We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Royal Club” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Royal Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stay for 5 days and the service in The Royal Club was excellent. I enjoy how the employees give the guest an excellent attention and the way everyone treat you like family. I recommended this hotel for everyone that will like to enjoy a nice place en Santo Domingo, D.R.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schariar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    267
    62
    46
    32
See reviews for
104
153
66
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

After staying many times in this superb hotel completely renovated with a superb view a vast swimming pool and luxurious park, I really recommend staying in this central place of Santo Domingo. All employees treat you as a king and don't know how to satisfy your wishes. Restaurant's chef Alberto is a must taste; Ask him a special plat or defeat him and he will do anything he can to satisfy you. A real family; If you want no headaches with all this gentle and serving team of the Embajador you can come at any time and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Excellent View to the see and the swimming pool... Go to the royal Club at the 7 or 8th floor you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yancris2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My girlfriend and I checked in to El Embajador at 9pm after a long day of travel. Initially, we were impressed with the your hotel and its accommodations and were surprised when given a complimentary upgrade to a 7th floor suite.

Our room was very nice and our room service was good. We were looking forward to a relaxing stay in Santo Domingo. In fact, we were considering changing our plans from moving to a hotel closer to the Zona Colonial and instead staying the entire trip at the El Embajador.

Unfortunately, around 7:00 in the morning we were shocked to be awoken by the sound of drilling and construction. We called to the front desk and were told that the staff were unaware of where the noise was coming from. Maria Isabel spoke with my girlfriend and told her that she was unsure what could have been causing the noise. Lo and behold, after 30-45 minutes of investigating the hotel staff finally admitted that the noise was due to planned renovations on the 6th floor.

You can imagine our shock. First at having found out that not only did the staff know about the renovations (after having denied it) but that they knew about it prior to our check-in. Needless to say, we decided against continuing our stay at El Embajador.

As we checked out, we asked the front desk whether there was anything that could be done in light of the inconvenience we had suffered. The staff person said that because the reservation had been booked through Priceline.com, nothing could be done. We then asked to speak to Maria Isabel but were told that she was unavailable. We asked for her to contact us and were told in no uncertain circumstances that she would. In fact, the staff person told us to "trust him" and that he would ensure that we were contacted.

Neither Maria Isabel nor anybody else from El Embajador or Occidental Hotels ever reached out to us.

Not only did we suffer the inconvenience of the renovations, we were lied to by the hotel staff about the origin of the noise and misled about our stay. If we had been informed at check-in about the renovations, we could have decided whether to stay and endure the noise or whether we wished to stay at another hotel so that we could get a decent night's rest after a long trip. In fact, I believe the upgrade was not complimentary at all but was given to us in anticipation of the inconvenience the hotel knew we would suffer. The saying that "it’s better to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permission" is not true in general and definitely is not true in this case. To add insult to injury, we were flat out lied to about being contacted about the inconvenience. No one ever reached out to us.

I understand that a hotel must from time to time, do renovations. However, we should have be told about them upon check-in. Even if the hotel's policy is not to inform guests about expected inconveniences, it is unconscionable for the staff to pretend that they are unaware of the noise and then to lie to us by telling us they will do whatever they can to rectify the situation and then do nothing.

I have reached out to El Embajador multiple times and they've never responded. That's more disappointing than the noise we experienced. I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THX-5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear THX-5280,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really sorry for the annoyance you encountered during your stay. We are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable vacation and it appears that we fell short of this during your stay. We've reviewed your comments with our management in order to keep our rooms in top condition.

Again thank you very much for your valuable review, if you would like to discuss more details about your experience please feel free to contact us direct at socialmedia@mx.occidentalhotels.com

The satisfaction of our guests is top priority and your experience with us was not the norm for our hotel.We hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

In this hotel you will be treated like family, frienly staff at the same time very professional. That is what bring us back every time we are in Santo Domingo. Don't forget to visit the Royal Club Balcony. Have a cigar there and enjoy the view of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gjjgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I Always like to come back to El Embajador excelent services, the renew areas are wonderfull, and the bars and restaurant excellent. We participate in Epifanio Lantigua Touristic Journalism Prize Gala and the dinner was superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelotas, RS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a nice location not indowntown but kind of close by car
Service is very good and prive is adequate for the quality of everyting
I would recommend it if you are travelling for business or even tourism
We were staying there for a friends wedding and all was really good

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chlmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have stayed at the Santo Domingo Ambajador approximately 6 months over the past year and several months the previous year. And until a few weeks ago I would have given it a five star. But just prior to my leaving a few weeks ago I had a jade and thread necklace disappear from my room. I reported this to reception on my departure and asked about it again on my return I was told they could not find it. This time It would appear that someone has been drinking spirits in my room and leaving the empties, I have been assured they will not appear on my bill. I was also awakened at 5am the following morning after someone re-arranged the alarm setting. And with the parties and music thumping throughout the night, I have to be honest and say I will be looking at an alternative for my visits next year, which again will be for long periods due to the work schedule. Not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matlin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Avda. Sarasota, 65 | Ensanche Bella Vista, Santo Domingo 10110, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing