We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location! Great People!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location! Great People!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I arrived in Santo Domingo on Monday afternoon, the 28th of October. We were checked in promptly and then proceeded to begin our exploration of the city. Eduardo, the person in charge of the front desk, helped us find transportation to a local restaurant. After an enjoyable meal, the taxi driver took us for a ride along the Malecon. Eduardo also helped us arrange a tour of the Zona Colonial with Blue Tour Services. No matter what our requests were, the staff was more than willing to help us. If this is an example of what Dominican people are like, I am very impressed.
The hotel is very historical. You can view a wall of photos of the famous people who have visited or stayed here. I broke away from my touristic activities to read most of the captions which helped me process some of the information that I had read bout the Dominican Republic before I left the states.
This is a hotel that is being renovated. Some of the rooms are old and some are new. So if you want a renovated room, I would suggest that you inquire beforehand. Our accommodations were satisfactory and our room had a balcony which I love. Our stay also included a complimentary breakfast which was delicious.
I have heard some complain on this site about a flock of green birds that like to visit (or maybe live in) the trees in the front of the hotel. I asked the bartender about them and he told me they were little green parrots. I enjoyed seeing them every day and ad actually looked forward to their visits!
All in all, due to its location, and safety, I would stay here again. Viva Santo Domingo! Viva El Occidental Embajador!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    267
    61
    45
    32
See reviews for
103
153
65
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a very good service and pretty good food. Right now it is been renovated and hopefully soon everything will be perfect like in the old days when princesses, ambassadors, and presidents made of this place, their place.
I enjoyed every day that I stayed in Occidental El Embajador in the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroniKa39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding. The hotel is nice overall. The pool is lovely. The ballroom where the wedding reception was held was beautiful. The rooms are a bit outdated. Breakfast buffet select is pretty good with an egg/omelette station (mainly Spanish only to place a proper order) The location is so-so. There are few choices of places to eat nearby although there are a few somewhat pricey restaurants within walking distance. The hotel taxi is expensive - have the front desk call an actual taxi company instead. Lots of loud squawking birds in the evening. Best part - scenes from The Godfather II were filmed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supergrl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is one of the oldest hotel in Santo Domingo, it is going through a renovation and it is safe place to stay, I like staying here
Excellent breakfast specially if you like or want to try Dominican breakfast I suggest the Mangu and the Avena

Room Tip: You want a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mundosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I've stayed for 6 six weeks at this hotel and this is my input so far.
Hotel is located near many restaurants/bars (italian, argentinian, spanish, mexican, north american). I think this is a good business hotel for Dominican Republic, great staff service, free internet (better connection than other Dominican hotels I've stayed at but slower than most hotels in other countries: US for example), has many work rooms (a bit pricey though). Food in general is very good and sorted, breakfast buffet has a lot of options, as well as the restaurants and food quality. They have a great swimming pool for those who like to excersise as well as a gym with approx. 6 machines (treadmill, bycicles, etc) and a set of weights.
The one problem I see with this hotel is the rooms. The hotel is under a renovation process, but most rooms are not renovated. The non renovated rooms are/look/feel very old. Old uncomfortable furniture, bed with old mattresses/pillows, very low light in the room (close to none), old bathroom. If you're lucky enough, you can get one of the few renovated rooms (not my case) which are great from what I've seen (from other work coleagues).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Occidental Embajador for two nights in October 2013. The hotel is nice but the rooms are very old. The shower in my room was broken and I had to hand hold the shower head to take a bath, Overall the hotel is average, no attention to details, nothing special. My real complaint is that they were having some kind of fashion convention and both nights they had very loud music all through the night till about 1 or 2 am. The second night I did not get any sleep because of the loud music and I needed to be up by 3 am since I had to catch a 6 am flight. These kind of events are not compatible with a hotel. Guest need to sleep!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My stay was good. The newly remodeled room was very nice. All elements worked as they should. And I love the view out the front side of the hotel. The personnel is very people-oriented, from the front desk people to the restaurant workers, to the lobby bar people.
I happened to be there when there was a TV show filming in the lobby a couple nights in a row, and despite what could have been an enormous inconvenience, the lobby bar staff took good care of us.

Room Tip: I like the side overlooking the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ScoopMakovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#10 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing