We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is out of this world, the decor is elegant, and well maintained.
On Club level there is a continental buffet for breakfast, and snacks in the evenings, with free tea and coffee 24hrs, but a full breakfast menu was available in the downstairs restaurants.
The bed was a good size and had a very good nights sleep. The room and bathroom were alsio larger than usual.
The food in the restaurants was exceptional, especially the fish dishes.
I lost my baggage in Miami on the way out and the receptionist on the club level and the concierge were a great help getting it back.

Room Tip: Use the Cub level floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    271
    62
    46
    32
See reviews for
104
155
67
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Returned for a 40 years anniversary and Ventura Serra the Operations VP had a wonderful bottle of cava champagne, fruit basket and welcome drinks. We were given a room in the 4th floor (recently remodeled, still smelled new) facing the rear patio. It was private and soothing. We didn't choose the buffet breakfast since we were running around so much. I just had coffee in the room (don't make it with tap water, use bottled. Its the Caribbean) along with some wonderful bread I had bought nearby. Its very centrally located with good restaurants (Argentinian, Chinese, Italian) located just outside the hotel in walking distance. A Tony Roma's and McDonald's further). If you rent a car, the parking is secure. You MUST spend part of an evening in the rear outdoor area by the pool, have a drink or a espresso. What a great spot. My only negatives has to be the casino. Very small amount of slots and dated. They have the space, please expand. And chairs in the balcony (I had to drag the room chairs outside to sit there). Everything else: Wonderful.

Room Tip: 4th floor in the south east
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Protaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my brother's wedding. We arrived early in the day, hours before check in. I was afraid we'd have to sit around and wait for our room at the hotel bar, but we were offered a room upgrade on the executive level that includes breakfast for a small fee. That was extremely thoughtful since we'd just arrived from a long flight.

Details of awesomeness:
1. The food is great
2. The garden is absolutely gorgeous
3. Wedding hall in the garden tent was PHENOMENAL! I mean "Platinum Weddings" status...
4. Great security - sometimes you worry going to a different place, but the security is on point at the outside entrance and within the hotel - you can't get on to any floor unless you have keycard access.
5. The customer service was great, everyone was so helpful. Many of my family members were staying at the hotel and I needed to visit other floors often, I must have stepped off the elevator 5 times to ask for help getting to a family members floor. They knew we were with the wedding party, so they were very helpful!
6. Wifi Everywhere! (Within the hotel)

I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

i stay over there last months costumer service is excelent the food and baverge manager chirstopher make may stay especial he have a great costumer service food was greats all the staff the place is clean i recomend this hotel .is better the any hotel around im bussine woman and belive me over there you have a quality and clean room and nice people like mr chistopher thanks for everthing

Room Tip: restaurant and food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovations, but when I've stayed I've always experienced an old school elegance. The service is phenomenal from the first floor and grounds through to the 8th floor! All of the staff is wonderfully friendly and very sweet. Depending on where in the hotel you are you can get away with English only, since I speak Spanish I didn't have any communication issues. The grounds are beautiful! I've stayed on both the Executive Floor and the Royal Club and definitely prefer the Royal Club lounge and rooms. I am looking forward to seeing how it looks once the renovations are complete!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Marc, Artibonite, Haiti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice view, wifi for free, near of the commercial zone the casino is small but the services is perfect presidente for free all night long. Buffer 7/10, the service room is excellent

The entry it's look like a sanctuary entry

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitho U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Awesome swimming pool!
Room service is also really good!
The staff is very attentive and extra-polite.
There's a guy working at reception on a first floor, who helped me with taxi to get to Boca Chica beach, so I could go there with trusted driver and could not to worry about my money,passport, camera and so on. Guy's name - Eduarde Hanks (If I'm not mistaking). Oh, if you don't speak spanish, don't worry about it, Eduarde and another guys speaks english fluently.
Oh yeah, there's a taxi over the hotel. Need a driver who speaks english? Call Carlos! I still have his card. Carlos Valenzuela Beltre - really good driver, who was like kinda my personal driver. Speaks english, knows a lot of funny stories, will get you to/from airport for a regular price which is 40 bucks. Good transfer is important to me... ok Carlos - 809-849-9809.

Room Tip: My room number was 330. It's decent, but door to the balcony never been closed, because lock is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing