off security breach on our floor woman in dispute with a man stab around 3 in the morning. Customer since Sheraton, Melia Santo Domingo will no longer go there the worst terrible service fool me once!!!!!!!#notdisgruntle

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Bushie21,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about the hotel. We always look forward to reach the expectations of our guest, our sincere apologies if you did not perceived it. Eventhou our check in time is at 3:00pm and you arrived before 6:00am, we gave you a room at that time with the same specifications you requested. The situation you mentioned that happened in your floor, was between two registered guest and it was properly managed by our staff as soon as it was reported. We guarantee our guest that we will do everything in our power to satisfy their needs. One of the reasons many people stays with us is because our service and the security of the hotel. We hope you can reconsider your position and give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Santo Domingo

Property: Sheraton Santo Domingo
Address: 365 George Washington Avenue, Santo Domingo I0205, Dominican Republic (Formerly Melia Santo Domingo)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Santo Domingo is located in the heart of Santo Domingo with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. It's just two kilometers from the city center and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. The hotel features 245 rooms and suites with breathtaking ocean views, catering and function space for up to 1000 people, gym, casino and world-class dining with 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Melia
Sol Melia Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing