We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of the Colonial Zone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just stayed one night and found the rooms to be spacious compared to others in the area. The courtyards are quaint and beautiful. The hotel itself had many features like the roof top pool and the breakfast was better than we've had at other hotels. The A/C and TV was enjoyable and functioned well. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel was ideal for walking to nearby attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Palacio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel has it all. It is centrally located in the zona colonial, a short walking distance from major attractions. The hotel itself is a very old building. The rooms are very comfortable and the air conditioning very strong such that on a hot night it can get quite chilly in the room. There is a roof top pool to relax in after walking the zona colonial. The breakfast is all you can eat.
Dollar for dollar this is a wonderful, well managed, hotel. It is perfect for first timers to Santo Domingo, or return visitors, and would suit business people as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. You will forget that you are in the heart of a large city.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest:

Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our hotel.
We feel proud of having achieved to you a memorable experience, we will continue working hard focusing all your effort in guest service.

Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When in America we are loyal to Marriott, but when we are out of the country, we look for small unique hotels. This has been one of our favorites. It was beautiful and may cause you to take quite a few pictures. The pool is on the roof and is quiet and comfortable. There is an interior courtyard that takes you back in time to a time when colonial architecture was made to please the senses. Fortunately, it is also full of modern amenities. The doors have alarms, the corridor lights are motion sensor, and the bathrooms have good amenities and are quite large. We had a balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the courtyard. The staff speak English and Spanish and they are very friendly and helpful. We had a rental car and the parking is in a covered garage that is locked and guarded so that no one can mess with it. You walk out your door and walk to the pedestrian only street with shops and restaurants. Wonderful!
Shopping- There is a great shop one and a half blocks from the hotel. Go out the hotel door and turn right then left onto the pedestrian only street. Go about 1.5 blocks and it will be on the left right before you reach the cathedral. Her prices are clearly marked and are as low as any we were able to get elsewhere by haggling. Wonderful shopping experience-The name of the shop is La Mercantil Importadora and the address is El Conde 505.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lholguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our Boutique Hotel Palacio , we are flattered, grateful and very pleased that you feel good in our hotel and feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities.
We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provide a good service.

Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The room was comfortable, quiet, cool, and the staff here were great. [This hotel actually saved us from a terrible hotel experience. (See review for Hotel Portes 9).]

The location, too, is excellent -- a short walk, apparently safe at all hours, to the Calle el Conde and all the principal tourist sights. Easy to come and go from here.

This is a first-class facility and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, for mentioning our friendly staff; we look forward to your return visit!
Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

great hotel love the stay, at first glance area seemed a bit rough but after exploring I found it to be very safe. I love to eat so I found two of the top three restaurants in the city within walking distance (check trip advisor)

Room Tip: get the Senior Suite huge room and great jacuzzi tube go to the market right on the corner 200 feet...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is nice, and the service is good. Not everyone speaks English well, but they try their best. The room we stayed in was surprisingly large, and the bathroom was very spacious. The hotel has free wifi, and it provides its own parking garage if you have a rental (which is a huge advantage in this area). The only negative comments I have are about the area where the hotel is. Zona Colonial is a great area for a day trip, where you can enjoy the historical sites; however, I would probably choose to stay at another area. The streets were very narrow and full of pot holes. They are also not lit at night, which made it very hard for us to navigate our way after dark, since we had a rental. We've encountered some streets that were closed due to construction, which can mess up your plan to get home even more. The area didn't feel very safe after sunset, so we just stayed at the hotel after 7:30pm if we weren't already out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12RG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay in our Boutique Hotel Palacio. We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Boutique Hotel.
Is important to mention the Colonial City are in renovation process reason why there is some places in construction state. We apologize the inconvenience this may cause.
We can't wait to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel but didn't spend a whole lot of time at the hotel or in the colonial zone. It's a $40 cab ride from the airport.
This hotel is very convenient to the colonial zone, shopping, and restaurants. It was very clean, had a lot of great art and the historic vibe was cool. We had a deck and courtyard view which was great. Breakfast costs around $6 and consists of buffet style eggs, potatoes, fresh fruit, bread, juice (try the chinola juice--it's my new favorite!), and coffee. The rooftop pool is nice! It's about 5ft deep and has a few deck chairs.
The hotel changes currency. They also have rollaway beds available. They have phones in each room and it costs .25 for local calls, I believe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slewis1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at the Hotel. We are delighted to see that you appreciated our good location, accommodation and the breakfast . Thank you again for posting a review; we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards ,

Rosemary de Leon E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
969 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
171 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#31 of 78 in Santo Domingo
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 78 in Santo Domingo
351 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
810 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £56 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing