We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what did they do?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed 13 April 2014

after more than a year of renovation we came to spend a weekend in a junior suite in the sheraton santo domingo. I have never seen a colder, more anonymous 5 star hotel in my life. no pictures in the rooms, in the elevators, in the lobby, no decoration wherever, very poor renovation, showers still on the 70'ties level (absolutely uncomfortable)
what the hell did they do in a hole year of renovation???????

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Andy J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your past visit to our hotel. Please allow me to inform you, we are still in a renovation process that includes the bathrooms and art work in rooms and public areas. We really appreciate you letting us know your experience during your stay at Sheraton Santo Domingo and your impressions regarding our renovated areas. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Perfect, we waiting for next vacation to stay there, people there is sweet, they're , we was there when the name was changes marvelous, the staff has are the best in the world, to the people there thanks you for everything they did for us, thanks you

Room Tip: Perfect, six or seventh floor are the best place to stay there.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Luis O,


Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. At Sheraton we make the difference by giving our guests memorable moments and an authentic, warm and sincere hospitality. It is an honor to know that we made you feel like home. We hope to have you again as our guest at Sheraton Santo Domingo.



Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Good experience. Great place to stay on a business trip. Very friendly staff. For sure a 5 star staff.

I got a room ending on "6". The view is not bad but there is a cassino on first floor ao you have A/C noise all the time.

Limited restaurant options around.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tommy_Salomoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Tommy_Salomoni,



Thanks for taking the time to share your experience during your visit to our hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as the warmth delivered by our associates. We always look forward to make the difference and give memorable experiences to our guests, our apologies if we did not reach it regarding the location of your room. We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future.



Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel was taken over by Sheraton, the previous operator. The staff was great, the lobby and pool area remodeled. The rooms are dated but clean. Remember that the Dominican Spanish is different than Mexican Spanish and English knowledge is minimal in D.R. The restaurant is good. I can't tell how great the staff was, truly excellent. A couple of standouts were a bell hop named Elias and a manager named Claudio, both great people. As for location, the hotel sits on the malecon a busy street along the beach. Santo Domingo is a dangerous city, travel after dark should be limited and leave the good jewelry at home. The hotel is close to the colonial district, about a fifteen minute walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mat B,

We feel so grateful that you took the time to share your experience during your stay in our hotel. We have been working very hard to become Sheraton and have the opportunity to offer our guests the best service and hotel facilities. It is great to know that you enjoyed the personalized service delivered by our associates as well as our strategic location right next to our historical center. We hope to have you again as our guest in a near future.



Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Magna 365 for 4 nights. Overall, the experience was very good! The hotel room was clean and had all the amenities we expected (comfy bed, cable TV, shower experience, views). The front desk folks are very helpful and show great client care attitude. The breakfast spread and the Italian food were excellent! The restaurant staff were excellent. They asked the kitchen staff to accommodate our dietary requirements. The exercise equipment in the fitness centre are new and great to use. The hotel location is great as well. The Independence Day parade was right in front of the hotel. The neighbourhood beside the hotel seemed safe and clean.

The renovation didn't bother us much. Once that's complete, the lobby and pool area experiences should be great.

We'd definitely recommend the hotel for people looking for accommodation in Santo Domingo!

Room Tip: Every room has ocean view. Higher the floor, the view is better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Kiran M,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our Hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our service. We are becoming a Sheraton hotel very soon and it will be an honor to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Sheraton, formerly the Magna 365, is located on Avenida George Washington across from the Malecon ocean front overlooking the lighthouse at the mouth of the Sava River and ships that enter harbor. With spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, it's just two kilometers from the old Colonial Zone and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. The rooms all contain minibars and plasma televisions with cable programming, and video-game consoles. Wireless Internet access is extra unless the room is on one of the concierge floors. This completely renovated hotel sets a new high standard for Santo Domingo and Sr. Emil Perez, and the other managers, provide outstanding service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear SailorGene,

We feel so grateful that you shared the experience of your stay with us; it is great to know that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our strategic location with spectacular ocean views and very close to our Colonial Zone and the International airport. As you know, we are becoming Sheraton very soon and we will have more facilities and services to offer to our guests. It was a pleasure for all our associates to serve you and be able to deliver a memorable stay at our Hotel. We hope to have you here again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Even do some comments say they are under construction, when it will be finish this place will be even better. We had a very nice stay and it was great. Will definitely come back and will bring the family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Pascal M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our Hotel. It is important for us to know that our associates did their best to make your stay memorable. We are becoming Sheraton very soon with more facilities and services to offer to our guests. We hope you give us the opportunity to keep serving you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
969 reviews
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 78 in Santo Domingo
450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
2.4 mi away
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel

Address: 365 George Washington Avenue, Santo Domingo I0205, Dominican Republic (Formerly Melia Santo Domingo)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £87 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel is a world-class hotel in Santa Domingo, Dominican Republic set in the heart of the city and offering spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. We are just two kilometers from the city center and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. Our hotel features 245 rooms and suites with breathtaking ocean views, catering and function space for up to 1000 people, gym, casino and world-class dining with 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Melia
Sol Melia Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing