We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here for a friends wedding and upgraded our room. It was beautiful, the staff friendly and the setting perfect. The price was reasonable for a regular room, a bit pricey for the better room but you can't really find another beautiful and intimate place like this in Santo Domingo so we thought it was worth it. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 November 2011

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

The term "Hostal" is a misnomer. It is most certainly a boutique hotel. The grounds are beautiful. The service is a bit lackluster and it really became apparent when my iPhone went missing. Rather than being helpful and prompt, they went on the defensive. I'm sure that someone from their staff stole it. I know I had it in my room before I left and within half an hour of leaving I called the hotel to tell them it went missing in my room. Someone in my party saw me go to my room with it just before we checked out. I ran down the other locations it could've been with the management giving them the benefit of the doubt. They promised they would call me back or send me emails and they never did. I always had to follow up with them even when they said that they would call or email. All in all, it was a disappointing end to a very lovely weekend getaway.

Room Tip: TIP: Use the safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 August 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you taking the time to write your positive comment about our property and the case you are mentioning.
On the 21st of august, you informed us by phone from the airport that your mobile phone might be in your room. Our receptionist and our chamber made went to check immediately in your room but they didn’t found anything.
When you called back a few minutes later, you asked them to look in your parent’s room, we did it without success, then you asked us to look in the bar but we did not found it.
Later in the day you sent one person to search for your phone, we did look around with him everywhere once more without success.
I am sorry to read that you are accusing our staff from stilling your phone.
The only person who entered in your room is one of our chambers made working for us since years. She have my full trust and shown us in the past her honesty.
I do answer to you after studying the case and done some serious investigations.
As you said you left the hotel on the 21st of august and we informed you on the phone that we didn’t found anything on the same day, even if our staff and looked every where.
I have been informed of the case on the 22nd, I studied the result of our investigation.
On the 23rd morning we sent you an email confirming to you that, we did not found anything.

I do regret the incident and I do hope that you understand that we are not talking of benefit of doubt but talking of facts and result of investigation.
I do hope to have the pleasure to meet you one day.

Sincerely your’s

Thomas Simonnet
Général Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Beautiful renovated colonial hotel in a nice area of Santo Domingo, very professional staff, comfy rooms, amazing breakfast in the courtyard. One of the best in Santo Domingo

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donstallione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 August 2011

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

excellent: bedrooms, swimming pool, snacks, restaurant, the best service, the best beds. well located, close to old town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 August 2011

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Gorgeous boutique style hotel with lovely different areas throughout. Great location in the historic heart of the capital. The rooms were decorated very well and the food in the restaurant was great.

The hotel booked us on a walking tour of the city and for $50 - this was a ridiculous fare. Foolishly we paid it but it was a complete waste of time and money. Apart from that our experience was good and we went back and stayed a 2nd time. The pool was lovely and very refreshing but the view was onto industrial buildings across the water which was a shame.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 differnt rooms and both were lovly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhfromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 August 2011

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with the city tour and the restaurant with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Haiti
1
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Very cool to experience feeling gorgeous and relaxing with mixed romantic, modern and colonial atmospheres. can enjoy sun, swimming, exercise at the Jim, drink and work although I never sit under sun. can get advice and information a lot to enjoy RD depend on our tastes. Only the thing I could not continue same menu of Breakfast. We can go out easily because of good location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2011

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests.

I really appreciate your words about your experience on the breakfast and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My fiance and I will be getting married at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando later this year. The hotel is gorgeous and we were really impressed with their courtyard and the historic building. We have yet to spend a night at Nicolas de Ovando but we have already paid for the wedding. Considering that we will be spending a significant amount of money to have our wedding there, we asked to get a discounted rate on the rooms for our wedding guests. Not only did they ignore our original e-mail, but after we decided to contact them again several days later, the hotel simply said that the rates are the rates. So now we will be asking all of our guests to stay in more affordable hotels nearby. This is very unfortunate because they will be losing more money than if they had granted us a special rate for our guests. Luckily, other hotels are willing to provide a special rate for large groups. I really hope their customer service improves because the hotel is quite beautiful and has so much potential.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsNeuroPsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
237 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#24 of 79 in Santo Domingo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
972 reviews
Casas del XVI
#17 of 79 in Santo Domingo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: £112 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing