We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Santo Domingo
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

All the staff were very nice. the check in was a nitemare, long, and hot. They work very slow. I am a starwards guest, with a reservation for a suite, but it didn't make any difference. For 275. per night, you would have thought they would take special care of me, that did not happen. Pool was very nice and the staff was great. As I said the staff was great in the lobby bar, and other areas of the hotel. I did not use the gym, but it looked very nice and well equiped.

Room Tip: Slow check in, elevators are OK, security is top notch. all staff the very best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Wayne,

Thanks for sharing your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. At Sheraton Santo Domingo, delivering memorable experiences to our guests is our main commitment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenient encountered during your check in; we have reviewed our service standards with our staff to prevent situations like this to recur. It is great to know you had the opportunity to enjoy our pool area and other facilities.

We hope to be welcoming you in the near future and deliver a warm and enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    276
    53
    12
    15
See reviews for
225
232
108
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I recently stayed here and it was very nice. The room, lobby, restaurants, gym, and pool were all better than average. The staff was wonderful. From the folks at the front desk to all the servers in the restaurants - they really made me fell welcome. In particular the server Ramon Cuello is a real asset to Sheraton. There is just something about him. His warm smile, gentle demeanor - he just radiates peace and calm. I really enjoyed seeing him and speaking with him every morning at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sylvia W,

Thanks so much for your time and for sharing with us your experience at Sheraton Santo Domingo. It has been our pleasure to serve you and have the opportunity to make you feel like home. To deliver memorable experiences to our guests is our main commitment. Please allow us to pass your comments to our associates specially Ramón Cuello from our Casabe restaurant.

Thanks again and we hope to be welcoming you soon to deliver once again a warm and enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mettmann, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The property in the recent years went through the hands of various hotel management companies. From Sheraton a couple of years ago it changed to Melia and then recently back to Sheraton. The interior as far as a standard room is concerned did not change that much. The ceilings are quite low, bathrooms clean but a design dating back to the 70' . Bed and matress quite confortable, somebody is really paying attention to linen and the fabric. Besides these standard observations, the renovated pool area stands out on a positive note. Sun chairs are very comfortable, the area is clean with a decent supply of umbrellas and a shaded area for a hearty lunch. Wifi is available at pool area as well. The service in general is friendly and efficient. Especially the nice pool area will make me come back as long as I have the time to spend a few hours in leisure manner.

Room Tip: Standard rooms on the right and left side of the hotel are facing the Malecon and ocean in a 45 degr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrangeiro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Estrangeiro58,

We thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your stay at our hotel. Please allow us to kindly inform you renovation process for guestrooms start during this year.
It is great to know you had a comfortable sleep in our Sweet Sleeper Bed by Sheraton; it is available for purchase by guests at Sheraton.com /Sheraton Store, you can also find all
the bedding accessories that complement the whole bed experience. The pool area was upgraded and we are happy to know you also enjoyed this renovated facility, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanks again for your time,


Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

WOW, Excellent, Great, do not really express the quality of staff at this property. We just conducted an extremely complicated and demanding conference at the Sheraton Santo Domingo, a conference we have conducted for the past 17 years at different locations throughout Latin America, but none have been as stress less (If there is such a word) as this one. From the beginning of the planning process to the final paid bill we never heard the words “We cannot do this”, it was like if every complex request we threw at them was routine. The Sales, Food & Beverage, Banquets/Catering Staff, Housekeeping, Front Desk, and Maintenance staff was always cheerful and extremely willing to help. Both Sheraton and Ms. De la Rosa the Hotel General Manager can be extremely proud of their staff. On a previous comment a guest stated that this should be Sheraton University for the staff, I am in total agreement. Many properties can learn customer service from this staff. I would specially like to thank some individuals for making this an extremely successful event, Paola Madera, Sales Manager, Clarissa Ramirez, Banquets Manager, Dania Medina, our Group Coordinator, and Ceferino Zabala, Security Manager, and so many more. A very heart felt Thank You.
With the exception of the elevator issue, which I understand is being addressed, the only other recommendation we would provide on the physical structure is that they need a staircase from the lobby to the Mezzanine; this would greatly alleviate the wear and tear on the elevators and minimize waiting time.

Room Tip: All room have oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Luis U,

Thanks so much for your time and for sharing your experience. Your satisfaction is what we as Sheraton Santo Domingo staff take home every day.
Our main goal is to deliver our guests memorable experiences; we feel honored to receive such great comments and it is our pleasure to have had the opportunity to serve you in every request. We thank you also for choosing our hotel and rely on our team to coordinate your important event.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future in your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingshill, U.S. Virgin Islands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was truly impressed with not only the quality of the hotel, but also the quality of the customer service. The entire staff is very helpful and accommodating, from the onset to the end of the staff. You are treated as a VIP. However, the restaurant staff is beyond description! SANTO SENA & NOEL CONTRERAS are the best! They are assets to the company. They redefine customer service. By the way, the food is great. The Sunday before Memorial Day was Mother's Day in DR, and in celebration the restaurant had a Sunday Brunch spread that was unbelievable. As a foodie, I can honestly mention that the seafood paella was the best I have ever tasted. The hotel accommodations and staff have made this one of my best getaway experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Bernadette R,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments and let us know your experience during your stay with us. We are more than happy to know you have had the opportunity to experience the warm welcome delivered by our associates and to enjoy our renovated areas and facilities. Mother’s Day in DR it is a very important date, is it great to know you liked our special buffet; next time you visit us we will prepare our special seafood paella just for you.

We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future,

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is my new home in Santo Domingo. The staff here are just awesome. The front desk and concierge was always there to greet you with a smile. The SPG Lounge staff made me feel at home. Perfect location just by the Malecon. Look for Emil of the Front Desk. Lizandro and Abrahan of the SPG Lounge were awesome. Wifi was fast.

Room Tip: Emil at the front desk is the man. Lizandro and Abrahan of the SPG Lounge does a very good job in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayjayBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear ayjayBrooks,

We thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your past stay at our hotel. We feel honored that you call Sheraton Santo Domingo your home.
It is great that you have enjoyed our service and also our strategic location at the Malecón. We pride ourselves to make our guests feel that they belong.
We hope to have you again and deliver a warm and enjoyable stay during your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel has been recently renovated. After been operated as Meliá Santo Domingo and then as Magna 365, this originally Sheraton has come back. Rooms and public areas fully refurbished with a touch of technology (Flat screens with HD in every room) I think it will need just to buy new elevators! Service has return to a Sheraton level.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misiconjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana T, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear misiconjo,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. it is our commitment to make our guests
feel like home. It is great to know you enjoyed our service and renovated areas. Please allow us to inform you we are currently working to upgrade the elevators.
We hope to have you again as our guest in the near future; it is our pleasure to serve you.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#7 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Santo Domingo

Property: Sheraton Santo Domingo
Address: 365 George Washington Avenue, Santo Domingo I0205, Dominican Republic (Formerly Melia Santo Domingo)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Santo Domingo is located in the heart of Santo Domingo with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. It's just two kilometers from the city center and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. The hotel features 245 rooms and suites with breathtaking ocean views, catering and function space for up to 1000 people, gym, casino and world-class dining with 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Melia
Sol Melia Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing