We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Haiti
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would come back”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The front side of the building does not look that great but once inside you feel the Spanish colonial charm or more specifically the Spanish old word imported into the Americas. Luminaries, old chairs, paintings, historic pictures, arcades and bricks sent you back to colonial times. Staff at front desk is helpful: you can find a taxi in 3 minutes. Bedrooms are large and the budget rooms have also a good size. I wish I could stay at the superior deluxe room which has a terrace.

I particularly like the shady courtyard with the brick fountain where clients take their breakfast. Breakfast fills you up for most of the day and $5.95 plus 28% tax.

I had only a minor issue with one of the pillows that had a subtle bad smell and because of that they change the whole bedding that was clean.

Hotel is well located near a supermarket right at the corner which happens to be the Calle Conde and a bank is very near with 3 ATM. 2 blocks away there is the Parque Colon, you can go eat outdoors at affordable price.

I would come back even though I like experiencing different hotels in Spanish colonial buildings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoKing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for your nice review. We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we exceed their expectations. Hope to welcome you soon again,

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    230
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
284
95
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I am a frequent traveler to Santo Domingo. Whenever I travel there, the Palacio is the only hotel I will consider. The hotel architecture is unique. It was the home of a 19th century Dominican president and has interior courtyards and stonework related to that period. The hotel is clean, quaint, quiet, and an excellent value. Free Wi-Fi, in-room safes, cable TV, breakfast dining room and roof top swimming pool are among the amenities. If you are driving, the hotel also has a parking garage which insures safety. The hotel is located in the heart of the Zona Colonial and within steps of restaurants, shops, and historical sights. The staff is very efficient, polite, and friendly. If your Spanish is limited, no worries because the English speaking desk staff can easily assist you. You will not go wrong in choosing this hotel for your stay. And don't forget to ask about their current promotions. You may find that you can receive up to a 30% discount on your room!!

Room Tip: The interior courtyard rooms tend to be more quiet than those facing the surrounding streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review after your recent stay at our Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations.
In these days the most important for us is to be guest oriented in the best possible way. Thank you again for your nice feedback as well as for recommending us. Looking forward to your return visit.
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hotel is located in the heart of the old town, Zona Colonial, one block from the pedestrian El Conde street. It's clean and has that colonial charm of wrought iron chandeliers and darkened wood trim. Has a cozy, cool/shady courtyard, free coffee. The staff was professional and polite. We needed a taxi to the airport at 1:30 in the morning, which was ordered by the receptionist and arrived on time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Šarūnas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights here on our honeymoon before heading to Punta Cana for 4 nights in January. I loved this place. The staff is super nice. Very helpful. The rooms are clean. VERY CLEAN! I am a bit of a freak when it comes to how clean something is. And I was so comfortable. The hotel is located in the Colonial Zone. Which the safest place to stay while in the capital. GREAT LOCATION to everything. Just a short stroll to great restaurants and historical attractions. I also speak almost no spanish and I had no problems communicating with the hotel staff.

Room Tip: We picked the upgraded suite with a jetted tub. Best price for a room I have ever seen. 90 US a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear guest:

Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our hotel.
We are very pleased that you feel good in our hotel, we feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities.
We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provides a good service.

Best Regards

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel in the middle of the colonial zone in Santo Domingo gives you 4 star service at 2 star prices. Very, very clean, staff were very attentive and the place was very quiet. The rooms were comfortable and big, free wifi, TV works great, free safe for your important stuff and parking lot included which is very important. I highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvynPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The most important thing is that the hotel was very clean and the Staff were friendly and very helpful, the price was great....:) the location was great too everything is close and very easy to access, shops, restaurants, bar..
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ;)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear guest:

We are pleased that your visit was satisfactory and you liked our service and the location, thank you very much for taking the time to write us because your comment is very important for us and we hope your next visit to Santo Domingo you will keep us as good option.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

No one should have to go through what I had to in order to receive the "superior" room that I paid for. Their idea of a 26 square meter room defies mathematical calculation. The shower in the room that I was originally assigned would have been useful if my goal was to water plants. After being quoted one price, the charge that I incurred for a 7 minute local phone call is inexcusable. The pool is small and the lounge mats smell from mildew. The room that I was reassigned to for the second night of my 4 night stay was very nice. The front desk staff was very friendly and bilingual.

Room Tip: Avoid room 140. Upgrade to superior. Demand room 142 or its equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodjack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review about us.
The room's size we use is like an average according the room category because We tried to keep the Hotel Building the most original as possible but keeping a size range between room's category. We apologize the inconvenience this caused.

We appreciated for mentioning our friendly staff; We hope your visit again!

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing